We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alamo Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newtown Vic Australia
Level Contributor
312 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a wonderful room looking toward the Kelvingrove Gallery and Museum. It was wonderfully decorated and fitted with many wondrous pieces of technology, more than we needed for sure. Only drawback was that there was no shower cubicle, just an open bath that you sit in and shower. Wonderful linen and good toiletries added to the appeal. I like baked beans at breakfast and was disappointed they weren't available in any of the warmers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    107
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
107
330
63
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Alamo recently for my first visit to Glasgow for a stag golf weekend and was very impressed. A perfect location in the West end of Glasgow with very comfortable rooms and beautiful decor. The staff were very friendly and breakfasts spectacular. The perfect location for anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjDitoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My sister and I recently stayed here for one night at both ends of our visit to the Hebrides . It is a perfect place to stay if you want good location to food , parks and museum ( and auto rental )
Steve and Emma were pleasant and very helpful. The building is in a very quiet location and is an old gem that they have restored . The rooms are all beautiful to look at and our room, #4- was large enough for the two of us with a queen bed and a twin bed. The room was clean , the beds and linens comfortable. Our room was en suite with great hot water and shower. There are plenty of other bathrooms in the hallway to accommodate those rooms that are not. We found the breakfast more than enough with a variety of fruit, cereals, yogurt,juice, and also eggs, bacon, sausage if one is a heavier eater.
There is a variety of restaurants in the area and also a handful of small shops to pick up snacks .
This is definitely a gem of a place and I look forward to staying here again if I am ever in Glasgow.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed there May 2012. The single rooms are compact but adequate for traveller. Hyper clean and modern bathrooms and help yourself breakfasts to die for. Perfectly located for West End Glasgow.
Manager Kristina went out of her way to help me and Katya was cheerfully friendly

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
210 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We came to the Alamo straight from a full on five star experience in a B&B in Edinburgh so perhaps we were more critical than usual. However given the cost of our room, the facilities and especially the breakfast really didn't cut it.
On the plus side, we had a very warm welcome from the owner, whom we didn't see again for our entire stay. The staff were pleasant enough but it was a fairly impersonal experience. Our room was warm and light enough, though the bedhead was poorly attached to the bed and made a knocking noise every time you moved until we stuffed a pillow down the back of the bed to stop it.
The breakfast was adequate only, eggs and bacon on the sideboard and poached available if requested. You could also have porridge. For the rest of it, it was packets of cereal, packets of cheese, packets of jam, packets of butter. I really think the Alamo could do better, especially since it is one of the pricier options in Glasgow.
The building is great, a magnificent Georgian multi-storey divided into flats. The dining room has lovely views out over the university and the location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the Hunterian, the Kelvingrove and even the city if you don't mind a fifteen minute walk.
While towels were changed daily, some of them were very thin and ragged round the edges, and certainly not the sort of towels I'd use in my own home.
The B&B does offer a couple of good extras, like free wifi and DVDs.
Overall however, I think the Alamo could improve with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a very grand room with an ensuite bath under one of the windows. There was a comfortable sitting area under the other window as well. We looked out towards Glasgow University over the park. The host, Steve, was friendly and informative. One of the highlights of our visit to Scotland.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Couldn't believe the fantastic welcome and service we received when we rang up on spec for a room. Lovely spacious, comfortable rooms at great prices with a fantastic breakfast provided, even more impressed that they were not even fazed by my dietary requirements and catered for me without problem. Would definitely recommend the Alamo and would go back.

Room Tip: We could have had a room looking onto the garden but chose one facing the road however there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
606 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
775 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Property: Alamo Guest House
Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alamo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing