We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 25 April 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this lovely wee hotel last week, and could not have wished for a nicer place to stay. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay nicer ( the chef even carried our bags upstairs to the top floor and would not even let us buy him a beer for this!) The bar had a great atmosphere and the food was outstanding! Thankyou to the ahrd working staff for making the 2 Aussie girls stay that little bit more enjoyable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Recommend room 7 ( if you can handle the stairs) or room 4, both overlook the Cathedral and Necropol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

a friendly homely hotel, the reception is in the bar, handy for me. the rooms are not the usual chain of hotels some can be quite small, but looking out the window you see some of the oldest parts of Glasgow even the dead center (the necropolis). It is really handy for the cathedral,the oldest house in the city and the museum of religion, the city center is a 10 to 15 minute walk away
being a small hotel the staff could not have been nicer. One thing to be beware of is the spiral stairs. There is ghost which is suppose to haunt the hotel but the only spirit we saw was behind the bar. ps we had just come from my sons wedding across the road and would not minded anyway

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bankie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Small traditional hotel 10mins walk from city centre. Excellent views of the cathedral. Lots of traditional decor although in need of TLC. Due to old building, quite noisy at night. Fab Scottish breakfast made to order! Staff very attentive. Overall a very canny stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peleTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stay near by but walked past the hotel many times before popping in for lunch one day. Now often visit for some drinks and food. It is alway clean. Friendly staff meet you on arrival without harassing you. Relaxed atmosphere. Not a student party venue. Nice small outside area weather permitting. Would recommend for tourists and those looking for local pub atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

cathedral house hotel is a victorian scottish baronial style building right in the middle of glasgows most historic quarter, next to religious life museum, lord provosts house (oldest house in glasgow) and opposite glasgow cathedral and the necropolis. downstairs theres a bar/restaurant and the rooms are on the top 2 floors, the stairs leading to the rooms has been recently painted and carpeted when you get to the guest floors. the windows could have done with a clean and the extractor fan in the bathroom was loud (best to use the small mirror light if going to the bathroom at night) but apart from those minor things we enjoyed our stay. breakfast was very enjoyable too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I didnt plan to write a review on here, but unfortunatly after e.mailing the hotel twice and getting no reply i thought i would. The deal itself was cheap and something different. We enjoyed the walk and stories. We went back to the hotel and sat at a table for 6, all very awkward sitting having a meal with strangers, but this was acceptable as everyone started chatting. The menu looked ok, service was slow and the staff worked hard. The food itself was very dissapointing, and the portions were small. I had the pate which was watery, my partner had haggis which he said was nice though too small. The main course was cold, we both had the chicken dish..the tinned spagetti was bad. I tasted my chicken and the texture was wrong, it was difficult to see due to the candlelight but when i looked closer i noted my chicken was raw and very pink. I was embarraced at having to send back a meal whilst sitting with strangers. The young waiter took it back, apologised for the chef and offered a free drink or pudding, i opted for the drink. Its a shame because the idea itself was great, i understand the hotel would not have made a profit from this exercise, but quality and safety should come first . I would have been happy with a burger. A lovely hotel and area, but unfortunatly left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jak_67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i must emphasise we did not stay at the hotel - i just ate in the restaurant. with 2 friends and my husband. we had booked for a 'deal' of a saturday evening ghost walk around the necropolis followed by a three course meal.

because we all arrived at the same time (about 40 of us), it was a bit chaotic and very, very slow service. we sympathised with the harassed staff tho' (there were so few of them) and were patient.

as we ate, the noise and heat level rose exponentially, and it did become more of an endurance test as the night went on. one woman at a table near us had brought her own wine in her bag, and was sneaking extra drinks from it, becoming ever shriller and screechier as time passed.

for starters we all had the haggis bites with whisky cream sauce. they were peppery and tasty, and the combination with the sauce was good. however, there were three tiny bites and a teeny salad. my husband loves haggis, and he said he had had far better in many other restaurants.

next my husband had penne arrabiata he described as 'ordinary pub food' and the rest of us chose arbroath smokie fishcakes - served with another teeny salad. they were mostly made of potato, and had none of that special richness we had hoped for.
however, we were so hungry by then i must admit we would have eaten a scabby dug and despite any proper accompaniements, they filled a gap.

when we ordered desserts, we had another long wait. we waited, and waited, until we noticed people paying bills and leaving. we enquired what had happened, and the waiter said someone misread his handwriting and they had gone to table two. the people there scoffed them. and probably didn't pay for them . . . maybe it was the woman with her own wine supply who polished them all off.

the chef took it on the chin and took his coat off again, and we did get some desserts of sticky toffee pud, apple pie and chocalte brownie. they too were all OK, but nothing special.

we then wearily paid the bill, which took further ages to sort out as the waiter who had admitted no-one can read his writing also admitted he couldn't add up. we think it was all right in the end, but by now were too tired to pursue any finer points. the waiters looked even tireder than we felt, as they had been run off their feet all night.

the whole experience was an unpleasant surprise as it in no way lived up to what we had expected from rave reviews. we have also read others' reviews from that night and we can't understand why people are so positive: did they get served faster? did they have different food? are they immune to heat and a noise level of 100 decibels? maybe the drunken woman wrote them all.

it's such a pity as otherwise we would have returned to try the restarant on a less hectic occasion, but we are now too wary to try again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#23 of 93 in Glasgow
1,049 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,176 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $114 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing