We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Smart, stylish and comfortable with very good service and an excellent breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring Glasgow. I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for your review and of course a fabulous top rating of 5!

We are delighted that you would definitely like to stay at the Grand Central again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,468 - 3,474 of 3,994 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Central Hotel in August of 2011. It is located right next to the station but is easily reached by car. We parked for a reasonable price just a block away. When entering the hotel, you get an "old Hollywood" feeling. The hallways are wide, the ceilings high, and the staircases are grand. The rooms are equally spacious (especially for the UK) and very modern. I could have had a party in my bathroom. The location is also very central and most areas of interest are within walking distance. The customer service is also excellent. We had ordered a coat in Edinburgh which was not ready in time and they agreed to ship it to the Grand Central so that we could collect it at the end of our trip. We were a bit worried that it would get lost in the shuffle but the moment we arrived and gave the concierge our name, they informed us that a package was waiting for us in a secure room and sent someone to retrieve it. The price also can't be beat, I was able to get a room with a King bed for $100/night through an online special.Overall, this was a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Many thanks for your review and top rating of 5!

I am delighted that had a 'great hotel experience' with us here at the Grand Central, and I appreciate your feedback on the high standard of service and comfort offered through out the hotel; your comments are very encouraging to all of the team, thank you!

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Glasgow and indeed our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow and have almost nothing but good reports.

Our room (425) was unfortunately situated just outside the lifts and stairwell, this meant we were disturbed more than once during the night with loud guests coming out the lift.

The room itself was spotless, very comfortable with bath robes and slippers. The bathroom was massive for a standard room and very fresh, clean and well-stocked.

The room had a LCD TV with freeview.

The staff in the restraunt were excellent, both the manager and chef were friendly. The reception staff weren't quite as friendly.

The breakfast offering was vast with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crmpicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

I am glad that overall you have good reports further to your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Central Hotel.

It is great to read that you were very impressed with your room, we feel our bedrooms and en suites have great character as they do vary in shape and size, this is due to the nature of this grand listed building.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife booked this hotel as her best friend was staying in Glasgow for her 40th. Hotel itself was absolutely gorgeous & I have no complaints about anythingwithin the hotel. We booked one of the suites overlooking the entrance to the station - big mistake! The noise was unbelievable, taxis, shouting public, fights, police cars - everything you would not expect for such a top notch hotel. I understand that due to the age of the hotel there will be building restrictions such as no double glazing etc but the noise was horrendous. Those who face the inner rooms did not suffer - we definitely did. Lesson learned is make sure your room does not face out on to the main roads!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing away from the road or you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am disappointed that you experienced high noise levels from your allocated room, due to our central location external noise levels, usually at weekends, can be expected however we do have many rooms that do not overlook the bustling City Centre streets and our reservations team are always willing to assist with any special requests where possible.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great location in the centre of the city, although a bit difficult to get to by car because of the one way system, but parking nearby was handy and cheap (£8 for 2 nights). Room ok but a bit on the small side. Food very good, and breakfasts very very good. Staff exceptionally helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your review, I especially appreciate your wonderful feedback on our staff being exceptionally helpful and cheerful; our Executive Head Chef and his team will also be encouraged by your comments on the very good standard of food offered.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here on business in January 2012, having stayed here before and enjoyed it.

There is 30 minutes free wifi on offer, and all rooms are well appointed with lovely high ceilings.
The champagne bar was excellent, and had a great atmosphere on a Friday night with good service. Breakfast was buffet style and very good.

Only niggle with this place as that they tannoy system from Central station can wake you up early, and there are pubs underneath some rooms in the hotel. So when booking as for a quiet room and they will accomodate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

I am glad that you chose to stay with us again!

Thank you for your helpful feedback and for taking the time to review the Grand Central, I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights bed and fantastic breakfast. Staff could not do enough to help. Interconnecting rooms with children were ideal.Great location for all Glasgow has to offer.

Thank Adrianwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for your great review, positive comments and rating of 5!

We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Grand Central very soon, a very warm welcome will await you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,348 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 93 in Glasgow
1,051 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,834 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
5,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $124 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing