We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend”

Ravensdown Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravensdown Guest House
Ranked #341 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The guest house was clean and tidy, and well presented. The bedroom was of good size, but the light switch for the bathroom was a strange one with a bright neon blue light on it that lit the room up in the dark, resulting in poor sleep. The room was also overlooking the main road which was very busy and noisy. Breakfast was only an hour in the morning from 8 til 9 which we found a little limiting. All in all not too bad for a short stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Overall it was a nice stay. The bathroom was a bit tight but I feel that's pretty typical. We had a view facing the city which was nice. David was very helpful upon our arrival, giving us maps, an explanation of the area and several bus routes which was incredibly helpful as that was our main way around. It's a fairly short bus ride into the city center, with several stops nearby.

The main confusion we had was breakfast. It was somewhat unclear what was available, so it would be nice to have a little menu with options. I haven't been a regular guest of B&Bs in Scotland, so that might have just been ignorance on my part.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hkminn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Green mould all over bread at breakfast on first morning; owner demanded 3% extra for paying by debit or credit card; ridiculously noisy room from main road outside; rock hard bed. Worst B&B I've stayed in anywhere.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graeme524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The view from room 1 of this very good guesthouse in Leith across the playing fields is a magnificent panorama of the whole Edinburgh skyline. The room itself is large and very comfortably furnished with its own seating area which we particularly enjoyed.
The traditional breakfast is more than adequate.
Whilst there is no onsite parking there is plenty of space both on the road and off road in front of the playing fields opposite.
Our experience was totally different from the two negative reviews I have just read.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrison35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed for the second year whilst visiting the Fringe. Always found Yoka and David to be very engaging and helpful and although breakfast could probably be a little slicker, food is of a good bed and breakfast standard.
Price reflects it's slightly out of city location, which can be reached by a short car journey or you could hop on a bus that runs every 10 minutes in the week.
Building is beautifully maintained and is generally of a good standard.
Will certainly return to stay for next years festival.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

What a terrible experience! Stay away. Dirty bed sheets, which included blood on the pillow - sadly not noticed until next morning. Dusty furniture. Were asked on arrival what we wanted for breakfast the next morning! We ordered one cooked breakfast which, when it was served consisted of bacon, mushrooms and a fried egg all swimming in grease!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Sadly, this is the first bad review I have written. I went out of my way to be friendly and courteous....unlike the owner David who was abrupt and cold. On the rare occasions his wife Yoka was there, the atmosphere was much better but when it was just him it was uninviting..he gave me dirty towels and I had to empty my own rubbish in the public bins in Ferry Road...I kept the room immaculate...in fact I did his job for him. The only good thing I have to say is that the building is beautiful. I would never ever stay here through choice again. I hope it improves for the sake of potential guests...

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank kerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,078 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#99 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,650 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdown Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdown Guest House

Address: 248 Ferry Road | Dszfliugy, Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $207 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravensdown Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravensdown is a friendly and stylish guest house, run by David (Scottish) and Yoka (Dutch) providing quality bed and breakfast accommodation in central Edinburgh. A spacious Edwardian house built in the early 1900’s, Ravensdown has spectacular views of the city skyline, Edinburgh castle and Arthur’s Seat.Situated on Ferry Road to the north of the ancient city, within easy access to the port of Leith, with lovely pubs and restaurants, and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Approximately 5 minutes walk to the Royal Botanic Garden, Canonmills, Broughton and Stockbridge, a lively up market 'village', with wonderful pubs, restaurants, bars and boutiques.We can advise you what to do and see in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ravensdown Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdown Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing