We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wedding party extravaganza”
Super king with dressing room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Super king with dressing room
Luxury Hydro Spa private for guests at The Roundel Hydro Spa for residents of The Roundel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Super king with dressing room
Luxury Hydro Spa private for guests at The Roundel
Hydro Spa for residents of The Roundel
Luxurious living
Luxurious living
Stunning dinning
Spacious living room on the 1st floor
Cosy comforts with views of the River Forth
Modern living space
Scottish interior
Luxurious living
Luxurious living
Modern high spec kitchen
Luxurious kitchen
Exceptionally equipped kitchen
Super king master bedroom
King or twin bed configuration
Superior king room with dressing room
Dressing room
Super king with dressing room
Scottish interiors
Luxury super king room
Superior King bedroom
Super king bedroom
King or twin bed configuration
En suite shower with each bedroom
Modern stylish interior
Make yourself at home
Stunning design
Luxury toiletries
Sunny exterior
Exterior Hawkswood Country Estate
Aerial shot Hawkswood Country Estate and driving range
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter b
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding party extravaganza”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stayed here with my wedding party for a few days before and after my wedding...this venue is absolutely perfect, and the hosts could not have done more to help us out.

Everybody commented at the time, and have continued to comment, about how much they loved it - I didn't give too much away beforehand about what they should expect, so they had a really nice surprise!

The golfing facilities are great, as are the thermal spas.

We had a party the day after our wedding, and the owners were more than happy for us to arrange for a caterer to come along and cook up a hog roast - there was loads of room for everybody, and even the visitors who were not staying the night have continued to rave about their visit, even now, a couple of weeks later.

The owners also have a big dog, who is very friendly and who we were disappointed only to really discover as we were leaving!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Wonderful to have your party stay with us and continue your Wedding celebrations. Hope we can welcome you all back for your 1st Year Anniversary.
The Family and Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutmong...
Cedar City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Part of the HAWKSWOOD house facility and fabulous”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We came to play golf at the Old Course and many of the other great courses in the area. Great place to relax and prepare for the onslaught of great golf and hard walking for multiple days. Great Hot Tub, fabulous kitchen and comfortable beds.... this is a great spot! Thanks John!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to have you say in our property and hope we can welcome you again in the future. Tell all your friends to visit us too!
The Family and Management.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilisa123
Queens, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect stay during visit to St. Andrews, Scotland -- a dream!”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Everything about the Hawkswood House property/The Roundel was exquisite. The property is fabulous and classic, the rooms are all in wonderful condition and have a 5-star interior design element that is sure to impress even the snobbiest of design snobs! Disclaimer- the home makes it tempting to just stay put and enjoy the house instead of neighboring towns like St Andrews, etc. ;)

Came as a group of 9 (including golfers) who all had a great time and caught up on rest/peace & tranquility in this country home. Will definitely be back again.. will have to find another excuse to travel to St. Andrews, Scotland just to stay at the Hawkswood House properties and create even more memories :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
The Family & Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious Weekend”
Reviewed April 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our first trip to the Roundel after two wonderful stays at Hawkswood House .

We were all extremely impressed with another stunning property for a lovely luxurious weekend in five star . It was our first girlie trip and what can I say it really is a five star property . The girls were all very impressed .

The house is that spacious and has lots of recreational areas that even at full capacity of ten guests there is more than enough room for everyone . The Roundel itself provides a beautiful room for dinner , drinks , partying or relaxing .

The bedrooms are all stunning and the two downstairs bedrooms boasting dressing rooms which went down a treat with the girls .

The lovely additional touches of the robes and slippers meant we felt like we were at our own luxurious spa retreat .

Mary-Jo has thought of everything with so many lovely little touches. We cannot wait to return soon . Thank you for a lovely stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and it has been a pleasure you staying with us this time at the Roundel. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
The Family and Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leandy
falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality luxury converted mill”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Within a 10 minute drive of St Andrews in a glorious country side location. Fabulous for families, groups of friends or that central location for keen golfers, simply oozes character and quality.
We stayed as 5 couples and loved the house, great for entertaining and accessing the local area. Each bedroom is superb as they can be arranged as either twins of very large king beds, with all having en-suite shower rooms. The large round dining-room is huge and great for entertaining with top quality TV, surround sound and large fridge for wine/beer to be stored in.
The furniture throughout is excellent quality and all very well co-ordinated and modern. All kitchen appliances are top range and all worked superbly, 2 large fridges with an ice machine and a well equipped utility with washing machine and dryer, top notch.
Towels, linen, pots and pans, every piece of crockery and utensils were spot on with everything in excellent condition.
The very large Hot Tub was big enough for all 10 of us use at the same time and again the gardens and shelter for the tub were perfect, Hot Tub is very well thought out and located in a nicely lit area adjacent to a large BQ and seating patio.
We cannot speak highly enough about The Roundel and Hawkswood House and we would highly recommend either property to anyone. We have already re-booked for 2018 as we loved it so much.
The owners have done a great job with the house and you get a good friendly feeling when you arrive and drive into the large car parking area.
The Roundel felt like a home from home and the passion the owners have for this house is passed over to you as you immediately treat and respect the quality of your surroundings and the house as if it belonged to you.
There are 2 mini buses for use if booked in advance which the owners provide, the vehicles looked top of the range and again of a quality that matched the house.
The outdoor facilities are superb, with a short golf game green, bunkers and mats with some golf clubs and balls available to use. The owners have started on the driving range to the rear of the property which is expected to be for specific use only of guests.

Overall we could not see or say anything negative about The Roundel or Hawkswood House, well priced, great location, very clean, excellent appliances, everything is quality and the owners top it all as they are so engaged at all levels in the delivery of service and making the experience of staying here as good as gets. Five stars, more like Six as the attention to detail is fab.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you for such a resounding review it is wonderful to read and see all our hard efforts and attention to detail appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018.
The Family and Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia-Be...
Appley Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I recently stayed for the week with my husband and we were absolutely blown away by how amazing the place is! Inside, all of the rooms were gorgeous and we couldn't believe how much space we had, the furnishing and decor of each and every room was beautiful and super clean and tidy.

It was the best place to enjoy a week away together, especially with the hot tub, which was a great addition to an already wonderful relaxing place, five stars really doesn't do this place justice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
The Family and Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camcait42...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing again”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Between the 10th and the 12th of March My wife and I, along with a group of friends, we were 9 in all, made the trip to the Roundel for the second time. We stayed in Hawkswood House, the main building around the same time last year.
This property presents itself as 5* and charges accordingly. £500 + (now £600+ per night. And how does it fare???
Call me old fashioned but, at this price, and remember for us, the £500+ per night is for the house only, I expect the place to be perfect, and it is. The house is. It is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, I looked, and just ready for a fantastic weekend. In the beautiful and well equipped kitchen there is an AGA or rather a Rayburn cooker. My pals tried for a while to get the Rayburn to work, to no avail. They then asked me to try it. I tried for a while to use my intuition and then download the instructions. Nothing would get this thing to work.
My colleagues were told by the owners, the following day, "Ah yes, it doesn't work, we are awaiting a spare part". A simple note, on the cooker, would have saved the disappointment and a waste of our time.
I mistake like this I could have seen past, even though, I feel, this points to a poor attitude on the part of the owners, or their daughter, who runs the place.
But ....
We stayed, as said, in the main building last year. It was around the same time of year, a Scottish Winter.
Our room was freezing. We called the manager (daughter) on the mobile and she brought across a small fan heater to heat up the room. This could not be left on, for health and safety reasons, and was very noisy while we were in the room. I asked the manager if she was calling an emergency plumber. She did not and told me that she couldn't get a hold of one on a Saturday. She sure could but did not want to pay for one. Would I return here? Not likely. I could live with the high cost but, at these prices I don't expect any disappointments or mistakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
Thank you for your feedback as other members of this party we have received excellent 5* reviews so if we did not meet your expectations then we are keen to know about this.
We as a family try very hard to ensure we meet all the expectations of our guests and are disappointed to read your review.
If we can address the point regarding the two houses which you refer to firstly to avoid confusion. We opened Hawkswood House in July 2014 and following the immense success of the property we opened our second sister property, The Roundel in March 2016. The family are very committed to continuing to develop on our wonderful facilities and hence investing into a 2ndshort game golf area for The Roundel and a private driving range for both Houses. Our pricing very much reflects the high end premium quality facilities we offer which is why we were awarded 5* by VisitScotland.
We are very disappointed when equipment in the House does not work or guests have issues with working if not familiar with such appliances. This is why Mary-Jo the Executive General Manager is on call 24-7 and her mobile is readily available and also the Owners live in the property directly opposite. As such this ensures any questions are actioned and addressed immediately. We were not informed of your problem until the following day. We have taken on board regarding the Rayburn, it should have had a notice that it was not working as our engineer was waiting for a part to be delivered and it is working perfectly now.
Every response is personal to the family and we receive 5 *reviews from many guests and as I said we received such high accolades from some of your party but sorry we did not achieve this in your opinion. All feedback is taken on board by the family who are both passionate and dedicated to offering a 5* product.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing