We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Koku Shi

Koku Shi
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in Kirkcaldy
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Fife’s first Japanese Street Food/Sushi Restaurant. We offer takeaways, lunches, dinners and catering services. We take care of every diet including vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. We prepare our food with passion from the best quality ingredients and make sure that our customer service is first class. Our qualified team of chefs and sushi masters will prepare unforgettable dishes and you will fall in love with our Japanese cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Fife’s first Japanese Street Food/Sushi Restaurant. We offer takeaways, lunches, dinners and catering services. We take care of every diet including vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. We prepare our food with passion from the best quality ingredients and make sure that our customer service is first class. Our qualified team of chefs and sushi masters will prepare unforgettable dishes and you will fall in love with our Japanese cuisine.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Incredibly tasty sushi. Good prices. Great range of vegan options. Very friendly staff. 100% recommended. I just can't get enough!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spartan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We have been here a good few times since it opened and love it! Kirkcaldy has been long overdue any kind of restaurant that isn't pubgrub and Koku shi hits the spot. We usually just get straight into the sushi as it is the best, but the gyoza appetizers are good too. Mix and match different types of sushi yourself, or get one their sets if you're new to sushi. It is all delicious! The customer service is great and it is BYOB - what more can you ask for!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Regular customers - a reliably perfect treat. Friendly, accomodating and prompt service. Allows BYOB. We order far too much every visit because everything on the menu is ridiculously delicious. Beautifully served, fresh food. Miso soup with gyoza, spicy tuna tartate, and the sushi boats particular highlights. Also has inventive fusion menu with haggis sushi, Japanese fish & chips etc, very clever.

Easily competes with high end/expensive sushi restaurants elsewhere, so has become our firm favourite. Will keep coming back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Always had a great meal in this place whether there for lunch or evening meal. All the food is cooked to order and tastes so fresh. Great choice of menu including their new chicken or prawn curry or even just try their fish and chips. The owners and staff go out of their way to serve you and nothing is too much trouble. Give this place a try you wont regret it.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Sushi is one of my favorite dish and wherever I go, I always try to find a restaurant serving sushi.
In this little town of Kirkcaldy, I found a good tasting sushi with affordable price.
The restaurant is well located and has a well designed interior, inviting and finely organized sittings.
However, when we got there the restaurant is about to close in 30 minutes.
So we just ordered our take away and headed home.
Although the food was like an hour more before we get to eat it, the taste were still great.
A lot better than the sushi I had in Edinburgh.
The presentation was nice as well.
We ordered 3 kinds of sushi and soups.
However, since it was like 4 months ago, I forgot the name of the sushi.
But honestly, it was pretty good for a small place.
Even the wait staff was wonderful and friendly which makes an added points to visit since you will surely be welcomed.
I would come back to this restaurant once I get to visit Kirkcaldy again.
Cheers!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank imeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koku Shi also viewed

 
Kirkcaldy, Fife
 

Been to Koku Shi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing