We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location and comfortable apartment!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Town apartment

Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Sitting Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Hellojens...
1 review
“Amazing location and comfortable apartment!”
Reviewed September 30, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for three nights. The apartment is within walking distance to many must-sees, especially Edinburgh Castle! Many, many great places to eat and shop close by. Mary was very easy to communicate with and provided thorough instructions. We so appreciated the little details and how clean it was. It’s such a cute apartment! Certainly made for a comfortable stay.

The apartment is one floor up fairly narrow stars. This wasn’t an issue for us, but it’s something to consider.

We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Edinburgh!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2018
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you found the apartment comfortable. Would love to welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixie M
Abilene
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this adorable apartment. The accommodations were exactly as stated and the beds were very comfortable.

A word of warning, there’s a flight of stairs up to the apartment building, a very dim interior, and then a circular staircase to the actual apartment. Heavy luggage required some major effort on our part to get it to our room.

The location definitely made up for the extra effort. We walked to all the tourist attractions in Old Town and enjoyed several great restaurants nearby. Thai Orchid Restaurant was outstanding and Biddy Mulligans’s served really great pub food (Pim’s and lemonade!) in a fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is appreciated. I have taken a note of restaurant recommendations as guests are always asking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander74...
1 review
“Superb Apartment”
Reviewed September 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Mary is a welcoming host and greeted us most warmly.We had a wonderful time in Edinburgh, the apartment is perfectly situated and allowed us to thoroughly enjoy the Edinburgh Fringe. Well equipt with all modern utilities, I would recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2018
It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you found the apartment comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missyboo1
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in the perfect location!”
Reviewed August 4, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

After an horrendous journey to Edinburgh due to lightning strikes on the railway lines, my friend and I arrived at the apartment five hours later than we had planned. On entering the building, we thought it looked dark and unwelcoming...But please don't let that put you off. We walked up one flight of stairs to get to Mary's apartment and when we opened the door, we were stunned by how beautiful it was! The décor was classy and it was spotlessly clean. The rooms were a good size and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed, including tea, coffee, milk and delicious shortbread biscuits, which we really enjoyed after our long journey. The location of the apartment was excellent!! It was just round the corner from the castle and close to the centre of the city. We really enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh and the apartment was like a comfortable home from home. We could not recommend Mary's apartment highly enough!! And we will definitely book again. Thanks Mary, your apartment is fantastic, as is the gorgeous city of Edinburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and that you found the apartment comfortable. I would love to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
311pamela...
Viera, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful aoartment”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My family of three from Florida stayed here for a long weekend in June. The apartment is everything it says it it. The host Mary was easy to communicate with and quick to respond to questions. The location is perfectly situated near the Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, and the Grassmarket. The beds were super comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great. The WiFi was fast and easy to connect to. The kitchen was adorable with everything you need to make your own meals. We loved our stay here. The only thing to make it better would be if we could have stayed longer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petel752
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic apartment in a great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Four of us stayed in the apartment for four days in May/June 2018. Location is perfect for the old town - the castle is literally next door, up some steps. The apartment was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable, and a good size. Communication about check in with the owner by email was really good. I would definitely book again for a future visit.

Parking in the street is by permit only. A friendly traffic warden did let me unload on the yellow line outside for 10 minutes. I found a really good secure underground car park in Riego Street, 10 minutes walk away. Much cheaper than the NCP at Castle Terrace, and only 5 minutes further away.

Had a good meal at Maxie’s nearby, on the terrace, overlooking the old town. Also had a good Italian meal at O’Oliveiro on Grassmarket.

Castle, Royal Yacht Britannia and Camera Obscura were all big hits with my family (three generations of us). Brilliant holiday, in a fantastic apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2018
Thanking you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and found the apartment comfortable. I have taken note of your recommendation for the Riego Street underground car park, always good to know and be able to pass on to future guests. Thank you for choosing to stat with us and for being perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and I hope that you come back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing