We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value ,great welcome ,very freindly locals,great bar staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn St Andrews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn St Andrews
Ranked #46 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great value ,great welcome ,very freindly locals,great bar staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

stayed here for the golf ,accomandation above pub very quiet and good quality rooms,5mins from the centre easy acsess to the golf courses through the town cheap taxi fare for the night life, warm welcome from the bar staff and locals.
will use again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    37
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Free parking, great location, great value for money, extremely friendly staff, great room, very comfortable! Don't be put off by the fact that this is pub accommodation. It was very quiet downstairs. We booked a twin room and it was great value and really comfortable. It's a short walk to the centre and is perfect for exploring St.Andrews. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with my son in October (I've only recently joined tripadvisor). The owners - being aware that we were a mother and son away for a weekend together gave us the perfect roomaccomodation - a suite at the top of the inn.
The two rooms were recently decorated and beautifully clean.

The breakfast is made to order.

This is a perfect location for perspective students to St Andrews university.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

I found the New Inn to be an excellent place to stay in St Andrews.

If you're just after a room, the rooms are peaceful and quiet and well decorated, but if like me you enjoy a drink, you will find a proper scottish pub downstairs.

Friendly welcome, good atmosphere, and all-round decent inn.

Perhaps the person who gave a bad review would have been happier spending £400 a night at one of St Andrew's golf spa hotels, but regardless of that her comments made no sense to me.

I would recommend the New Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review, 27 February 2011
Thank you for your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we shall see you at The New Inn again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

dirty rooms, hair and other in the bathroom, breakfast in the pub full of smoke... absolutly not reconmemded

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandranicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiOrr, Owner at The New Inn St Andrews, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
We are naturally disappointed that you feel you did not enjoy your stay. SInce the we took the hotel over we have never had one negative comment about cleanliness so we were very surprised to learn you consider our newly refurbished bathrooms to be dirty. However we will speak to our housekeeping team about your comment.
Since the property is entirely no smoking and indeed it is against the law to smoke in any bar in Scotland I am at a loss to understand where this smoke you mention would be from.
Anyway once again we afre genuinely sad to learn you did not enjoy your stay at our little inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire,Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed here in a bright and spotlessly clean, spacious room. The weather was very hot and we were glad that the window opened. Although the New Inn is right on the street, it was quiet at night. The bacon and egg we had for breakfast were perfectly cooked. We could have done with a selection of juices at breakfast, but orange juice was quickly brought from the bar when we asked. The New Inn is just a stroll from the beach and easy walking distance from the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly. Parking wasn't a problem, although we weren't always able to park immediately outside.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MairiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on Saturday night. We'd decided to go to St Andrews for the weekend and struggled to find anywhere to stay, luckily we found The New Inn. It was £90 for a twin room which we wouldn't have normally paid for 1 night but we didn't have an alternative.
Our room was clean and average sized. The bathroom door was a bit of a pain though, it had to be banged closed and was rather noisy! Tea/coffee facilities in the room as well as Sky TV, much to my boyfriend's delight! Big wardrobe too and comfy beds!!
Breakfast was included in the price so we had cereal, then toast and then a lovely cooked breakfast in the downstairs bar. Breakfast is served between 9-11am on a Sunday which is a reasonable time and we had to check out by 12. The bar also serves meals which we actually wish we'd had the night before instead of going to a restaurant which wasn't great!!
The New Inn is only a 10 minute walk from the main street and it is also right next to the beach which is lovely. There's also a wee paper shop across the road and round the corner which is open on Sunday's too!!
All in all, a small, cosy, ideally located B&B which I definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
1.4 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
11.9 km away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#9 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.3 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
8.4 km away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn St Andrews

Property: The New Inn St Andrews
Address: 23 St. Mary Street, St Andrews KY16 8AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn St Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is a lively local with five contemporary en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have free wifi access, refreshment tray and free view TV. We offer a good selection of home made meals using local produce. A warm welcome is guaranteed at this ideal affordable base for exploring St Andrews. Walking distance to town centre and centrally located for many golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
The New Inn St Andrews Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing