We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,099)
Filter reviews
2,099 results
Traveller rating
1,236
588
175
56
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,236
588
175
56
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barthe executive loungewindows restaurantrooftop restaurantgin and vodkatartan slipperswaxy o'connorsclub roomcomplimentary drinkscrystal decantersgeorge squarequeen street stationtop floorcrispstrain stationthe air conditioningsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 2,099 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2017

A truly enjoyable stay. Friendly and competent staff, spacious clean rooms, excellent value. Location is perfect, right near restaurants and shopping. Literally steps to Queen Street station which we used for our trip to Edinburgh. Free minibar is wonderful, includes water, beer, wine, juices, plus whisky, gin, and vodka. Who else does that? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjm-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Dear bjm-7. Thank you for the really nice review. I am so pleased your stay with us was such a good one and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel. This is a little gem in the hart of Glasgow. Very boutique and quaint property. Close to all amenities including George Square all the shops and restaurants on route.
Clean , housekeeping good & prompt . Staff so helpful and friendly!! ❤️❤️
The only hick-up was the one lift was down and never got fixed my whole stay . This was a bit of a imposition at times specially during peak hours with guests coming & going .. but all good in the end ...❤️❤️❤️loved it . And will book again!!!! Cheers!!!
Happy travels my friends..

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anthonyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear Anthonyn P. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad you had a good time and I am really sorry about the lift - not good that your stay was a positive one but the lift has lost us some points. Unfortunately we rely in contractors to make these repairs and often parts need to be ordered which was the case and caused delay in the repair. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

An excellent hotel in the heart of the George Square area. Close to transit stops, main shopping thoroughfare, restaurants, and pubs.

I paid extra for the Executive Lounge access and unlimited mini-bar options, both of which offered more than the money's worth.

Next time, I hope to try the in-hotel restaurant, as I heard raves about it from the diners.

An excellent experience all around.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ABobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear ABobk. Thank you for the excellent review. It is great to read you had such a good experience with us. Our location for sure is very hard to beat as it the great value Executive and Club Rooms. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

I received an overnight stay here as a birthday present and what a present it was. The room was spotless the bed very comfy and the free mini bar great.then you have access to the executive lounge. Well what can I say brilliant lovely room with snacks tea and coffee all free then come 5pm free alcohol. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lindyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear lindyScotland. Thank you for giving us such a great review. I am thrilled you had a good time with us during your birthday celebrations. I hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2017

Stayed here with friends for a short Christmas break and we were very impressed. Although we got there slightly earlier than the designated check in time, one of our rooms was ready so we dumped our bags and went into the executive lounge for a coffee and nibbles. This is a lovely lounge on the 7th floor. It's cosy with a real fire and comfy armchairs. Very relaxing. Nibbles are provided and soft drinks available during the day, but at 5pm till 10.45pm you can get alcoholic drinks. This is a real bonus and if you can possibly afford to get a room with lounge access, it's well worth it!
Our bedroom also has a free mini bar with soft drinks, water, beers and wines plus biscuits and crisps. There is also a coffee making machine and a kettle in the room with complimentary teas, coffees and hot chocolate. And aswell as this, there are 3 glass decanters, one filled with whisky, one with gin and one with vodka, and these are also available to you free of charge. How good is that???
The location of this hotel is also superb. It's next door to Waxy O'connors pub and you can get in to this pub via the hotel, but there is also loads of other pubs and restaurants practically on the door step. There's 2 Wetherspoons within a minute's walk. There's Greek, Italian and English restaurants within a minute's walk. And George Square is just a stone's throw away. You're also on the doorstep of the shopping areas. Amazing! What more could you want?

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear elainematty. Thank you for the superb review. I am so pleased your stay with us was such a good one. Great to hear you had a good experience with us. I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews