We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base for the fringe, nice location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Drawing Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drawing Room
Additional dining area in bay window Dining area in drawing room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Drawing Room
Additional dining area in bay window
Dining area in drawing room
Traditional fireplace in drawing room
Fully equipped kitchen
Exterior of the Upper Villa - apartment is on top 2 floors
View from Drawing room of St Bernard's Crescent
Front door to Upper Viila
Entrance Gate to Upper Villa
Bedroom 3 - Double Bed
Bedroom 3 Single Bed
Attractive staircase in hallway
Bedroom 2 - Double Bed
Bedroom 2- Single Bed
Bedroom 1 - Double Bed
Bedroom 1 - Single Bed
Bathroom with Shower
Bedroom 4
Door Bell to Upper Villa
Traditional features throughout
Shower room
Skylight in Hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulr9cr
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great base for the fringe, nice location, friendly owners”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

9 of us had a great time here. The house is in a lovely area and it's a shame we didn't get to make the most of Stockbridge and the West End but we were there for the fringe. It's about 35 mins walk to the Pleasance and a steep uphill climb for the first bit up to George Street. Once you're out you tend to stay out and not pop back.

Very spacious and well equipped inside and the bay window is a nice place to sit and have a morning coffee or a glass of wine after a day of pounding the streets.

My only criticism is hopefully a constructive one and it relates to the shabby chic feel of the place which in some respects is tending more toward shabby.

Still, a lovely place and I would have booked for next year had it not already been taken

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your review.
Just to let you know we are closing for a week in November for refurbishment as this year has been so busy we haven't had any time to get any work done. I hope you'll consider us in the future if you come back for the delights of the festival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeholde...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked this accommodation for the Edinburgh marathon weekend. I was travelling with a group of runners who knew each other but not that well. The apartment was perfect - light and airy, good sized bedrooms, brilliantly stocked kitchen and large dining table so we could all sit and eat together comfortably. The sofas were relaxing and the large picture window in the main room was delightful. Great location, with easy access to shops, buses and within easy walking distance of the city. All correspondence with the owner was quick and efficient and I honestly cannot fault anything about our experience. I have participated in the marathon event 4 times previously and stayed in various locations, but I would definitely re-book this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and airy rooms
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your review! Sorry I din't get a chance to meet up with you and hope you didn't struggle too much on the stairs after your run!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is perfect”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I was looking for a high-quality centrally-located place to bring 12 members of the family together to celebrate a significant birthday and was recommended to go no further than the Upper Villa. It was brilliant!

The owner, Rona, was highly organised and extremely efficient to deal with. The quality of information and advice provided was excellent and met every conceivable need.

The two-story upper flat is beautifully appointed but in a friendly homely way which did not make us nervous (our party included four under 7s!). The rooms, especially the sitting room/dining room which is the original drawing room, are well proportioned and the bay window provides a vantage point to watch the world go by.

We found the bedrooms spacious,with good storage and the kitchen is excellently designed and equipped - super multifuel cooker with three ovens! The bathrooms were well appointed and there was unlimited hot water.

The location is excellent being only a few minutes from the restaurants, pubs and delis of Raeburn Place and not far from the city centre but it is a very quiet location given how central it is and it even has a bus (No 36) running past the door. The Botanics and Water of Leith are excellent walks in the vicinity.

We would unhesitatingly return here if staying in Edinburgh with a number of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire ambience of the place, spacious, attractive, relaxing and so well equipped.
Liked least: Struggling to find anything here! Perhaps a sharp kitchen knife?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you Mike for your review. It was a pleasure having you as guests and I look forward to having you back at The Upper Villa in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torie555
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab location, really spacious clean apartment, was perfect :)”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and 8 friends stayed at the upper villa last weekend, it is in a super location easy to find, short walk to the bus stop. The apartment is very spacious and clean the owner was very helpful when booking and she is quick to repsond to my emails. The apartment has every thing you need. I would recommend this apartment to friends and family i would consider another wee girlies weekend away to stay here :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude1963
Galashiels, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience,thank you Rona... !”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful birthday treat for my daughter and her seven friends.The accommodation is beautiful and the hospitality provided by the owner is second to none.Would highly recommend this and i would love to plan a return visit to this outstanding period property....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience...!
Liked least: Nothing....no complaints.....
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemkingy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here recently for a hen weekend. The owner could not b more accommodating and helpful.
The house is amazing and had everything you could possibly need. Very clean, big bedrooms, close proximity to main town.
We walked the two minutes to local shops/ restaurants and walked in to town and the station which takes about 15 /20 mins.
Overall could not have picked a better place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing