We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Trio - CLOSED

Trio
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: French, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Burnside's one and only fine dining restaurant offering a variety of meals sourced and cooked from local ingredients,by award winning and Rosette standard chefsCheck our reviews on Trip Advisor,Facebook and 5pm
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Went for the 8 course taster menu night on a recommendation from a friend, Every course was delicious and presented to perfection. Fine dining as good as a couple of Michelin star places we have been to, Met the young chef Darren Thomson who asked for feedback and got nothing but complements from everyone and a round of applause! Small, intimate restaurant but tables are well spaced out. Friendly and efficient service with just the right gap between courses. Will be back soon to try a steak from the al a carte menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our friends have been regular visitors to Trio in burnside, so last night we went along with them to give it a go, and we had a excellent meal. Located on burnside Main Street, Trio is a small restaurant with an fantastic menu. Our friends informed us that Trio offers an 8 course tasting menu, but I'd already made the decision to try the fillet steak, after their earlier recommendation, and I wasn't disappointed. One of the best steaks I'd had for a while, perfectly cooked medium rare, and all the usual accompaniments. Starters were good, especially the tempura king prawns. For desert...special was tart tartan with honeycomb ice cream..all made by the chef, Darren. For 3 courses and wine, prices were good given the quality of the food, the bill was just over £100 per couple, but we did have a couple of bottles of wine. For a Saturday, it was very quiet, which was a shame, but with cooking like this, it won't be quiet for long. Will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We appreciate your review, particularly since you have reviewed so many restaurants. Look forward to welcoming you again soon. The Trio Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Food was absolutely delicious!! Fantastic selection of dishes to choose from and great service. Will surely be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FMG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you. We are developing our menu and are pleased to hear you find the selection we currently offer delicious . Delicious is our aim, fresh, local delicious is our philosophy. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Lyn and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Was in Burnside recently wondering about a late lunch....
Trio's new chef had been recommended to me previously so thought I'd give it a try. However this was 3 o'clock so perhaps not the best time .Too late for lunch, a bit early for dinner?
Not a problem. I opted for the 'Taster Menu' where I could try several dishes, ( kind of Tapas style, only more Scottish! ) My choice was haggis neeps and tatties, black pudding with goat's cheese and wild boar ragout. All delicious and accompanied by lovely home made bread.
Good food, good presentation, good atmosphere, good price. Delightful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marimcghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Graet to read your generous review. Thank you for taking the time to post it for us. Lyn and Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Delicious food,great variety,friendly staff and lovely atmosphere.cant wait to return!We had the tapas type menu and I would highly recommend it,the homemade complimentary bread was yum too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank onebunyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Glad you enjoyed our food and for complimenting our staff. We know, it's a team effort and we are delighted, you had such a good experience with us. Lyn and Jack Keogh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing