We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and informative hosts. Cheap parking”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #11 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Great area with gift shops, cafes and bars and only a short bus ride to town. The hosts give all the information you need to get you to the main tourist areas. Great to be able to park safely for small charge but limited spaces so book in advance. Lovely room and breakfast included though dont be late or you will not get your cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: No lift so probably not suitable to those who are unable to climb stairs
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hi & thank you for your comment, I am so glad you enjoyed, it was very lovely to meet you both! Little note on breakfast, yes indeed, just like any hotel, restaurant, fast food chain we have set times for breakfast!! it is actually quite funny to see it mentioned, but I am glad you did as there is quite a misconception about coming to a B&B an expecting to be served anytime which does happen, as well as the threat of a bad review if we don't comply!! yep! take care Lydie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Albyn Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Albyn Townhouse provided a wonderful base for our visit to Edinburgh. The need to take a short bus ride into the city center was more than offset by the quiet setting, beautiful rooms and Liddy's wonderful hospitality and delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: Room #2 was very spacies.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hello & thank you so much for taking the time to review us, the whole team is very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Yes it is quiet & lovely around here which is quite unique in a capital city, but you can also walk to town in 22 minutes (according to the God Google & to us!!) Take care! Lydie & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Second time visiting this fantastic guesthouse in a year. This time the first stop off for our honeymoon :-) Lydie and David are wonderful hosts, the rooms are cosy and comfortable and the breakfast is faultless. They also cater for my vegan diet which is an added bonus but also do a variety of tasty options to cater for everyone. It's a 20 minute walk through the park into town so easily accessible to get into the city without the need to drive. It's perfect! We love it here and will be back! Thank you so much guys :-)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RacheyP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Hi! Quick note to say thank you so much for your comments, So happy that our vegan menu hit the stop! We are very pleased that you enjoyed and Thank you for coming back!!
All the best to you both, congratulations again!! Lydie xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We didn't want to drive in Edinburgh, so this small hotel was perfect for us. It has its own small car park and is only a 5-minute walk to the bus. The room was large and comfortable. The full Scottish breakfast was delicious, including personal table service. The room rate seemed very reasonable for the desirable location and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This lovely b and b excels in all categories - gorgeous house and decor, wonderful period charm, great breakfast for all appetites, extremely convenient location for tourist and regular Edinburgh, lively neighbourhood with all the good things that come with that (coffee shops, restaurants, cool little shops with this and that), friendly and helpful hosts, and - here comes the pièce de résistance - I believe the best bed I have ever slept in outside my own. Now that's comfort! The view of the Firth of Forth is pretty fabulous, too!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salamander343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Oh! thank you so much or your glowing review! it is lovely to read! Our mattresses are memory foam....amazing if you have sore back, i swear by it, so pleased you enjoyed your stay!! Kind regards Lydie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Spent 5 very enjoyable days in Edinburgh at the Albyn Townhouse: Lydie and David were very hospitable, excellent location within easy strolling distance across the Links and Meadows down to the centre of Edinburgh. Some minor issues with our room were quickly resolved and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too, some nice touches such as homemade compotes and cakes.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you very much for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay as it did sound that we were not going to be able to do it for you, so I am pleased. I must admit that a few customers book the Albyn B&B due to the attractive rates compared to an hotel but do still expect hotel purpose build amenities, please do not forget that we are a B&B located in a protected building, which also means that the Albyn will never look or afford the amenities of an hotel, this is not what we want or what we advertise, so please when you choose us know why so that you do not complain about details that are just unfortunately very much B&B like, it is very stressful to us and our staff. Take care. Lydie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The warmest welcome I've ever had from a hotel. I didn't even have to open the door myself. They were polite, caring, very informative didn't hold back when it came to teaching me all about the local pub, bars, restaurants and attractions, even down to buses and their routes.
The location was perfect not to far away from local shops and attractions, everything was within walking distance if you don't mind the hills that Edinburgh is built on.
The room was clean, the bed very well presented, with amenities. And a very informative guidebook made by the owners, in which we found a beautiful little cafe restaurant 5 minutes from the hotel.
On the day of leaving we had a delicious breakfast. We had a selection to choose from and waited on hand and foot. From homemade compotes to jam. The best omelette I've ever tasted and my boyfriend tried his first haggis, which was surprisingly nice.

Will definitely be returning if we decide to return to the Bonnie north.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Hello! thank you for your lovely comment, so glad you had a good time with us, the area is amazing, so we are very lucky to be in such a vibrant yet, so quiet quarter of Edinburgh.
Kind regards Lydie & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
839 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing