We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty Bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasgow Loft Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glasgow Loft Apartments
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pretty Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Was looking forward to our weekend in 'luxury' apartments. Slight exaggeration to say the least. We grew up on a council estate and feel like we are back living in our childhood home. Basically a noisy, freezing skyscraper.
Feel well disappointed. Think it would be better to describe them on the web as 'basic' so you don't expect anything else.
We were about £95. I think you'd do better at the Prremier Inn. At least you'd be warm . We've still got 2 nights to go here sadly!
Definitely wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poppypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    113
    53
    30
    22
See reviews for
82
99
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011


Stayed here for one night, check in went smoothly, they had no one bedroom apartments lefts (what I had originally booked through booking.com for £79) so they upgraded me to a 2 bed apartment.

As soon as I walked into the apartment I was in love, the windows and views were amazing. Beautiful spacious modern rooms, nicely decorated. 

I had a jacuzzi bath in the morning in my en suite, bath was huge, juxuzzi jets worked, lots of hot water, and used the complimentary bubble bath/shower gel they provided.

Staff were helpful and friendly throughout stay will absolutely stay here again. Cannot fault, especially for the price I paid, I would have paid double to stay here again.

I have recommend this apartment to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill-2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here on 24 November 2011. Staff were friendly and welcomed us. Was slightly disappointed in the quality of the apartment (one bedroom) as there was a cupboard in the hallway which had a noisy pump for either the heating or the bathroom.

Sofa was not so comfortable but the living area was spacious enough with the open plan including the kitchen. There was no welcome pack which would have added a bit and would not have cost much to do.

The huge windows were amazing and the view at night was stunning. Blinds were slightly broken though.

Overall it is a good place to stay and I have heard the larger apartments are better.

Only real negative is that there was a continuous banging noise outside our window which we had no idea what it was. It went on for a few hours. I told the reception as we were leaving and that it disturbed our sleep. However, there was not much response.

Would maybe stay there again, close to shops, bars etc.

The security man and another female member of staff were very helpful in allowing us to park the car as spaces were very limited.

Room Tip: Floor 13 room 5 very noisy so avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaches236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

staying here at the moment, the building is an old 1960's office block that has been refunrnished into apartments, check in was a breeze and i was soon handed my key to my room, on first impressions i was very impressed the apartment is bright and airy i was on the 4th floor and yeh you could hear a lot of outside noise but hey its the centre of glasgow what do you expect! what let things down were the lack of attention to detail in terms of chipped paintwork on the walls and all sorts of marks on the walls which would only take 5 mins to sort, overall i would def stay here again the location is 2nd to none and the bed was sooooooo comfy

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simple_stoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed one night. I asked for an extra pillow which wasn't provided. The apartment is superficially clean but the radiators were filthy, the jacuzzi spewed out dirty water from the previous occupants, the glass work top was chipped, the dishwashers was faulty, there were some lights not working, heating is only available between certain times. If these issues are addressed and they improve the service then it is quite a good product but they let themselves down with things that can be easily remedied.
It is in a very hand location for Glasgow city centre.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglasdoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

There was NO heating and there was NO hot water at all in the middle of November. We brought this to the attention of the gentleman on the desk, who tried to fix it however did not manage to fix it, he outlined he could not get someone in to fix it or move us as they were fully booked. The only thing he could do was to give us a small heater from the office, as we were both sat with our coats on literally shivering; it was warmer in the corridor outside!! As it was at this stage 11pm it was to late to travel back home, which would have been a strong option as we did not have running hot water, this meant we didn't even have the facility of washing our hands properly or having a shower or bath. We outlined this to the gentleman on the desk in the morning, who outlined he was told by the gentleman overnight it had been fixed, it certainly had not, I would certainly not recommend these apartments as the problem could not be fixed and surely a basic is heating and hot water!!

Room Tip: Do ask them to check the heating and hot water prior to your arrival, also a huge amount of noise so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdinburghjanetG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked 2 x 2 bedroomed apartments as we had a group of 8 people in Glasgow for a function at the Thistle Hotel which is just around the corner.

We got a deal, booking direct with the Lofts. The deal meant you had to pay up front, but we got a nice discount.

It should be said, that there is a security deposit of £250 per apartment to pay, but as we were on one booking, Mary, the receptionist allowed us to pay £250 for both.

We checked in about Friday afternoon around 12.30pm and Mary checked us in quickly and efficiently. This is before the allotted check in time, but both apartments were ready, so it wasn't a problem.

We had an one on the 5th floor and one on the 8th floor.

The 5th floor apartment was quite a bit bigger, but did not have quite as good a view as the 8th floor from the amazing wall to wall foor to ceiling windows.

Both apartments were immaculate with a high standard of finishing in all rooms.

The bathrooms were big and spacious, one has a jacuzzi bath and both have large double showers.

Because we were going out for the evening, the size of the apartments was much better suited to our group and allowed us to have pre dinner drinks in comfort.

We were warned about excessive noise at check in, but I wouldn't say we were particularly quiet and we had no problems.

There is evening security on the desk and you can't get in without your key, so security is good, and there are safe's available in the rooms.

We checked out and Mary refunded our deposit without question.

Overall, everyone in our group was delighted at the price we paid versus the quality and space we got and all would definitely stay there again.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book room 5/2 for a double and a twin with a very large, comfortable living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#49 of 95 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Number 10 Hotel
#21 of 95 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Loft Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Loft Apartments

Property: Glasgow Loft Apartments
Address: 134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Loft Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Glasgow Loft Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Loft Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Loft Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing