We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #8 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Mike and Aury of "SecretScotland.com" recommended Ben Cruachan Guest House for my family of 6 adults for our final 2 nights in Scotland. We are ever so appreciative as Carole made our stay perfect in every way. From the beautifully appointed bedrooms and baths to the delicious breakfasts (can't miss on the porridge with whisky, cream, and honey...YUM). Carole's special attention to every detail of the stay just added to our pleasure. She arranged for a champagne toast on our final evening, and because our flight left so early the next morning, packed sandwiches, fresh fruit and muffins to take with us for our flight. Fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Room number 3 with it's garden view and amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    39
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
85
483
57
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn Norfolk UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have to let you know about Ben Cruachan it is fantastic! our room was great in every way with a Fab shower room, the breakfast was amazing great menu choice. Try the fruit platter.
Excellent service from Carole, she made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.
Book direct as we did this is much better and excellent value, this guest house should be rated
5* plus a fantastic find.

Thank you.
Cath.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If going to Edinburgh, try and book this guest house, you wont be disappointed, it is charming with elegance and style, and the most gracious host you will find, she has time for you, and knowes a lot about Edinburgh, from very good Restaurants to places of intrest. You will have a lovely room with good facilities A wonderful 5* Breakfast. From the momment you arrive you will feel at home, This Is a really special place to relax and enjoy.We ,had a visit to Rosslyn chapel very worth while. Carole booked lunch for us at a wonderful pub called The Canny mann, It had great atmosphere and super food , we had to take a taxi there. I was very disappointed with the Scottish Parliament Building To modern in such A Historic city. 3 days not enough time in Edinburgh must come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

A very warm welcome, pity the weather was not the same very cold for April, however the house was lovely and warm so cosy, with beautiful rooms and a fantastic breakfast . we travel as two couples to different cities spring and Autumn.Edinburgh was a ,very good choice this time But Ben cruachan topped our list of B & Bs This has to be the best yet, it met all our needs and more. "We had a ball". Good Wishes From Abergavenny.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had a great stay at Ben Cruachan Guest House. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, the breakfast was fantastic (well cooked and quality ingredients), and Carole was an excellent host. I would certainly recommend this guest house to someone traveling to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Wonderful hospitality at Bencruachan. The little extras in the room are lovely,We have now stayed in every room that Carole has. Absolutely Fantastic Breakfast. and plenty of it. This excellent accommodation with superb facilities for guests, is like home from home, we keep returning it gets better all the time.keep up the good work Carole best wishes Maggie and John

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumfriesukMaggie_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Doing my research on accommodation in Edinburgh i discovered Ben Cruachan Guest House with its prestigious Gold award for outstanding quality and srevice. You can see why as soon as you enter the front door you are made so welcome by the owner Carole. We arrived very early 8.30am shown into the lounge with a tray of tea toast and preserves as our room wasn't ready, Carole gave us use of a bathroom to freshen up, such a nice touch. Our room was beside the garden with a wonderful en-suite. We enjoyed the luxury of sherry , sweets, toiletries, flat screen tv and wifi also fabulous information on Edinburgh the best comfortable bed better than our own. The breakfast was out of this world i have never seen anything like it in a b&b before,porridge with a good malt followed by a full cooked of eggs bacon sausages black pudding tomatoe mushrooms and haggis. The quality of the breakfast was amazing proper butchers sausages thick gammon oh! and 2 eggs without asking all perfectly cooked.
2nd morning i Had an exotic fruit plate with greek yogurt walnuts and honey, my husband had eggs benedict the best he has tasted. The dining room is beautiful with white linen crystal glasses and fresh flowers the house is immaculately clean with great attention to detail.
You are totally spoilt, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will certainly return.

Thanks.
Jan & Hugh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#13 of 392 in Edinburgh
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing