We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic but nice.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic but nice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Room was pretty basic but clean enough. Location is pretty central, two minutes and your at the shops, also not far from Queen street station. Really great location. Only had breakfast here which was continental and was ok, but nothing great. Staff were friendly enough on check in and check out.

Room Tip: We were told we would be in a room with two single beds. Both beds had light almost right above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weephil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    122
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
57
159
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here recently to celebrate our recent engagement. Having booked it in January I was very much looking forward to a wee night away however we were less than impressed with the stay!

It all started when I received a voicemail message on the morning of our stay to inform us that there was a wedding in the hotel and as such the restaurant would be out of commission that night! We would also be required to check in via the piper centre desk as the normal check in door would be out of use. To say I was a wee bit miffed was an understatement - there was no mention of a wedding being on when I booked and to be told that morning is hardly giving me notice! This meant we couldn't have a drink in the bar or a meal and had to make rushed alternative arrangements!

We put this out of our mind and made our way to the hotel - only to find we had been put in a twin room. We phoned reception to inform them of their error only to be told that they only have one double and so we couldn't move. I suggested making the bed into a king (having worked in hospitality as a chambermaid this would b common practice using a band to lock bed together and then cover with king duvet) however this was dismissed out of hand. We explained that we were celebrating our engagement and would have never booked a twin if we'd known but they were not for budging. My fiancé was pretty disgusted with their attitude - they did offer us the chance to change booking to stay in double room another night but we'd already arrived so didn't really want to traipse all the way home again and grudgingly stayed put. We were offered nothing else in the way of discount or apologies and check out staff the next morning were very abrupt.

All very disappointing - i'd read the reviews and was looking forward to a relaxing night in the comfort of a wee hotel with gorgeous food but instead we spent only a few hours at the hotel as ended up going out in town for drinks and dinner instead!

As a result I'm afraid I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone! A real shame

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_scots_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trystmanager, General Manager at The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review. I am terribly sorry that The Pipers’ Tryst did not meet your expectations during your recent stay.

We are classed by Visit Scotland as an 8-bedroom ‘restaurant with rooms’. The Pipers’ Tryst restaurant is a very popular destination for Scottish food, weddings and private family celebrations. It is not unusual that we are fully booked during guests stays, especially at the weekend. We do advise booking in advance and therefore you would have been notified of the fully booked status well ahead of arrival.

Last Friday, as a matter of courtesy the manager on duty called all guests to make them aware that we had a wedding within the premises. She had given an alternative check in method to ensure your greeting was smooth and welcoming, but also to ensure the wedding meal wasn’t interrupted. We are part of The National Piping Centre and guests can check in at either front desk.

I am very sorry that you were unable to dine with us during your stay. In advance of your arrival, we made sure there was a cold bottle of sparkling wine in your room and an offer to make reservations elsewhere was given at check in. The manager also delivered the latest food and drink guide to your bedroom door to assist with a choice of restaurant and to make you aware that we offer room service.

Being so small but also central, it is standard practise that staff will offer to make reservations for guests elsewhere, book theatre tickets and give directions to ensure their stay within Glasgow is a pleasurable experience.

We have 1 double room and 7 twins; originally we were built as a residential teaching facility for bagpiping. At the time of booking all guests are informed of their room type and a confirmation email sent stating your rate and room type. The beds are not ‘zip and link’ therefore could not be made into a double/king. However, you were offered a full refund or a date change if you wished to come another time.

We are exceptionally flexible with our guests and staff will always offer an alternative if the room or the guest expectations are not met. It is very difficult to make amends post-stay, however please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Thanks for a lovely stay at the Piper's Tryst. The room was adequate, shower fine, hairdryer worked, breakfast fab, great location and Randy Newman at the concert hall just great. Wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked this hotel thru a deal & I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised to find such an intimate hotel, it has only 8 rooms & right in the heart of theatre land. The staff seemed to be hand picked for their efficiency & friendliness. The restaurant was quite small but the atmosphere was jumping. We had an excellent dinner which was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was fit for pipers delicious & a great choice. Highly recommend far better than the larger hotels around for service & quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee, scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked two nights hers as a bargain break and it was worth every penny. The hoel is clean and bright and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. We had dinner on the second night and the food, all fresh and local, would not have gone amiss in a top restuarant. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of both hot and cold. The room was small and cosy. Could do with a frashen up but the beds were so comfortable we had no trouble sleeping. Ou only complaint, and it is minoe, is we couldn't open a window at night and the room became very stuffy, but, we turned the heating down for the second night and it was ok. Good sized bathroom with both bath and shower with plenty hot water. Again, could do with a freshen up but nothing major. We loved this hotel as it is within easy walkiing distance of shops, theatres and the bus station. You wont go far wrong to book this hidden gem.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which seemed to be under air con, but, we weren't disturbed by it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had lovely overnight stay. Staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom was nice but bathroom was in need of some attention. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Wow!!!
From the arrival, with housekeeping, bar and catering ensuring all was well, to the champagne arriving cold and a good price, this all before the wedding to all the unexpected small touches to excite
The effort made in the detail to make sure all was accomplished according to some fanastic plan came out trumps co-ordination excellent.
Haggis neeps and tatties such a change for a wedding supper so well done
having access to see the piping museum was an unexpected extra
All staff work well together a mean feat in itself.
Scottish breakfast splendid.( and needed )
Congratulations to all not to mention the bride and groom

Room Tip: there are so few rooms no real choice but all to a good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cygyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,622 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pipers' Tryst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

Property: The Pipers' Tryst Hotel
Address: At The National Piping Centre | 30 - 34 McPhater Street, Glasgow G4 0HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#12 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pipers' Tryst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The National Piping Centre is home of The Pipers' Tryst which houses 8 cosy bedrooms, and is classed by the Scottish tourist board as a 4 star 'Restaurant with Rooms'. All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, colour TV with radio channels, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served within The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant. A continental buffet breakfast is provided in all our rates. Cooked breakfasts are also available at an extra charge, The Pipe Major's breakfast will be sure to see you through the day. The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant is also available for lunch or dinner throughout the week. Having achieved eat quality Scotland standard and received very complimentary reviews in local press our tables are often in high demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pipers' Tryst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipers Tryst Glasgow
Pipers Tryst Hotel Glasgow
The Pipers' Tryst Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing