We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #9 of 142 Restaurants in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$57
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Campogalliano, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have been for a lunch with friends around mid June. We all thought that the way the place has been designed is really brilliant, with all the wood and this acid green color of the seats in the main restaurant! We shared some starters (the mussels are delicious) and we all got the tuna, for a friend had recommended us to try it! It is truly spot on as it comes on a very good choice of vegetables that have a Mediterranean vibe, olives, sundried tomatoes, and potatoes. And we ought to mention that the coffe is great, just as it should be! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hello and many thanks for your feedback.
I was really happy to hear that you had such a nice time in Forgans and enjoyed our food and setting.
We hope you can come back soon,

Best Regards,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    596
    177
    83
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Set up at the back of Mitchell's in Market St. this quirky restaurant is bubbling with activity. I had the crispy roast chicken which was fine but, to be fair, I wasn't that hungry. My partner had the "salmon in a bag" with coriander, ginger, etc. which she thought was delicious. Excellent attentive staff and ok prices. Would go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrDrake027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thanks for writing such a great reivew.

I will make sure that this is passed onto both our floor staff and chefs...

Salmon in the bag is a real favourite, hope to see you back again soon,

Many thanks,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a sense of style! Forgans is like a Highland cattle shed in the heart of St Andrews. We sat in the main room but there are also wonderful recesses for near private dining. I liked the tweed waistcoats of the staff and they were attentive and friendly.
Food was very good and arrived promptly. Do try it. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_maciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello and thanks so much for a wonderful positive review of Forgans...we loved your description like a highland cattle shed in the heart of St Andrews, LOVE IT!

Thanks for sharing your experience, the staff will be happy to hear that you found them friendly and attenting and the chefs pleased that you found the food to be good and prompt!

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor food - over priced”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Don't be sucked in by the 'shabby-chic' decor, it masks bigger issues. Have eaten here twice since it opened and both times I have left feeling disappointed. The service is okay, but then there are always so many staff tripping over each other. Both times I have found the food well below average and certainly not worth the prices being charged. There's much better in town than this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 999callsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hello and thanks for your review.
I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at Forgans.
Please can you drop me an email with more specific details about your meal so that I can investigate this further. info@forgansstandrews.co.uk

Many thanks

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great addition to St Andrews”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have now eaten here twice and have been very impressed. The food has been a very high quality and service excellent. I would definitely recommend the chicken with haggis and the macaroon cheesecake There is a lovely ambience and the only problem is trying to get a table , but that speaks for itself. It is a good place for couples.families and large groups. All are catered for in the different dining areas available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello and thanks for your feedback.
I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the chicken & Haggis dish then the yummy macaroon cheesecake for pudding.
Yes its hard to get a table, always book ahead!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing