We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$306
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$165
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$500
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Nira Caledonia(Edinburgh)
US$426
US$247
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$400
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dunstane Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$233
US$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
518
53
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
53
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompotehomemade jamsbruntsfield areaincluding vegetariancity centrequiet streetminute walkfull scottishguest housetop floorlovely hostsroom was beautifully decoratedbreakfast was delicioushighly recommend this b bbreakfast roombus routesa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 583 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Stayed here for two nights in early June with my husband. This might be the lovliest B&B I've ever stayed in. The rooms and common spaces are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was plenty big, with a lovely view. Very nice shower and the towel warmer was a nice touch. Enjoyed tea in the room and the lollipops on the bed. Very comfortable bed, and quiet neighborhood, so we slept very well. Breakfast was delicious. Not a bad walk to the city center, but we did take a taxi one day. Lots of dining options and a market nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dmartinigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hello!! thank you so so much for your comments! you are so kind! we love to be the Loveliest B&B ever!! I am so pleased you enjoyed all the touches in the house, you are just lucky my kids didn't get to the lollies before you did!! Kind regards & hope to see you again, all the best from us all at the Albyn. Lydie & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It was fantastic from start to finish. We had a double room on the top floor of the house. Everything was perfect when we arrived with lovely extra touches.

We'd paid for overnight parking, which was no problem and all the codes for gates and doors worked perfectly.

The location of the B+B was great for us and there were lots of different options for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Morph0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you so much! so pleased all went well, I wish we could have kept you for longer!!
hopefully we will see you again, take care for now and thank you from the whole team!
Lydie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were really pleased we went independent rather than the corporate giants closer to the centre. Very friendly service and nothing was too tricky! The breakfast was amazing. Vegan and vegetarian menu photo attached as I am told the offer was second-to none! I went for the full meat eater version with haggis which was delicious! We had an early flight the next day and were given a packed breakfast which was very helpful.
Just a 20 minute walk to the centre, we were presented with an annotated map and could see exactly where to go. It also showed the bus routes drawn on which were very helpful when we didn't want to walk back! Lovely eateries within walking distance and they even allow you to have a take-away in the breakfast room in the evening if you like! All in all, a lovely stay.
Only down side - an old house where you can clearly hear other guests moving around, however quiet they were trying to be. That is a small price for an otherwise super place to stay. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amipswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do indeed cater for Meat eaters, Veggies, Vegans & Gluten free, lots of homemade stuff on the menu so there is plenty to satisfy all tastes. yes indeed the Albyn is a B&B in a traditional Victorian townhouse, a jewel to be taken care of and love the way it is.
I hope to see you again. Kind regards Lydie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

Perfect! Everything we needed and wanted! Host lovely and accommodation was really excellent and all the personal touches were lovely. So good to experience independent hospitality and not that of bland corporates!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 558pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

hello! thank you so much for taking the time to write all these lovely things! t was lovely to have you stay with us!! Kind regards Lydie & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

It doesn't get any better than the Albyn Townhouse. The location is excellent: a quiet neighborhood yet close to all you want to see and do. The owners are warm and welcoming, willing to help in any way possible. The breakfast is truly gourmet with a choice for every taste. No breakfast buffet here; each person has a choice from a varied and interesting menu. The rooms are beautiful; the beds comfortable. And all for a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?! This has to be the best choice for a stay in Edinburgh. So happy that we stumbled on it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews