We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel provided everything required - somewhere to lay my head and breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately it didn't do anything further to make the stay stand out.
There is no parking at the hotel and for a two night stay we ended up spending 12 pounds on parking in an open air car park down the road.
The rooms were comfortable and large as far as hotel rooms go - the shower was amazing with great heat and pressure which you don't always get in a hotel.
The hotel is well based in the city - a short walk to Buchanan Street which is great for a little retail therapy. It is also close to many nice restaurants for dinner.
Breakfast is a little less than average but you cant really complain when it is included in he price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    492
    177
    55
    20
See reviews for
243
421
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. Met the usual Hol Inn Express standards of basic clean rooms & breakfast included in the price. Breakfast is buffet style with a few hot items (sausages, eggs & beans), pastries, yoghurt, fruit, cereal.

The room & bathroom were well presented. Choice of firm & soft pillows which we liked. The heating unit is not the best at heating the room, as it's noisy when on & turns itself off after awhile. Our room was on the main road side of the hotel, so we did experience a bit of noise. The worst part was being right next to the lift, and hearing it every single time it was used, including in the small hours. There was only one lift working during our stay which unfortunately was the one next to our room! There was also noise from drunken guests as most guests had to walk past our room & we even had one guest knocking on our door by mistake.

I do feel we were unlucky in the location of our room, as oppose to the hotel itself. I would happily stay here again, but would request a room on the back side & away from the lifts. The staff were friendly & helpful, and the location was ideal for the train station and nights out.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the main road & lifts for a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkButterflyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This review is long overdue but 9 months later and I still can't forget my great experience at this hotel. We stayed for 5 days in June and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, this hotel delivered the great service I expect from HI.

We arrived at the hotel at 6 am from a transatlantic flight and, having walked (and getting a bit lost) from Queen St. station pulling our luggage, we were very exhausted. Ian at the front desk greeted us with a warm smile on his face and it was the perfect start to our month-long trip around the UK and Ireland. Miraculously our rooms were ready and Ian checked us in swiftly and smoothly. He even took my father's paranoid phone call in stride and mentioned it to me in a joking manner that made the situation less embarassing.

Ian's great service continued throughout our stay. Even when we were rushing out of the hotel at 4 or 5 am on some days trying to catch our train, he always had a smile and a greeting for us. I think the fact that I remember his name even though 9 months has passed speaks volumes about how awesome he was. The rest of the staff at the front desk were great as well, printing us maps and giving us directions for places in the city whenever we needed it.

The breakfast was great. I really liked the variety in drinks. The rooms were clean. They were 2 of us but I didn't feel that the room was too small.

The location can't be beat. Steps away from Argyle St. shopping and an easy walk to George Square. About 10-15 min walk to Queen St. station and Glasgow Central station - both of which will take you pretty much anywhere you need to go. While staying in this hotel we went all the way up to Inverness and even Mallaig, all the way down to London, and explored most of central Glasgow from the Kelvingrove and the SECC to St. Mungo's and the Necropolis and Glasgow Green and everything in between. We never once had to use a cab. This place is very easy to get to while surprisingly being on a quieter street.

The only complaint I had would be the lack of free wi-fi in the room but since it's free in the lobby, it's not that big of a deal. The fire alarm did go off on our last night which reduced my 2 hour sleep down to a 45 min nap (we had to catch a very early train). But these things can't be controlled and I thought the staff handled it pretty well considering it was around 1 or 2 am.

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. You can't go wrong in choosing this as the place to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadWriteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Comfortable stay. plenty of restaurants to eat locallybreakfast was very busy and unable to cope with the amount of folk

Helpful?
Thank babycatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past year and have always enjoyed my stay. the location is ideal as its right in the city so its easy to get to from all train stations e.t.c.and great for a night out in glasgow or a day hitting the shops.
The staff are always friendly and polite and always someone around if you need anything.
The rooms are basic but clean and the beds are very comfy.
the breakfast again is basic but is good enough to start your day with and its free.
Overall this hotel ticks all the right boxes and my husband and i will absolutely be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel for several reasons. Standard of room was poor and basic (not reflected in the price we paid), could have benefited from refurbishment (carpet especially). Found item under bed which did not belong to us! Difficult to control heating in room, no happy medium, either too hot or too cold. Light not working, which staff could not fix. Leaking tap in bathroom and no hot water on our second morning. Difficult to get free WiFi as advertised, seems to be only available in reception area. Breakfast on first morning was shambolic to say the least. Breakfasting area was very small for the amount of guests. We struggled to get a free table to sit at. No appropriate cutlery or crockery was available, ended up eating cereal with teaspoon. Coffee machine was not working, producing something that looked like dirty water. NOT GOOD. Staff although polite did not seem unduly concerned about the chaos. On second morning breakfast was less busy but could not offer full choice of hot breakfast. On the up side this hotel was quiet during the night and bed was fairly comfortable. Hotel is located in city centre and ideal for exploring Glasgow attractions and shops. However despite staying at Holiday Inn establishments in the past I would not consider this again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdthemanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

NO HEATING! Ignored by the manager! Dirty room! 2 Coat hangers for " adults on a 3 night stay! NO FREE WIFI even though advertised! Its free in the foyer if you can find it I couldnt!
I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN!!! I am claiming my money back as I write this and before you think I am a nutter I love the HIE Swindon it is perfect and makes HIE Riverside look like some cheap and dirty flo house from 1980(check TV and facilities)

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmexpressglasgow, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review of the hotel here on Trip advisor. I am disappointed to hear that you experiences issues during your recent stay with us, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. Due to the recent freezing temperatures in Glasgow we have had our comfort cooling system checked each week by engineers in order to keep on top of any issues that we may have regarding the heating. No issues where reported or found during your stay with us. We can also provide extra blankets and portable heaters for guests who require additional heating.

As we clearly state on all websites we provide free wifi in public areas and wifi is chargeable in guest bedrooms. Again no issues where reported with the wifi. If customers have difficulty logging on then we have a free 24 hour support number where we can call the providers directly to help with any issues.

The televisions in our bedrooms are in full working order with free view and additional pay to view movies. We are due for an upgrade of our televisions at the end of 2012, when we will replace the current models with 32" flat screen televisions. Some other hotels within our group already have had these installed. Unfortunately we are on a roll out programme and we will not receive ours until later this year.

Again I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Best Regards


Charlene Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
3,423 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#25 of 93 in Glasgow
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing