We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$305
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dunstane Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$233
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$239
US$214
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$400
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$625
US$497
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
519
53
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
53
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompotehomemade jamsbruntsfield areaincluding vegetariancity centrequiet streetminute walkfull scottishguest housetop floorlovely hostsroom was beautifully decoratedbreakfast was delicioushighly recommend this b bbreakfast roombus routesa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 584 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Albyn on our journey through the UK. This was a fun stay for us. The owners and their staff are most helpful and friendly. The location is great as it affords some peacefulness yet is in close proximity to buses and all the sights in Edinburgh. The rooms are cozy and charmingly furnished and decorated. The breakfasts were quite delicious and had enough variety to satisfy most. And, they have parking which is not an easy thing to come by for a B&B this close to the city center. The only negative was the climb up the stairs to the second floor. It's not that bad but if you are a bit older and have too many heavy bagss it could be an issue. If that be the case get a room on a lower floor. Otherwise don't hesitate to give the Albyn a try. We are happy we did.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this property.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2011

By any measure this is a very good guesthouse (B&B) with very comfortable and nicely furnished rooms. Tea/coffee making facilities are available in rooms. There is limited parking for cars (check when booking in for availability), it is quite close to the city, which you can get to by bus or you can walk there in 20 minutes. There are plenty of good restaurants locally. The staff are very friendly and very keen to make you welcome.The breakfast is OK (average). If your room is on the third floor, this could be detrimental to anyone who has difficulty getting up stairs.
Having listed these mainly good points, there are a couple of (minor) annoyances which prevent it from being outstanding.
To get to this level, here are a couple of suggestions.
Review, rewrite or get rid of the rule book. This guest house has a rule book (at least that what it appears to be), listing all the things that you should not do whilst staying at the guesthouse. Suggest the owners have a look at this, because after reading the rules you feel like you are walking on egg shells when in the house, worrying about observing the guest rules.
The other annoyance is the breakfast menu; allowing you to make one choice. Overwhelmingly, most people don't want more than one choice, but should someone like, say, two of the items listed, then why not allow them to have them?
As I said, these are minor annoyances that we found, but we still did enjoy our three nights at the Albyn Townhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

One of the best Bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in. From the start a friendly and personal welcome was given to both of us. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Very quiet location at the end of a Cul-de-sac with the huge bonus, in Edinburgh, of some off street parking !

Easy access on foot within a 15-20 minute walk to most attractions, if that's too far for you I'm told the bus stops at the top of the street. In fact we only used the car once in about four days.
The staff and owner were all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

We would certainly stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reidmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in September, could not fault Albyn. Very welcoming hosts, beautiful room, exceptionally clean. Breakfast was plentiful & alot of choice. Bus service at top of the road takes you into the centre and on to major attractions in the city, for example Ocean Terminal for the royal yacht Britannia. A £3.20 day ticket is a bargain. We loved the Botanical Gardens & glass houses, also Mary Kings Close, the underground streets of Edinburgh. Enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh & would recommend Albyn Townhouse as a wonderful base.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zippy&bungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed for two nights on the 6th and 7th of September.

Was lucky enough to stay in the superior double king room which indeed was both supeior and king sized.

Location is superb being in a quiet avenue but only a short (15mins) walk to the centre of Edinburgh and with a number of bars, cafes and restaurants close by

Breakfast was great especially the service which was probably the best we have ever received from a guest house. The lady serving the breakfast (sorry I forgot her name) is a true credit to the establishment.

In short when we return to Edinburgh next time it will be a “No Brainer” as to where we stay.

Well done Albyn

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveT00714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews