We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Inn St Andrews
Nearby Hotels
US$355
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rufflets Hotel(St Andrews)
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greyfriars Inn(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Vin(St Andrews)
US$214
US$193
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Albany Hotel(St Andrews)(Great Value!)
US$197
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
30
39
25
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
39
25
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Free parking, great location, great value for money, extremely friendly staff, great room, very comfortable! Don't be put off by the fact that this is pub accommodation. It was very quiet downstairs. We booked a twin room and it was great value and really comfortable. It's a short walk to the centre and is perfect for exploring St.Andrews. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with my son in October (I've only recently joined tripadvisor). The owners - being aware that we were a mother and son away for a weekend together gave us the perfect roomaccomodation - a suite at the top of the inn.
The two rooms were recently decorated and beautifully clean.

The breakfast is made to order.

This is a perfect location for perspective students to St Andrews university.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I found the New Inn to be an excellent place to stay in St Andrews.

If you're just after a room, the rooms are peaceful and quiet and well decorated, but if like me you enjoy a drink, you will find a proper scottish pub downstairs.

Friendly welcome, good atmosphere, and all-round decent inn.

Perhaps the person who gave a bad review would have been happier spending £400 a night at one of St Andrew's golf spa hotels, but regardless of that her comments made no sense to me.

I would recommend the New Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2011

Thank you for your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall see you at The New Inn again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

dirty rooms, hair and other in the bathroom, breakfast in the pub full of smoke... absolutly not reconmemded

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessandranicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2010

We are naturally disappointed that you feel you did not enjoy your stay. SInce the we took the hotel over we have never had one negative comment about cleanliness so we were very surprised to learn you consider our newly refurbished bathrooms to be dirty. However we will speak to our housekeeping team about your comment.
Since the property is entirely no smoking and indeed it is against the law to smoke in any bar in Scotland I am at a loss to understand where this smoke you mention would be from.
Anyway once again we afre genuinely sad to learn you did not enjoy your stay at our little inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed here in a bright and spotlessly clean, spacious room. The weather was very hot and we were glad that the window opened. Although the New Inn is right on the street, it was quiet at night. The bacon and egg we had for breakfast were perfectly cooked. We could have done with a selection of juices at breakfast, but orange juice was quickly brought from the bar when we asked. The New Inn is just a stroll from the beach and easy walking distance from the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly. Parking wasn't a problem, although we weren't always able to park immediately outside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MairiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews