We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”

The Armadillo Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Armadillo Guest House
Ranked #223 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A friend of mine and I stayed at this guesthouse for 5 nights in June 2011.
We arrived early in the morning, at about 9 o’clock, but the owner Trish gave us the room immediately. It was clean and sunny, the bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom facilities were OK.
Breakfast was tasty and sufficient (if you choose the right menu). One morning we needed to leave on a trip early so the landlady made us some food packages and left them next to the door. She was friendly and polite during our whole stay.
As for location, it is true the guesthouse isn’t in the center of the city, but it is not that far away. You can easily walk to the major sightseeing spots. Also there are some bus stops nearby.
I would definitely stay there again when I’m in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have stayed at this guesthouse many times now and it has always been superb!

The rooms are clean, tidy and have all the required amenities one would expect. The breakfast was the best we have ever had in any guest house or hotel (Waldorf NYC & Burj Al Arab UAE included). Hash browns were also included with the breakfast, which is now very rare in todays society.

The owner Trish is extremely helpful and makes your stay even better!

Why would anyone stay anywhere else!

We cannot recommend this guesthouse enough!!!

Mike & Andrea

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at The Armadillo Guest House for about 4 nights with my Husband, 4 year old son, mum and aunt we all enjoyed our stay here. The Owner Trish was really nice and helpful with travel info, bus tours and general info. The rooms were really nice and clean and breakfast was nice. And she told us what time breakfast was served! so we wouldn't miss out. I really enjoyed my time at this guest house and will recommend it to anyone. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scholes2_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here in Room 3.

The staff were very welcoming and very friendly.

The room - was large with an ensuite, cleaned daily with fresh towels each day. Flatscreen Tv mounted on the wall which could be angled in various ways. There was no traffice noise in this room as it was at the back of the property. There was tea and coffee making facillities in the room. The window had the old fashioned shutters which blackout the room so i got an excellent sleep.

Breakfast was really good too.

This is a nice home from home which location was great for getting to the grassmarket and princess street.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittykatstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The landlady stayed up late to let us in when our train was delayed and was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. There was soap and shower gel a plenty. Tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV. We were in room 3 on first floor and there was no traffic noise (and not a very busy street anyway), only fireworks from the tattoo! Breakfast was tasty and ordered from a list of options the night before which meant service was quick in the morning. No rabbit in the shower either!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverRoseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I stayed in a room to the front of the property, very basic room in need of upgrading. The windows rattled all night and the road was very noisy.

The bedding and towels were very worn with no toiletries provided. The owner failed to tell us what time breakfast was at when we checked in so when we arrived to the breakfast room at what we thought was a reasonable time if 9.30am we were told we had missed breakfast. I don't think the owner has any customer relation skills at all. Having paid an extra £5 for breakfast she could have at least knocked on out door or let us know the very strict and limited timings for breakfast!

I would not return there or recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish_COL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The guest house is not in a bad location but walking from the centre takes a while, so you'll might as well book something better for the same money and use the bus to get to the place. First thing when we came I've been charged 2 GBR because I've paid with my DEBIT card ( yes, not credit, but debit) I don't say that it much, but can't get why it wasn't confirmed before. The room was very dated and needed lots of attention to basic details, such as broken lamp, etc. The breakfast was a BIG disappointment, as I got a cheapest ham possible, the Tesco value water ham. My mum ordered a boiled eggs breakfast and she literally got 2 boiled eggs on a plate. It was just a joke. The coffee was probablu brewed few times before it came on our table.
Most disappointed stay, considering that it was a treat for my parents.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilia_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Adam Drysdale House
#150 of 392 in Edinburgh
76 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#175 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
Cruachan Guest House
#226 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#54 of 392 in Edinburgh
84 reviews
West End
Light House Hostel
Light House Hostel
#14 of 204 in Edinburgh
233 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#45 of 392 in Edinburgh
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Armadillo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Armadillo Guest House

Property: The Armadillo Guest House
Address: 12 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Armadillo Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
The Armadillo Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing