We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #38 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights. We travelled by rail so this was the perfect location for all our needs. Everything we wanted was within walking distance, eg shops, cafes, restaurants, and the Royal Concert Hall. We will stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khodgson1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and for your top rating of 5!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we will be able to welcome you back again in the future; a very warm welcome awaits you and your wife upon your return.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    1,220
    536
    195
    125
See reviews for
366
1,582
156
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is full of character and is not the usual run of the mill chain hotel.
The beautiful wide staircase and panelled walls bring you back to another era and the atmospheric photographs of times past and the famous people who stayed in the hotel are lovely.
The hotel has very very long corridors where the rooms are situated so if you have any problems walking you should request a room near the lift.
The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of fresh fruit, cereals, cooked breakfasts and a friendly chef to look after you.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming.
There is a nice bar and lounge area where you can sit and have coffee or drinks and it overlooks the train station which is interesting in itself.
The down side for us was that the room we got on the fourth floor was overlooking the train station roof and the noise from the hundreds of seagulls perched on it during the night was pretty bad. The seagulls are attracted to the warmth and the light shining through the glass roof. The windows are not double glazed so that didn't help. We asked for a different room the next day and that was no problem and I must say we were well looked after.
The hotel is very well located and you can walk to all the shops from here.
All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double glazing as the single glazed rooms are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review further to your recent stay with us.

It's pleasing to read that you had a good experience with us here at the Grand Central; disappointing that you were disturbed by seagull noise initially although I am pleased to hear that our team were able to assist with the matter efficiently.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This recently renovated hotel is centrally located in Glasgow. The service was superb--especially the concierge. They attended to all our needs. The accommodations were more than adequate. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the front street on a weekend. There may be noise when the bars let out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Top rating of 5 and a great review - Thank you!

It is rewarding to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you received superb customer service from the Grand Central team.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had my first stay at this hotel in Glasgow this week. Very impressed with the well trained polite and helpful staff. The hotel was spotless and I was pleasantly surprised at the room. It was warm, quiet (I always ask for a quiet room ) and comfortable. Everything in the room was new and fresh and I had free wifi access which was important for me being on business. The bathroom was huge and so clean I liked the non slip bath mat touch. I good addition for older folk not. I had several meetings that day in the lounge and out of the hotel. The service was good and I left my bags with the concierge who let me go back and forth to collect papers and Ipad without a quibble. (nice chaps) The front desk chaps were helpful with directions and information and the waiting staff were lovely. It took me seconds to walk to my train and I mean seconds! It was an ideal location for my city centre meetings both formal and informal.
I booked through late rooms so got this at a fraction of the normal cost. It was well worth the visit and I will be returning here again. Would recommend to others for business of pleasure. Well done to the management team here a good well run establishment. Made my business trip much more enjoyable. Thank-you

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinsG636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review and top rating of 5!

It sounds like you booked on our business traveller package with full Scottish breakfast, free wi-fi and a glass of champagne in Champagne Central which teamed up with our unbeatable location and passion to deliver great customer service we believe this makes the Grand Central ideal for guests like yourself travelling on business.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April as part of a holiday. The hotel is very well situated, we got the 500 bus from the airport for £7.50 return which worked really well. It's right in the centre of the city, near the shops and a lot of the major sights. Also, some really nice restaurants nearby, would recommend The Grill on the Corner particularly. The hotel has been very well reburbished, the room was average size but very comfortable with a huge bathroom. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The heating was slightly random, no numbers on the dial so you had no idea how hot or cold it was and no air con but then you don't really need it! You can hear noise from the road but as you're right in the centre it's only what you'd expect and isn't excessive by any means. All in all a great hotel, wouldn't hesitate before booking here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleetAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at the Grand Central Hotel during your holiday.

Our central location is certainly a main advantage for us, with a fantastic selection of shops, bars and restaurants and excellent transport links on our doorstep!

It's great that you would not hesitate to stay with us again in the future, a warm welcome awaits you.

Kind regards,
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed over for a night with a friend, huge room, high ceilings, modern ensuite, lovely modern decor, comfortable beds, grand staircase, friendly helpful staff, pleasant champagne bar and as part of Central Station very easy access to secc, 12 mins from band leaving the stage to drinks in the bar!! A very enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank emldundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champagnecentral, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your great review and positive feedback.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst in Glasgow for business.
The building is attractive and elegant and public areas are well proportioned. I enjoyed using the grand staircase rather than the lifts!
The champagne bar overlooks the station, which is fun to watch whilst sipping a chilled glass.
My room was very spacious, attractively and stylishly decorated and included a nice deep safe, coffee and tea making facilities, power sockets by the bed and a full length mirror plus power point by the door, opposite the bathroom.
The shower was powerful and I enjoyed a very hot shower late at night, but my colleague who chose to shower at 4.00 in the morning said that the water was a bit cool.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was attractive and served excellent food.
My only criticisms are that the blinds on the window didn't blot out the street light very well as there were large gaps down the sides of each blind. I didn't mind it too much, but if you need dark to sleep this would be really annoying. I do wonder if you could see in from the opposite building though!
I was also taken aback by the cost of the coffee in the dining room - £8 from memory. That is taking the proverbial.
I would definitely stay again, but won't be having coffee after dinner next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Carlton George Hotel
#18 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing