We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Shieling

welcome to The Shieling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to The Shieling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
welcome to The Shieling
Towards St Andrews
Towards Carnoustie
Family shower room with 1400 x 900 shower
Twin room
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite bathroom
From rear lawn
Patio/BBQ area with fireplace
Play field with shelter
Stunning views
Evening view to St Andrews
Kissing gate
Visiting Pheasant family
Red squirrel lunching on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
misa099
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed 5 days at the Shielling in October 2017 and really enjoyed the place. We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 children of 4 and 6). The property is very clean, well maintained and very well equipped with everything you need. The atmosphere in the house is very comfy and warm. There are games for children in the house and also outside in the lawn above the house. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house and views were stunning. Moira, and her huband were both very welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Shieling and exploring the area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“breathtaking views from the house.”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

warm, comfortable,stunning views, owner very helpful, close to St Andrews & Dundee plenty to do and shopping.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
1 review
“Stunning house with the most amazing view”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Shieling is an idyllic house with the most amazing view. We arrived late afternoon and were blown away firstly with the panoramic view and then with the interior of the house which was beautifully appointed with everything you could possibly need. My husband and I were on holiday with my brother and his wife and we were visiting local villages where my grandparents had lived and where we had holidayed as children. The surrounding countryside is beautiful & St Andrews is a must for a visit. We also had lunch at Alibob at Cairn O Mohr-Errol - a quirky place well worth a visit. Also, pick up fresh fruit from the many fruit farms in the area. All in all we had a fantastic time and always looked forward to getting back to The Shieling at the end of the day. Thanks too to Moira who gave us a lovely welcome along with some delicious strawberry tarts! We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Melissa...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, beautiful lodge”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The sheiling is a beautiful place to stay, with views to take your breath away. If you would like a tranquil peaceful place to stay you should absolutely come here. You will receive a very warm welcome from Moira, who is a wonderful host.

The lodge is approximately a 15 mins drive from st. Andrews, which has amazing coastal walks, and history to enjoy, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in st. Andrews to enjoy a delicious meal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwihecke...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Outstanding accommodation”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

When we arrived Moira greeted us warmly; she was friendly, generous, helpful and available if we needed anything. The Shieling is a relatively new house with every modern amenity. Every appliance in the modern kitchen works well; the leather sofas in the large lounge were very comfortable, wifi was fast, house is heated, plenty of hot water, beds were comfortable, washer and dryer work well, and every room is extremely clean. The view out the large windows is spectacular and it's only a 20 minute ride to St Andrews links. We thought it was excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne_dere...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“5 star all the way.”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

From the views, the space, the interior design, the friendliness, the wild life, the peace and serenity of the cottage made our stay perfect. 4 days was far too short.

Moira and Bob are a very special couple who keep the whole of the cottage and their grounds perfect. Their extra thoughtful touches and attention to detail were very much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing