We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Late booking still reasonably priced, room for 3 people - instead of the usual double and fold out couch, there was 3 beds, brilliant after a night out. The room was massive, well heated, clean and despite being on street level not noisy at all, even with a club next door. The shower was fantastic and breakfast was also a must. Central location, would definitely consider going back for another girls night out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Newton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We arrived mid afternoon at this hotel and asked if we could park our car outside. We were told we would have to pay him £5 per night to park behind the hotel which was a dirty smelly lane.
We were shown to our room, which was large enough and comfortable.
The room was directly behind the reception which ended up being a problem, the entrance hall floor boards creeked and to make matters worse, the gentleman covering reception overnight had a constant irritating cough.

My husband is a smoker and everytime he went out for a smoke, he had to ring the bell to get back in as there wasnt a key provided. After coming back from our night out, we were locked out for a little while as the reception wasn't always manned. We were also locked out in the morning after we had been out to have an early morning stroll.

The breakfast in the morning was quite good, we could either have a full Scottish breakfast or cereals and fruits.

The hotel is quite close to the centre and was very convenient for local restaurants, pubs and shops.

Room Tip: Dont go for room 5.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Stayed for one night and all I wanted was a budget hotel - this was it. No frills, it does exactly what is says - provides bed and breakfast. Room was clean, staff were friendly, breakfast was good. For a B&B in Glasgow city centre, I think this was fine, as was the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Brought our son to Uni, and booked here not knowing Glasgow. Tiny room, one curtain that doesn't cover the window. As we speak we are deafened by a nightclub adjacent to our room we werent told about. When my husband rang reception to complain, John the night porter threatened him with the police!! There are empty rooms, but he won't move us, and he says he will get the police to throw us out for complaining. Hubby currently filling in a complaint form, night porter said he'd help him spell John!! DONT STAY HERE - IT'S CHEAP FOR A REASON!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The location of the hotel is convenient since it's within city centre. The single rooms are small but neat. Main problem about them is they're basements so you only get a small window and all the noise from the street and the reception upstairs perfectly coming through.

There's also a cheap feeling around everything. It looks like the kind of place where money was invested to make it look good and sell it but they didn't go the extra mile and actually make it friendly and useful. The ensuite bathroom is big and smart-looking, however most appliances are loose (as was the lock of the entrance door) and not well taken care of, neither you have shelves or anywhere to put your stuff.

For the same prize range or paying slightly more you can find dozens of better places in the Glasgow area, with better accomodation and better service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andunemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A nice little hotel in an excellent location.

I have stopped here twice now, and already booked for a third. The first time almost everything that could go wrong did, but the response of the staff was excellent, which encouraged our return.

There are other comments about noise, but having stopped at several hotels, its no worse than many others, and in fact I haven't found it to be a problem at all.

The rooms are a reasonable size, comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast it ok, but like some others, not quite sure about the sausages or turkey rashers.

All in all, good, clean comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation in an excellent location, with staff who want to meet your needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearytraveller066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This three star hotel is ok for an overnight stay. The basics are there with a nice power shower. Breakfast there were plenty to choose from, however cooked breakfast was over done so please review your cooking times.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenLeigh250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
569 reviews
City Centre
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $79 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing