We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Edinburgh!”
Review of Albyn Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albyn Townhouse
Ranked #10 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here in early August and the rooms were very pleased with our stay. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The BnB offers a guest book in each room with tips about the local area which we found very helpful, and the staff were friendly and courteous. Albyn is a 20-30 minute walking distance from the Grassmarket and Royal Mile but after a day of walking around Edinburgh we usually got a cab (if one was available) back to the BnB.

The breakfast options are great, offering choices from the standard "Scottish breakfast" to pancakes, and vegan options.

My only complaint is about the ancient mattress we seemed to have in the room. It wasn't exactly the most comfortable as age had made the mattress feel as though myself or wife might slide off our respective sides of the bed if we weren't careful!

Other than this minor complaint about the bed, I strongly recommend Albyn. If I had the option to give 4.5 stars (instead of 4) I would.

Room Tip: Top floor has great view of the city.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CanadaBruce2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

hello there & thank you for your comments....I just wish you had mentioned the mattress issue during you stay...we are so praised for the quality of our mattresses and this particular one in fact, that I was very surprised to read you, as we just had a great feedback about it! but never the less I take this into account and will replace it. thank you for your lovely comments & I do hope that you enjoyed staying with us, as we did having you at the Albyn. Best wishes, kind regards Lydie & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Albyn Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Stayed here for two nights in early June with my husband. This might be the lovliest B&B I've ever stayed in. The rooms and common spaces are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was plenty big, with a lovely view. Very nice shower and the towel warmer was a nice touch. Enjoyed tea in the room and the lollipops on the bed. Very comfortable bed, and quiet neighborhood, so we slept very well. Breakfast was delicious. Not a bad walk to the city center, but we did take a taxi one day. Lots of dining options and a market nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dmartinigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello!! thank you so so much for your comments! you are so kind! we love to be the Loveliest B&B ever!! I am so pleased you enjoyed all the touches in the house, you are just lucky my kids didn't get to the lollies before you did!! Kind regards & hope to see you again, all the best from us all at the Albyn. Lydie & co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. It was fantastic from start to finish. We had a double room on the top floor of the house. Everything was perfect when we arrived with lovely extra touches.

We'd paid for overnight parking, which was no problem and all the codes for gates and doors worked perfectly.

The location of the B+B was great for us and there were lots of different options for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Morph0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much! so pleased all went well, I wish we could have kept you for longer!!
hopefully we will see you again, take care for now and thank you from the whole team!
Lydie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and were really pleased we went independent rather than the corporate giants closer to the centre. Very friendly service and nothing was too tricky! The breakfast was amazing. Vegan and vegetarian menu photo attached as I am told the offer was second-to none! I went for the full meat eater version with haggis which was delicious! We had an early flight the next day and were given a packed breakfast which was very helpful.
Just a 20 minute walk to the centre, we were presented with an annotated map and could see exactly where to go. It also showed the bus routes drawn on which were very helpful when we didn't want to walk back! Lovely eateries within walking distance and they even allow you to have a take-away in the breakfast room in the evening if you like! All in all, a lovely stay.
Only down side - an old house where you can clearly hear other guests moving around, however quiet they were trying to be. That is a small price for an otherwise super place to stay. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amipswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do indeed cater for Meat eaters, Veggies, Vegans & Gluten free, lots of homemade stuff on the menu so there is plenty to satisfy all tastes. yes indeed the Albyn is a B&B in a traditional Victorian townhouse, a jewel to be taken care of and love the way it is.
I hope to see you again. Kind regards Lydie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Perfect! Everything we needed and wanted! Host lovely and accommodation was really excellent and all the personal touches were lovely. So good to experience independent hospitality and not that of bland corporates!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 558pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

hello! thank you so much for taking the time to write all these lovely things! t was lovely to have you stay with us!! Kind regards Lydie & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

It doesn't get any better than the Albyn Townhouse. The location is excellent: a quiet neighborhood yet close to all you want to see and do. The owners are warm and welcoming, willing to help in any way possible. The breakfast is truly gourmet with a choice for every taste. No breakfast buffet here; each person has a choice from a varied and interesting menu. The rooms are beautiful; the beds comfortable. And all for a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?! This has to be the best choice for a stay in Edinburgh. So happy that we stumbled on it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

First night in Edinburgh...and we did it right! Lydie was a sweetheart and our rooms were lovely (we enjoyed the "lollys" on our bed). The breakfast served by her sweet staff was excellent and the location of her inn is perfect for accessing the Great Mile. We all agreed that this was one of the best B&B's we stayed in and we traveled all over Scotland!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you so much you are so lovely! Likewise we really enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us!! Take care and hopefully see you again sometime!
Lydie + David + Kasia + Erika + Weronika & Kids.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,856 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albyn Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing