We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral House Hotel
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I had a few days to enjoy Glasgow for a business trip and I wanted to stay at a unique hotel that showcased Glaswegian architecture. If you are looking for a clean, reasonably priced hotel that is away from the hub-bub of downtown, stay here. There are quirky nuances about the hotel. This adventurous traveler didn’t mind that there is no elevator (only 4 floors, I was top floor). I rather enjoyed the exercise. The staff was so helpful and great. I would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. Top floor, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squanto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    77
    39
    24
    39
See reviews for
38
115
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here one weekday night and was very impressed. It is small, characterful and in a very quiet location directly opposite Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. I had booked a single room but was given an enormous double room, with a great prospect of the Cathedral (and all the cherry blossom in full bloom) through its three big windows, a big flat-screen TV and a chaise lounge for good measure. It had decent bedside lamps so I could even read in bed, bliss. It was clean, comfortable and I had a nice breakfast in the morning. For this I paid £45 including breakfast, by virtue of having booked through laterooms.com (whom I had never used before).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Whilst the rooms are a wee bit on the small side and a tad basic, they are clean and have all you need for a comfortable night. What makes this small hotel special though is the staff. Absolutely outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for them. When they found that I was attending a charity event in order to allow under privileged kids to attend football matches in Glasgow, they immediately offered dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine in their restaurant as a prize at the charity dinner.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and cooked to order. The choice and quality was magnificent. This is not a 5 star hotel, but you will find it is up there in terms of service from the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at this little gem of a hotel for 4 mid week nights and it was fabulous. We were given a warm welcome on arrival and the friendliness of the staff continued throughout our stay.
We stayed in room 7 which is up 4 flights of stairs which could be a problem for the less mobile. The room was large, clean and comfortable and had a view of the Necropolis.
Breakfast was served in the first floor restaurant, our selection from the extensive menu was cooked to order and the quality was second to none.
The bar was generally quiet and the food on offer was excellent.
The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the centre and is in a quieter part of the city.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great view of the Necropolis but is up 4 flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaffnkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this lovely wee hotel last week, and could not have wished for a nicer place to stay. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay nicer ( the chef even carried our bags upstairs to the top floor and would not even let us buy him a beer for this!) The bar had a great atmosphere and the food was outstanding! Thankyou to the ahrd working staff for making the 2 Aussie girls stay that little bit more enjoyable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Recommend room 7 ( if you can handle the stairs) or room 4, both overlook the Cathedral and Necropol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

a friendly homely hotel, the reception is in the bar, handy for me. the rooms are not the usual chain of hotels some can be quite small, but looking out the window you see some of the oldest parts of Glasgow even the dead center (the necropolis). It is really handy for the cathedral,the oldest house in the city and the museum of religion, the city center is a 10 to 15 minute walk away
being a small hotel the staff could not have been nicer. One thing to be beware of is the spiral stairs. There is ghost which is suppose to haunt the hotel but the only spirit we saw was behind the bar. ps we had just come from my sons wedding across the road and would not minded anyway

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Small traditional hotel 10mins walk from city centre. Excellent views of the cathedral. Lots of traditional decor although in need of TLC. Due to old building, quite noisy at night. Fab Scottish breakfast made to order! Staff very attentive. Overall a very canny stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peleTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#86 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House Hotel

Property: Cathedral House Hotel
Address: 28-32 Cathedral Square, Glasgow G4 0XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cathedral House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cathedral House Hotel is a 19th-century Scottish baronial-style hotel, complete with turrets, 8 individual and beautifully furnished rooms and a splendid restaurant, Whisky bar and Beer Garden. We are just 5 minutes from the vibrant and bustling Merchant City area of Glasgow,. Nestled within an historic quarter of the city, with excellent views of Glasgow Cathedral and the fascinating Necropolis, the hotel is an excellent base to explore the grounds and the Provands Lordship House, St Mungo's Museum and Glasgow in general - the city centre is 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Cathedral House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Glasgow
Cathedral House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing