We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Cute!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #14 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Cute!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spent just 1 night here on Valentines day and this little B&B is adorable. Great location, easy to find, owner just lovely and breakfast is very good. We had currently been travelling through Europe for months and there are just some places that stand out - and this is one of them. The rooms are lovely, very clean & the comfortable king size bed was much needed! Great for romantic weekends away or that long weekend break!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Positive feedback is always appreciated. Thank you for your comments. We are glad that we stand out among the places you visited on your travels. We hope you may one day return. Jackie & Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at Five Pilmore Place for my birthday weekend. It is the perfect location five minutes walk from the centre of town, the golf course and the beach. Jackie was there to welcome us and her friendliness set the scene for the rest of our stay. She was very knowledgeable and helpful about what to see and do.
The hotel is very tastefully furnished throughout and decorated to a high standard. I give it top marks for cleanliness as well.
We stayed in room no 3 which is the deluxe room with ensuite bathroom with roll top bath. The room is very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The roll top bath is lovely to relax in with bath gel supplied to add to the luxury. It is also very light and bright and although it faces out to the main street it is peaceful because of the secondary glazing fitted. The Ipod docking station is also a nice touch.
The breakfasts are really nice. Nice breakfast menu with locally sourced ingredient's and very well cooked. And you can mix and match to suit what you want. The porridge is cooked in the traditional way and my partner and guests commented on how lovely it was.
The only slight downside to breakfast was that it is early with a short window. This is good for the golfers but a slightly longer lie in in such a comfortable room would be nice.
Jackie's husband Norman was also on hand at the weekend to help and like Jackie went out of his way to be helpful and pleasant. They both give excellent customer service that you rarely see these days.
When we return to St Andrews we will definately stay a Five Pilmore Place.

Room Tip: I would recommend the deluxe room of you want to spoil yourselves and it is nice and sunny. The oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottkelly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Your positive comments are much appreciated. We try to offer the best facilities available where we can and like to maintain our standards. Sourcing products locally and being able to offer advice on St Andrews is all part of the service we aim to provide to our guests. Jackie & Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

A very lovely place to stay, can't imagine there's a better B&B in St Andrews. Actually, it's more like staying in a small, friendly boutique hotel, such is the quality.

Great location, handsome old building, beautifully renovated. The furnishings/decor are an attractive and tasteful mix of contemporary and traditional, everything is of a high standard, no corners cut. We booked the large master suite, Room 3 at the front of the building, which was gorgeous. I'm not normally a 'bath' person, but even I couldn't resist a soak in the big claw-footed free-standing bath! Lovely choice of quality bathroom products provided, better than many hotels I've stayed in.

There are a good number of varied restaurants within easy walking distance, so eating out in the evening is a pleasure rather than a problem.

Jackie is a charming and extremely helpful host, very responsive to queries via email and phone. She and her husband even offered to postpone the start of their own evening out (which I'm sure is a rare occurrence in this business!) by half an hour because our train times unavoidably meant we would be arriving later than the advertised check-in time. So very kind of them, over and above the call of duty!

Breakfast is taken at a long table in the dining room with other guests between 8 - 9am (mix depending on what time each gets up!) and was relaxed and delicious - good choice of hot and cold dishes, eg, full fry-up, porridge with heather honey, cereals, toast, fresh fruit and berries, greek yoghurt, individual cafetiere of coffee, etc.

Really, don't hesitate to book this place - it's absolutely top-notch in its category.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms but Room 3, the largest, was wonderful and well worth the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magnoliiatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent positive experience with us ! Your comments are much appreciated. We do try to accommodate guests when we can and are glad we could help with suggestions for dinner etc. We hope to be able to welcome you back to St Andrews & Five Pilmour Place in the future. Sincerely Jackie & Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here during a recent trip to Scotland and were looking for an overnight stay in St Andrews. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The host was welcoming, knowledgeable and gave good advice regarding the town and recommended restaurants.

The room itself was spacious, very very clean and decorated in a charming manner. Massive comfortable bed and a very decent bathroom with power shower. Good heater which kept the room nice and warm (very important in cold Scotland!)

Downstairs there is free access to a lovely living room with a huge selection of (good!) magazines and DVDs you can take up to your room (room has LCD TV with DVD player).

The only minor niggle is that breakfast service is only between 8-9 which can seem a little limited especially if you fancy a lazier day. However, the breakfast itself is excellent with a brilliant hot and cold selection (the full fry up is particularly good).

A very minor niggle in an otherwise brilliant B&B and does not detract in any way in making this a wholehearted 5/5 review.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canon_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent positive experience with us ! We are thrilled you found that our accommodation & facilities more than suited your requirements. We hope to welcome you back to Five Pilmour Place in the near future. Sincerely Jackie & Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My partner and I stayed over the first weekend in November. We had been recommended to stay at Five Pilmour Place by friends as the best guest house in St Andrews, if not Fife. We were not disappointed and can honestly say the hosts Jackie and Norman made our stay memorable - we will return on our next visit. Our bedroom was large, warm, cosy and immaculately presented. The ensuite was warm and of a good size, everything as you would like. Breakfast was the best we have ever had (we have travelled extensively). The attention to detail and friendly service really made our holiday and I think we would not come back to St Andrews if we could not book at Five Pilmour place.

Room Tip: Our room to the front was very quiet and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We are glad you had a memorable experience staying with us and enjoyed our facilities & service. We both hope to welcome you back next time you visit St Andrews. Sincerely Jackie & Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My daughter and I stayed for a week at Five Pilmour Place. She was starting the University of St. Andrews and we needed a base in town. The B&B was immaculate, the breakfast was delicious and the owners, Jackie and Norman, could not have been kinder. They gave us good advice about the University and town and made us feel right at home. The staff was charming and helpful.
The last day was move-in day for my daughter. It was also my birthday, so I was a bit emotional spending my last night alone. Imagine my surprise and delight when I got to my room and found a birthday card and a bottle of wine waiting for me! This thoughtfulness exemplifies the care and attention you will receive at Five Pilmour Place. We are already planning to return with the whole family to visit in the new year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is owened by a nice couple who do everything they can to make you feel like home. I am a navy guy travelling alone most of the time. Overall I am very satisfied apart from the fact that my room was cold during the night. I left with fever. But they promissed to check it because I am going back again.

Room Tip: My room was No 6 . I guess that the rest of the rooms are ok couse mine was the only room at the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing