We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$105
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
US$154
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kelvin Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$214
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
96
85
44
29
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
85
44
29
39
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 293 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here one weekday night and was very impressed. It is small, characterful and in a very quiet location directly opposite Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. I had booked a single room but was given an enormous double room, with a great prospect of the Cathedral (and all the cherry blossom in full bloom) through its three big windows, a big flat-screen TV and a chaise lounge for good measure. It had decent bedside lamps so I could even read in bed, bliss. It was clean, comfortable and I had a nice breakfast in the morning. For this I paid £45 including breakfast, by virtue of having booked through laterooms.com (whom I had never used before).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Cathedral.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Whilst the rooms are a wee bit on the small side and a tad basic, they are clean and have all you need for a comfortable night. What makes this small hotel special though is the staff. Absolutely outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for them. When they found that I was attending a charity event in order to allow under privileged kids to attend football matches in Glasgow, they immediately offered dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine in their restaurant as a prize at the charity dinner.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and cooked to order. The choice and quality was magnificent. This is not a 5 star hotel, but you will find it is up there in terms of service from the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at this little gem of a hotel for 4 mid week nights and it was fabulous. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and the friendliness of the staff continued throughout our stay.
We stayed in room 7 which is up 4 flights of stairs which could be a problem for the less mobile. The room was large, clean and comfortable and had a view of the Necropolis.
Breakfast was served in the first floor restaurant, our selection from the extensive menu was cooked to order and the quality was second to none.
The bar was generally quiet and the food on offer was excellent.
The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre and is in a quieter part of the city.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view of the Necropolis but is up 4 flights of stairs
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaffnkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this lovely wee hotel last week, and could not have wished for a nicer place to stay. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay nicer ( the chef even carried our bags upstairs to the top floor and would not even let us buy him a beer for this!) The bar had a great atmosphere and the food was outstanding! Thankyou to the ahrd working staff for making the 2 Aussie girls stay that little bit more enjoyable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Recommend room 7 ( if you can handle the stairs) or room 4, both overlook the Cathedral and Necropolis and were loevy rooms (huge bathroom! Great bath!!!)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2012

a friendly homely hotel, the reception is in the bar, handy for me. the rooms are not the usual chain of hotels some can be quite small, but looking out the window you see some of the oldest parts of Glasgow even the dead center (the necropolis). It is really handy for the cathedral,the oldest house in the city and the museum of religion, the city center is a 10 to 15 minute walk away
being a small hotel the staff could not have been nicer. One thing to be beware of is the spiral stairs. There is ghost which is suppose to haunt the hotel but the only spirit we saw was behind the bar. ps we had just come from my sons wedding across the road and would not minded anyway

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bankie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews