We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Victorian elegance”
other travellers have booked this property
Bright and spacious lounge with views to Arthur's Seat and attractive gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and spacious lounge with views to Arthur's Seat and attractive gardens
Fireplace Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Bright and spacious lounge with views to Arthur's Seat and attractive gardens
Fireplace
Dining Area
Dining area with open view
Traditional Cornice
Lounge
Lounge
Bright and Spacious Master Bedroom
Master Bedroon
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom can be converted to a twin
Fireplace in second bedroom
Views across to Arthur's Seat
Victorian Staircase which leads up to apartment
Kitchen with breakfast area and views over the garden
Modern appliances matched with traditional features
Fully equipped kitchen
Bright and spacious bathroom
Bathroom with bath and shower
Well maintained garden for guest use
Exterior of building
Apartment on the first floor
View of garden from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali921
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Traditional Victorian elegance”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you want to be "far from the madding crowd" but still within easy reach of the city centre then this is the place. The property retains its pure Victorian elegance but with all the modern conveniences. Furnished to an impeccably high standard, the rooms are large and airy with enormous windows allowing plenty of natural light. The lounge has lovely views of Arthur's Seat. Local stores are just a few minutes walk. There is on-street parking and the bus stop is about 25 metres from the door. This is easily a class above your standard rental property. We will stay no where else having discovered it. Do we really want to tell everyone else or should we keep it to ourselves !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful high ceilings and immaculate decoration
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a poetic review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and shall endeavour to make sure that it is available for your exclusive use!!

Caroline & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was a really elegant apartment in a quiet location with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. It was recently and carefully decorated, everything was in excellent condition. We didn't meet the owners but they are usually nearby to assist and ensure your stay is comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful old stone building including large windows onto the garden.
Liked least: WIfi was only working in the hallway and one bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies we were unable to meet you, as we were spending a few days in France
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Dingwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We rented the apartment with our daughter, husband and our 3 month old grand daughter. The apartment was lovely and very homely. Very well equipped, owners live downstairs and are also very accommodating making sure you had everything for your stay. Great situation with lovely views to Arthur Seat. There is a very handy well stocked grocers shop around the corner. I would not hesitate in renting this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall lovely experience. As if it was your second home.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We very much enjoyed meeting you and your family and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. I hope the sun continued to shine for you in Aberdeen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diannevs
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great appartment!”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in this appartment during our stay in Edinburgh. It is a great place!
The appartment is big with 2 bedrooms, big livingroom and seperate kitchen. The beds sleps really nice. The appartment is clean with a good atmosphere.
The house felt really English for us Dutchies :). The hosts are very friendly and we felt welcome with them!

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and subsequent stay in Skye. We look forward to your return visit. Caroline and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missmg85
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I only have good things to say about this apartment. We stayed here as a group of four. There was ample space, both bedrooms had king size beds, plenty of storage and hanging space. Bedrooms were decorated to an extremely high standard, in keeping with the theme of the building, the owners clearly invested a lot of time and effort.

The living room was again well equipped, spacious and comfortable. There are large windows which offer views of surrounding suburban streets and even the famous Arthur's seat.

The kitchen, spacious, light and again, extremely well thought out. There is nothing you could want which hasn't been thought of. At this point I should mention that everything in this apartment is brand new, it has recently been renovated and to an extremely high standard.

The bathroom offers an electric shower over the bath with complimentary toiletries.

The owners have prepared a welcome pack with an abundance of information for visitors, recommendations of restaurants, bars, visitor attractions and other useful information for guests.

The location is beautiful, set slightly out of the centre of the city however not too far. We travelled into the city via public transport (the bus stop being a minutes walk from the apartment) costing £1.50 per person. On an evening we got a cab back and that was roughly £9. By bus it took roughly 10-15 minutes to get into the centre, however the owners do advise that walking will take roughly 20 minutes.

This really was the perfect hub for our weekend, the owners have created a beautiful apartment which can't fail to impress their guests. We would definitely return here in a heartbeat. Perfect accommodation for our needs and I can't think of a thing I would change. Will definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OTTontheR...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding flat, in great neighbourhood, close to city centre”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I grew up in Edinburgh, and when I brought my family "home" from Canada to see where I grew up, I knew i wanted a flat in the Grange if I could (because the area is SO nice, and bus links into the city centre so easy), and in a traditional turn of the century home with high ceilings as I had experienced that as a kid too. This flat delivered in spades. Everything is new as the owners (who are incredibly nice and live in the flat below), bought it from the previous owner and have done a fabulous job redesigning it specifically for the rental market. The kitchen is outstanding, and there are the most amazing views of Arthur Seat from the living room. There is plenty of room in the two bedrooms for four people, and the bus stop into the city centre (buses every 15 mins) is but a few yards away. If wi-fi is important to you, it was quite spotty other than one bedroom, and for my Canadian / American friends there is a washing machine but NO dryer (although there is a rack to hangs things on). To be honest though these are minor details on a truly outstanding flat in every respect, and I know where I'll be staying next time I go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location and quality
Liked least: Spotty wi-fi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind and constructive words! We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing