We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A DVD library you can borrow from - friendly staff - comfy rooms - great beds - character - an in-house cat - a lovely breakfast - amazing views of the Kelvingrove Park.

What more could one ask for? I couldn't recommend this guest house enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in the luxury suite, which was very roomy and we loved the free-standing bath, the underfloor heating and the massive 3D Blu-ray TV, it almost made us want to have a night in! Lots of choice for breakfast, recommend the porridge! Steve was really friendly and helpful. 20 mins from town centre. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just got back from a fab stay at the Alamo,this was our second visit, but this time we were there for 4 nights. Fab,warm,cosy,comfy room....easy parking, great walkin distance to town...nothing too much trouble for Steve&Emma -Emma offered us a tea & juice as soon as we arrived in the morning, which we had before we headed off into town. Breakfast is great, loads of choice& although they do not offer a full cooked breakfast ( am glad they don 't as it would spoil the relaxed atmosphere), there is plenty of scrambled eggs & bacon, topped up all the time, great coffee, loads of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt etc,etc, I would not really consider staying elsewhere as it's perfect for us!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter if you are not ensuite,as shared facilities are plentiful,excellent quality and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaAnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We really loved staying here. Beautiful rooms. Great breakfast. Perfect location and view of the park. AND GREAT SERVICE. Friendly but still giving you plenty of privacy. Would highly recommend and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

From my window the Great Kelvingrove museus and the amazing building from Glasgow University.
Nice ensuite, with ood shower, very good breakfast and a warm reception, Steve, Ema and the twins (attention, they have 2 of the same!!!!!) are very present on give informations and hints about the city.

Room Tip: Depending if you want your onw bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEdelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Really appreciated the friendly reception in this family owned hotel. The room was a comfortable, and although there was no en-suite bathroom I was happy I chose this hotel. Steve is a great guy and shared his local knowledge with us to make sure we made the most out of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The house and rooms are beautiful and service is really friendly. Amazing facilities. (lovely bathrooms, flat screen with blue ray player and a lot of DVDs!) It is a lovely location overlooking the park, museum and university buildings. Couldn't ask for a nicer place and we'll definitely stay again if we're in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
5,392 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#20 of 93 in Glasgow
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 35 in Glasgow
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing