We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Edinburgh
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Twenty(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Halcyon Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abbey Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
24 Royal Terrace(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveller rating
816
39
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
39
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgedecanter of sherryb bowner jackiecity centreoverlooking the gardenleith walkbreakfast was deliciousset us up for the daybeautiful roomlittle toucheswonderful hostsscottish breakfastfull scottisha lovely staybed and breakfasthome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 868 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was really in pressed lovely welcome from Jackie place was very clean breakfast was superb would recommend it for a place to stay any time of the year . Plenty of pubs and restaurants near to the guest house

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h, Owner at Ben Cruachan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Phil, glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was welcomed by Jackie whom was welcoming and friendly. Accommodations was clean with an impressive bathroom. Location was a little far off from the old town about 20 minutes walk however still a comfortable walk. Their Scottish breakfast was delicious and be sure to check out the whisky around the house/room.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h, Owner at Ben Cruachan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Jon for this lovely review. Was great having you stay here and hope to see you again. Best wishes Jackie x x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved staying here for a weekend away from the city: a very short walk from the train station and some lovely walks in the area. Even if the weather's not so good, the bar is a very relaxing space to watch the snow/rain coming down. Our room was exceptionally clean, the menu and bar had a wide selection, and the food was fantastic (particularly recommend staying for the Sunday roasts). But the best thing about the place is the staff: friendly, helpful and really positive about the Inn without being too overbearing. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ak0s97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h, Owner at Ben Cruachan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you !! But ... I wonder if you have commented on the wrong place ... we do not have a bar or serve Sunday Roasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

From the moment we stepped over the door we were made to feel at home by Jackie with the warmest welcome, a real home from home. We were shown to our room which was 1st class, very comfortable bed, great en suite, and a lovely view of the garden. Ben Cruachan is unique in our experience by the extra touches..... A little decanter of Sherry with chocolates and sweeties, tea, coffee etc, which were topped up daily, definitely 5 star. But the breakfast was the best we have ever had, porridge with the option of having a wee dram, full Scottish, excellent local produce, plentiful toast with preserves. We are looking forward to a second stay at Ben Cruachan later in the year. Promise we won’t drink all the sherry next visit Jackie......

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h, Owner at Ben Cruachan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much Andrea for this super review !! Its so appreciative and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Ben C, it was lovely to meet you both and you were great guests. I'll make the sherry 'a double' next time and looking forward to seeing you again !! Best wishes, Jackie x x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Had a fantastic 2-night stay at Ben Cruachan last week. From the minute we arrived until our departure Jackie couldn't have made us more welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are immaculate, comfortable and have everything you need and more. Breakfasts are amazing, plenty of choice, all made with fresh local produce. Ideal location too. Highly recommend and will definitely return next time in Edinburgh. Kenny & Helen T

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank costacove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie h, Owner at Ben Cruachan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Was great to have you stay at Ben C and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Look forward to your next visit. Best wishes to you both. Jackie x x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews