We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$305
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Nira Caledonia(Edinburgh)
US$390
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Dunstane Hotel(Edinburgh)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
9
17
13
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
17
13
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus routespleasant stayfestivalscotlandfringe
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 56 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Overall it was a nice stay. The bathroom was a bit tight but I feel that's pretty typical. We had a view facing the city which was nice. David was very helpful upon our arrival, giving us maps, an explanation of the area and several bus routes which was incredibly helpful as that was our main way around. It's a fairly short bus ride into the city center, with several stops nearby.

The main confusion we had was breakfast. It was somewhat unclear what was available, so it would be nice to have a little menu with options. I haven't been a regular guest of B&Bs in Scotland, so that might have just been ignorance on my part.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Green mould all over bread at breakfast on first morning; owner demanded 3% extra for paying by debit or credit card; ridiculously noisy room from main road outside; rock hard bed. Worst B&B I've stayed in anywhere.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graeme524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

The view from room 1 of this very good guesthouse in Leith across the playing fields is a magnificent panorama of the whole Edinburgh skyline. The room itself is large and very comfortably furnished with its own seating area which we particularly enjoyed.
The traditional breakfast is more than adequate.
Whilst there is no onsite parking there is plenty of space both on the road and off road in front of the playing fields opposite.
Our experience was totally different from the two negative reviews I have just read.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrison35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Stayed for the second year whilst visiting the Fringe. Always found Yoka and David to be very engaging and helpful and although breakfast could probably be a little slicker, food is of a good bed and breakfast standard.
Price reflects it's slightly out of city location, which can be reached by a short car journey or you could hop on a bus that runs every 10 minutes in the week.
Building is beautifully maintained and is generally of a good standard.
Will certainly return to stay for next years festival.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

What a terrible experience! Stay away. Dirty bed sheets, which included blood on the pillow - sadly not noticed until next morning. Dusty furniture. Were asked on arrival what we wanted for breakfast the next morning! We ordered one cooked breakfast which, when it was served consisted of bacon, mushrooms and a fried egg all swimming in grease!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews