We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,949)
Filter reviews
2,949 results
Traveller rating
1,233
1,122
399
124
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,233
1,122
399
124
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view squinty bridge city centre sse hydro attending a concert car park shower room excellent hotel min walk reception staff breakfast was excellent rooms are small ideal location mini bar tea and coffee modern hotel one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,423 - 2,428 of 2,949 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We attended the Sting concert at the Auditorium recently and stayed here. This is the former Mint Hotel and we had stayed here before. It is a spotless hotel and the staff are very attentive and pleasant. We were allocated a room on the 5th floor, one of their 'refurbished' rooms. It was wonderful - a large bed, spongey carpet, fancy swing chairs, Mac TV/PC, kettle, complimentary toiletries and a/c. It was quiet and we slept very well. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

Room tip: 5th floor rooms have been refurbished the Receptionist told us. But they were gradually doing all rooms so it may be a worthwhile to ask for one of those in the foreseeable future.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canisp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Garden for 4nights, which was formally in another chain, and now run to the standards you would expect of the Hilton chain. Formal reception area, pleasant staff, bar and seating area of similar size, decent size restaraunt. It looks like the outside on the quayside a pleasant area to dine or drink in summer. Ideally placed for the SECC, which is 5minutes walk.
Rooms are comfortable with every mod con, including iron/board/coffee making, enough storage space. Hot showers, comfortable bed in QueenSize room, and iMac in the room too.

Pleasant 10minute walk into town - found a convenient bar/diner to use - and a McDonalds on the way too.

All in all, a pleasant stay, excellent facilities, ideally located.
Used restaraunt once in the evening - slightly higher priced than expected, but check out the two meals for £20.00 offer. Good value.
Staff, highly trained, always with a smile and its always worth chatting to them, as they are always keen to please.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guiltybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel is an excellent location for the S.E.C.C. which is why we stayed there. It was a fairly pleasant experience but it was hindered by the fact that it was undergoing some renovations. The room was nice and clean, if a bit on the small side. The iMac tv was a nice touch. Minibar and snacks available in the room but no price list, so avoided for fear of huge charges. Not the best nights sleep because our room was next to the lift which made a loud clicking noise each time it opened. Would definitely ask for another room away from the lift if I was to stay again.
The restaurant was not the best. The only place available was in the bar area due to the renovations and it was busy which resulted in pretty poor service. Staff were friendly enough but couldn't really cope with the volume of people needing to be served meals in the bar area. Food was fine when it arrived but had to wait a really long time and had to frequently ask for things that were forgotten.
I probably would stay here again and would give it the benefit of the doubt as it was changing hands and areas were being renovated when we stayed there but it would have been nice to be made aware of this when we booked.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the lift.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay in February.

I am sorry that City Cafe was closed during your stay for refurbishment – this is now complete.

The lift should not have been heard in your room, this will be investigated by our engineer.

It is good to read that you will stay again, our extensive refurbishment has now moved onto our bedrooms that are all getting new carpets, beds and chairs. I am confident that you will like the improvements we are making.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed for a conference. The hotel amenities are very good. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Had a lovely view of the River Clyde. Had Apple Internet TV in the room but never had much time to enjoy them.

Room tip: River view would be good.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the complimentary internet access we offer from our iMacs in all our rooms useful and our bedrooms clean and in good condition.

Hopefully it will not be long until you return to Glasgow and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have just spent 3 nights in this new Hilton which was pretty much in line with a travel lodge.
Bed linen & Quilt low quality and grey. Carpet and chairs stained, Bathroom very small air con broken, no room service after 10.00pm and no water in the room.
Breakfast not impressive fruit salad (Apple salad) sliced apple. At £229 per night this is a total rip off, and I would not recommend until this is up to a decent standard. At this rate this is a lot of money for a room, and there are more upmarket hotels which cost less in Glasgow Also Taxi driver dont know the hotel has changed name so cost of Taxi expensive.
Poor value for money and should be charging £79.00 until this place has been totally refurbished.
Taylor March 2012

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews