We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude & intimidating staff”
Review of The Verandah Restaurant - CLOSED

The Verandah Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Verandah has won the "BEST in SCOTLAND" by Pat Chapman's Cobra Good Curry Guide 2013.The Verandah offers the finest, authentic Bangladeshi & Indian cuisine in a stylish, comfortable setting, with high quality service and value for money that is second to none. Visited by Sir Cliff Richard, Clint Eastwood and many others.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Received a voucher for £40 booked a table for 2 waited over a hour for my mains even the table of 2 next to us got up put there jackets on and where about to leave after waiting so long then there food arrived we where the ONLY 2 tables in the restaurant the table cloths where dirty and it was like a ice box, after receiving our mains and asking for the bill having been there 2and a half hours, we queried being over charged on our bill to the waiter that served us, the owner came storming over demanded us to pay our bill and leave. we informed him we waited over a hour for our mains to which he replied again just pay your bill and leave! Would avoid at all costs! I’d never return or recommend this place

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Shavanah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verandah_Edinburgh, Manager at The Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

When you booked your table you were told this voucher is valid for FOUR person. It's clearly written at the top of the voucher, £40 to spend on Indian food for four. Also its clearly written for food.

2 of you came and wanted to use the voucher for 4, which our staff kindly accepted. You happily had the starter, main courses, rice naan breads etc, never complained about the food or service you only said you wanted them as side dish, and did not wanted to pay for the drinks.

I am sure you can remember, I said please pay for the drinks only and this is what you did. I am really surprised to read your comments and if I am not wrong you also took a take away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 250 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Went here recently after a football game. The food was very good and reasonably priced, and the owner a big Jambo which is good!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Steve_jersey_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

I visited with some friends. Overall the food was good and the meat was good quality. I was slightly concerned when entering the restaurant that it was empty. Being the only customers meant there wasn't much of an atmosphere. The staff were helpful and the waitress gave some menu advice.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank kenzie3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We were fortunate to find the Verandah Restaurant literally steps from our AirBnB apartment in Edinburgh. And even more lucky to find the kitchen accommodates gluten-free patrons!

The server was knowledgeable and helpful with explaining ingredients. The food is prepared from scratch but arrived in a reasonable amount of time. The amount of spice and the flavours were amazing and we were all very pleased with our meals.

So happy to have the Verandah Restaurant for our family dinner!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Had a weekend in edinburgh and was staying out of city centre !our taxi driver recommended this Indian and it didn't disappoint !
Small place , doesn't look much but the food and service was lovely, freshly cooked and very nice ( and spicy)
The staff were very attentive and friendly and the waiter even helped us by googling our direction back to apartment !would definitely recommend this wee gem ! Lovely

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank sandraCartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Verandah Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing