We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“albyn townhouse (guest house) Edinburgh”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #11 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

we stayed there 6/7th october 2011 to a very warm and friendly welcome stayed in room 8 which was tasefully decorated with an excellent bathroom and very clean with a great view from the bedroom window there was ample tea,coffee,and hot chocolate and sweets left on the bed .(nice little touch) the bed is a king size and very comfortable and the room was kept at a pleasant temperature . The breakfast was very enjoyable and served by very freindly staff it was a pleasure to have off road parking as we found £4per hour parking in edinburgh rediculous . the guest house is suitably located only 15 mins walk from city center with excellent bus route on the doorstep . There is several cafes and restaurant only 2 mins walk from the guest house we chose to dine at the caffe grande which was excellent and very resonably priced, overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Albyn Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Albyn on our journey through the UK. This was a fun stay for us. The owners and their staff are most helpful and friendly. The location is great as it affords some peacefulness yet is in close proximity to buses and all the sights in Edinburgh. The rooms are cozy and charmingly furnished and decorated. The breakfasts were quite delicious and had enough variety to satisfy most. And, they have parking which is not an easy thing to come by for a B&B this close to the city center. The only negative was the climb up the stairs to the second floor. It's not that bad but if you are a bit older and have too many heavy bagss it could be an issue. If that be the case get a room on a lower floor. Otherwise don't hesitate to give the Albyn a try. We are happy we did.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this property.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

By any measure this is a very good guesthouse (B&B) with very comfortable and nicely furnished rooms. Tea/coffee making facilities are available in rooms. There is limited parking for cars (check when booking in for availability), it is quite close to the city, which you can get to by bus or you can walk there in 20 minutes. There are plenty of good restaurants locally. The staff are very friendly and very keen to make you welcome.The breakfast is OK (average). If your room is on the third floor, this could be detrimental to anyone who has difficulty getting up stairs.
Having listed these mainly good points, there are a couple of (minor) annoyances which prevent it from being outstanding.
To get to this level, here are a couple of suggestions.
Review, rewrite or get rid of the rule book. This guest house has a rule book (at least that what it appears to be), listing all the things that you should not do whilst staying at the guesthouse. Suggest the owners have a look at this, because after reading the rules you feel like you are walking on egg shells when in the house, worrying about observing the guest rules.
The other annoyance is the breakfast menu; allowing you to make one choice. Overwhelmingly, most people don't want more than one choice, but should someone like, say, two of the items listed, then why not allow them to have them?
As I said, these are minor annoyances that we found, but we still did enjoy our three nights at the Albyn Townhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

One of the best Bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed in. From the start a friendly and personal welcome was given to both of us. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. Very quiet location at the end of a Cul-de-sac with the huge bonus, in Edinburgh, of some off street parking !

Easy access on foot within a 15-20 minute walk to most attractions, if that's too far for you I'm told the bus stops at the top of the street. In fact we only used the car once in about four days.
The staff and owner were all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

We would certainly stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reidmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in September, could not fault Albyn. Very welcoming hosts, beautiful room, exceptionally clean. Breakfast was plentiful & alot of choice. Bus service at top of the road takes you into the centre and on to major attractions in the city, for example Ocean Terminal for the royal yacht Britannia. A £3.20 day ticket is a bargain. We loved the Botanical Gardens & glass houses, also Mary Kings Close, the underground streets of Edinburgh. Enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh & would recommend Albyn Townhouse as a wonderful base.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zippy&bungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed for two nights on the 6th and 7th of September.

Was lucky enough to stay in the superior double king room which indeed was both supeior and king sized.

Location is superb being in a quiet avenue but only a short (15mins) walk to the centre of Edinburgh and with a number of bars, cafes and restaurants close by

Breakfast was great especially the service which was probably the best we have ever received from a guest house. The lady serving the breakfast (sorry I forgot her name) is a true credit to the establishment.

In short when we return to Edinburgh next time it will be a “No Brainer” as to where we stay.

Well done Albyn

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveT00714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights for a weekend break with my boyfriend. The guesthouse was well kept, our room (6) was beautifully decorated and maintained, and very clean. It's in a very quiet area and there was no external or internal noise heard. About 20 mins walk into town. (Princes St area) Secure car parking was available when I asked for it at the time of booking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pippa_Cra_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,854 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
839 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
707 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing