We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stop your search--this is THE SPOT!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Living Room
Relax
Apartment Block
Welcome to Scotland
Old Fishmarket Close from Royal Mile
From Royal Mile
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Sofa Bed
Dining Room
Lounge
Dining Area
Lounge
Dining Area
Living Room
Lounge
Welcome
Dining Area
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Welcome
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Welcome
The Double Bedroom Two
The Double Bedroom Two
The Double Bedroom One
The Double Bedroom One
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom One
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom One
Kitchen
Hall
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shellruss
Burglengenfeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stop your search--this is THE SPOT!”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We've stayed all over the world. Eve is the best host we've EVER had. She met us personally. The apartment was stocked with everything we could need after a long day of travel. She even stocked the fridge with fresh eggs (from her chickens), waters, bread for toast, homemade jam, butter, etc...She left us a lovely bottle of wine to start off our holiday. The apartment itself is super well appointed. It's in the perfect spot to walk to everything. We explored the entire city from our cozy vantage point. You are just a short walk from the train station. You can catch a bus or a taxi on a moments notice by simply walking out the door. For being in the heart of the city the apartment was remarkably quiet at night. I literally cannot say enough about this great spot. Rent it now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy homey feel!
Liked least: Having to leave! :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Wow, thank you. You were lovely guests. And wekcome any time. Best wishes,
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best of both worlds in Edinburgh's Old Town”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a perfect location for visiting Edinburgh, close to the Royal Mile and yet tucked away. The apartment was practical and modern and the lift makes access simple for anyone who has problems with stairs. Furnishings and bed linen were of a high quality and everything was spotless.

We found the kitchen stocked with more than enough for a wholesome breakfast and really appreciated the culinary basics, as well as the excellent range of equipment. All the additional touches mentioned by other guests made our stay an exceptionally pleasant one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Given the high standard of facilities, it represented good value.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Thank you so very much for those kind words.
you will always be welcome.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefftrav...
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in brilliant location”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a hidden gem. It is a fabulous apartment in an equally fabulous location. We were 10 minutes walk from the train station and minutes walk to all places of interest. We were met by Eve who has added such personal touches like the home made soap and her chicken's eggs. We were very surprised by her generosity of a food hamper including a bottle of wine. If yo stay here you literally need nothing. A hairdryer and straighteners for each room! I really do hope that people don't take advantage of her generosity as the extra touches make this apartment particularly special. Very comfy beds, wifiitc etc. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Edinburgh. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you. And you were very generous with your praise. So happy you liked it all.
I hope you will be back soon.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cars23450
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This central appartment is great value for money just off The Royal Mile, close to the station and tourist attractions.”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent position in the old part of town just off The Royal Mile within easy reach of the station and tourist attractions. Hospitality was out of this world with the homemade soap, eggs from the owners own hens and all the other goodies that made up an incredible welcoming hospitality package. A warm comfortable clean apartment with cosy beds, constant hot water, up to date DVD's and playstation. Great value for money, would book again and highly recommend this apartment to family and friends. Fabulous welcome by the owner could not wish for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you. You were absolutely fabulous guests. I hope to see you again.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaranakiJ...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Utterly Brilliant!”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We arrived late in the day. There was a gale blowing, rain pelting down, and even though Eve's apartment is a close walk to the railway station, it felt very long to us. To add to my woes, I was suffering the most terrible cold and felt very ill and very sorry for myself.

So it was with great feelings of relief and happiness that we saw Eve's friendly smiling face at the door, and even greater relief when she ushered us into the really charming apartment.

It's in one of the steep back lane-ways that are everywhere in Edinburgh. Initially you think, "Oh, this place is dreadful!" But you soon realise it's the Edinburgh style, and totally acceptable.

Eve is a most generous hostess. Not only was the house immaculate, the linen fine and fresh, the towels plentiful and soft, but she provided tea, milk, bread, yogurt, fresh fruit, home made jam, home made soaps, and all manner of biscuits, chocolates and distinctive Scottish treats. I've stayed in many apartments around the world, but never in one so generously furnished with tasty treats and a home-like feeling.

Because I was sick I spent the next day in bed, and there couldn't have been a nice apartment to spend the day in. Everything you want is there - excellent WiFi, good kitchen, endless hot water and peace and quiet.

This is not just a holiday rental, it's a real home, comfortable, welcoming and relaxing. I could not recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fresh clean bed linen.
Liked least: The wardrobe doors are very heavy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you so very much. I hope you are all well now. I'd be delighted to see you here again.
I am happy that I am doing this right.
thanks again.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve e
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most comfortable place ever!”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Eve's apartment with my family last weekend. It was fantastic. Eve greeted us herself, and she had filled the apartment with provisions and treats for us. Fruit, Juice, biscuits, crisps and chocolate for the kids, Milk, Coffee, Tea, home-made jam, Bread, Eggs from her hens and more for all of us. I enjoyed the drinks trolley, after a day of shopping and sight seeing. The kids loved the play station and the vast collection of DVD's.
The bedrooms are kitted out beautifully, and the beds are extremely comfortable.
The Shower in the Bathroom is great, and the bath long enough, even for me, and I am tall.There were Hair dryers and Straighteners in each of the bedrooms.
Fresh linen on the beds, towels and home made soaps and toiletries were waiting for us.
The apartment is big and roomy, freshly decorated and very homely.
We loved it.
The location is perfect, in the middle of Edinburgh's Old Town. We took part in a Ghost walk, recommended by Eve, it was a bit spooky, but great. Shops are nearby, as well as Restaurants, Coffee bars, Pubs and parks. The castle is a few minutes away. This apartment is by far the best place we ever stayed in.
We will definitely be back. Thank you, Eve

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
To the Elgie Family
You were great guests.Thank you for staying at my apartment. I hope to see you again very soon.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Apartment ON THE ROYAL MILE!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the beautiful apartment with my teenage Son last weekend. Eve was there to greet us, and to explain how everything worked. The apartment was cosy and warm and furnished very nicely to a high standard. It felt like a home from home. Eve provided cleaning materials, towels and extras, like milk, butter, bread, bottled water, juice and would you believe it fresh eggs from her own chickens, as well as homemade jam, chocolates, biscuits, cereals, tea, coffee, sugar, and lots more. Talk about being spoiled! The bathroom is modern and had Eve's homemade soaps, shower cream and big fluffy towels. The DVD collection was welcome, as well as the PlayStation and games, and when we were in kept my Son happy. The apartment is right off the Royal Mile, near the Castle and the Grass Market. Princes Street and shopping was just a few minutes walk away. We especially enjoyed the Christmas Market by Prices Street and the 'Street of Lights' on the Royal Mile. The lift up to the apartment was also welcome when we returned from the shops, loaded with bags. We will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2015
Thank you so much, Susan, come and stay again. You are always welcome.
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing