We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton George Hotel
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed a night prior to flying out if Glasgow Airport. Hotel is very central, bus stop for the airport less than a minutes walk away. Staff were very friendly and helpful particularly in the executive lounge which we had pre booked as part of our room deal. Will certainly use again for trips via Glasgow.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SteveKathBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear SteveKathBla. Thank you for the really good review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us. A special thanks for the nice comments regarding the team. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

A truly enjoyable stay. Friendly and competent staff, spacious clean rooms, excellent value. Location is perfect, right near restaurants and shopping. Literally steps to Queen Street station which we used for our trip to Edinburgh. Free minibar is wonderful, includes water, beer, wine, juices, plus whisky, gin, and vodka. Who else does that? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjm-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear bjm-7. Thank you for the really nice review. I am so pleased your stay with us was such a good one and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel. This is a little gem in the hart of Glasgow. Very boutique and quaint property. Close to all amenities including George Square all the shops and restaurants on route.
Clean , housekeeping good & prompt . Staff so helpful and friendly!! ❤️❤️
The only hick-up was the one lift was down and never got fixed my whole stay . This was a bit of a imposition at times specially during peak hours with guests coming & going .. but all good in the end ...❤️❤️❤️loved it . And will book again!!!! Cheers!!!
Happy travels my friends..


Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anthonyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Anthonyn P. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad you had a good time and I am really sorry about the lift - not good that your stay was a positive one but the lift has lost us some points. Unfortunately we rely in contractors to make these repairs and often parts need to be ordered which was the case and caused delay in the repair. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

An excellent hotel in the heart of the George Square area. Close to transit stops, main shopping thoroughfare, restaurants, and pubs.

I paid extra for the Executive Lounge access and unlimited mini-bar options, both of which offered more than the money's worth.

Next time, I hope to try the in-hotel restaurant, as I heard raves about it from the diners.

An excellent experience all around.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ABobK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear ABobk. Thank you for the excellent review. It is great to read you had such a good experience with us. Our location for sure is very hard to beat as it the great value Executive and Club Rooms. Hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

I received an overnight stay here as a birthday present and what a present it was. The room was spotless the bed very comfy and the free mini bar great.then you have access to the executive lounge. Well what can I say brilliant lovely room with snacks tea and coffee all free then come 5pm free alcohol. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lindyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear lindyScotland. Thank you for giving us such a great review. I am thrilled you had a good time with us during your birthday celebrations. I hope we see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Stayed here with friends for a short Christmas break and we were very impressed. Although we got there slightly earlier than the designated check in time, one of our rooms was ready so we dumped our bags and went into the executive lounge for a coffee and nibbles. This is a lovely lounge on the 7th floor. It's cosy with a real fire and comfy armchairs. Very relaxing. Nibbles are provided and soft drinks available during the day, but at 5pm till 10.45pm you can get alcoholic drinks. This is a real bonus and if you can possibly afford to get a room with lounge access, it's well worth it!
Our bedroom also has a free mini bar with soft drinks, water, beers and wines plus biscuits and crisps. There is also a coffee making machine and a kettle in the room with complimentary teas, coffees and hot chocolate. And aswell as this, there are 3 glass decanters, one filled with whisky, one with gin and one with vodka, and these are also available to you free of charge. How good is that???
The location of this hotel is also superb. It's next door to Waxy O'connors pub and you can get in to this pub via the hotel, but there is also loads of other pubs and restaurants practically on the door step. There's 2 Wetherspoons within a minute's walk. There's Greek, Italian and English restaurants within a minute's walk. And George Square is just a stone's throw away. You're also on the doorstep of the shopping areas. Amazing! What more could you want?

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear elainematty. Thank you for the superb review. I am so pleased your stay with us was such a good one. Great to hear you had a good experience with us. I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for one night it was ideal for us in a great location in the centre of town. The hotel is lovely and staff very pleasant and helpful, our room was nice and the complimentary mini bar a nice touch and was well stocked. We had access to the club lounge which I'd definitely recommend, it is more expensive but for a nice relaxed night helping yourself to a wide selection of drinks in what seems like the comfort of your own home I'd say it was well worth it. Overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear William A. Thank you for giving us such a great review. It is so good to hear that you had such a good time with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the team. Kind regards Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,139 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
933 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,102 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,397 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $141 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing