We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Homely Feeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Classic Guest House
Ranked #61 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely Feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We checked in around 5PM after driving all the way from Manchester with a stopover at Lake District. We were greeted by the owner and directed to the double room on the first floor. The room was clean and nicely decorated with the window overseeing the small lawn at the back of the property. During the entire stay we felt like being at home whether it was the room or the nicely presented breakfast.

Strongly Recommended for people who prefer personalized service!!

Thank You Mr. Emad, it was worth staying at your place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNLakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    76
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
122
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

My husband and I reserved a double room for our stay last October. This was our first visit to Edinburg and it was really a pleasant one. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very kind and gave us some useful tourist information. Our room was on the top floor, an attic room and for us it was perfectly adequate, not to mention it was spotless, also we had a storage area, TV, desk and tea and biscuit tray. The bathrom was small and perfeclty clean with excellent toiletries.
In the morning the breakfast was more than we expected as they have a large selection of bread, cheese, cereal, fresh fruit and also a delicious cooked breakfast which allowed us to fuel up for our day exploring Edinburgh.
The location is a really nice and quiet street, still a 5 min walk will take you to the bus stop where there are plenty of bus lines going downtown and a 10 to 15 min ride will get you there. As other reviewers said, you need the exact fare as drivers don't give change.
We only stayed for 3 nights and wanted to see as much as we could of the city, but felt we would have liked to spend a bit more time in the hotel as it was so cozy and inviting. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
260 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Classic Guest house is conveniently situated for visiting Edinburgh's main attractions - either by a 30 minute walk to the city centre, or you can catch the bus almost outside (tip - although the buses are reliable they do not give change, so take spare cash). The Guest House itself is a renovated, traditional building (probably late Victorian) and as one expects with a property of this sort the rooms vary in size and features considerably consequently one's impression of the hotel will also vary depending upon which room one was allocated.
We were in room 6 ( a back facing, attic room); this is a well decorated, warm, moderate sized room with a good amount of storage space and a very large television. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The ensuite toilet/shower room was small but everything was clean and in working order. The only potential problem with the room was the window - this is a glass pane set, quite high up, into the sloping roof - whilst it provides adequate light, one cannot see anything out of the window except the sky, nor does it open to provide ventilation; this was not a problem when we stayed (late October) but we felt the room likely to become too hot and stuffy in the summer. A further difficulty with the attic rooms (currently numbered 5-8) is that they are approached by means of a narrow staircase with a right angle bend in it, this is not so easy to climb if one is lacking in mobility or carrying large items of luggage (however, the hotel's owner did offer to help us with luggage if we had so wished).
Breakfast is served in a pleasant conservatory overlooking a small but rather pretty garden. The choice of food was good, the cooked breakfast was of good quality and service was very efficient. All staff we met during our stay were polite and genuinely helpful. We had a pleasant stay and feel that Classic House Guest House offered quite good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, access to these will be far easier than to the attic rooms and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flutefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had an excellent stay! We booked a standard double room for a Saturday night but we were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to an en-suite double, which was a lovely surprise. We arrived at the b&b about 1pm and we were able to check straight in which was great. We were given an ice cold bottle of water each, which was very good as we had walked from the City centre! The room was very nicely decorated, and the bed was huge and very comfy. The room and en-suite were absolutely spotless! The tea and coffee making facilities were great and so were the biscuits.

Breakfast was amazing, it was served in the conservatory which was a very nice touch. There was a huge range of food and the cooked breakfast was delicious. The muffins were also very good.

On the Sunday the staff were more than happy to keep our bags for us until the evening so we could explore the city without them which was a great help.

The b&b is a 5/10min walk from the bus stop on the 'Royal Mile' which has regular buses to the city centre. We got a day rider for £3.20 each both days as this means you can travel on the Lothian buses as much as you want. Make sure you have exact change though!

Overall our stay was amazing! The staff were always very polite and the house is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandM024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a lovely and very large room, best of the house.
The atmosphere was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious and very complete.
Busstop for the centre was nearby and busses were frequently arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for room A
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pf93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

In a walking distance from "Royal Mile" in Edinburgh or 10'' min. by bus there is "Classic house". An old victorian house recently restored and decorated in very good taste. The owner, a very kind gentleman tries to make life easy and confortable by offering an excellent hospitality. Breakfast is home made and freshly-cooked. If you want a cosy and classy place, in good price, to stay, the "Classic house" is the best choise to make. Liana & Eva, Athens, 10/2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank eleni569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Found this B&B to be excellent in all respects. Friendly welcome, great room, (room A next to the reception) and the breakfast filling and served with a smile. We walked to the city centre through the meadows each morning in around 20 minutes meeting the number 42 bus each time just as we got to the Royal Mile! Complimentary toiletries and hair drier in the room. Would recommend and return to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 km away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#29 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 km away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#3 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.6 km away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#27 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Southside Guest House
Southside Guest House
#52 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 km away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
4.9 km away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Guest House

Property: Classic Guest House
Address: 50 Mayfield Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH9 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Classic Guest House Edinburgh, a Victorian town house located in a quiet, residential area and offering quality 3 Star B&B accommodation with free parking and free Wi-Fi close to Edinburgh city centre, Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street. All our rooms are elegant, comfortable and tastefully decorated to a very high standard and are thoughtfully equipped. A sumptuous Scottish Breakfast can be enjoyed in the conservatory, overlooking our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Classic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Classic Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing