We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Bothy Restaurant

Bothy Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 2,658 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Bothy is a unique Scottish restaurant located just off Byres Road in the West End of Glasgow. Experience a return to Scottish home cooking, the traditional way with the likes of haggis, neeps and tatties, grilled Scottish salmon and steak pie amongst others. No matter how stuffed you are you'll not want to miss dessert with dishes such as pistachio creme brulee or mango and raspberry iced parfait to name but a few.The combination of friendly service and a delicious, hearty menu make The Bothy the perfect location for family and friends to enjoy dinner in welcoming, Scottish surroundings. If you are in a group it won't cost a penny more to hire one of the private rooms just for yourselves.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Took some colleagues including some Americans to this restaurant. Wanted to give them a typical Scottish menu. Not one of the group was disappointed. Lovely food - great atmosphere and some quirky beer and lager selections that were very nice.

Will visit again soon for sure!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steadmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Steadmang,

Delighted you and your guests enjoyed their time with us and great to read you enjoyed the food on the evening.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Had the Braw Deal offer - group of 7 on Saturday evening. Food - excellent /restaurant decorated nice, Husband ordered a medium-rare steak but was overcooked returned to kitchen -replaced without hesitation. Waiting staff were friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend and will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JMBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear JMBUk,

Many thanks for your kind review and recommendation, great to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
Apologies about the steak however I'm glad it was rectified quickly on the day for you.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This place has lovely decor, welcoming staff and a limited but interesting menu. We were warmly greeted and were excited to have a lovely meal. When my starter arrived it was tiny and gone in two bites (I can’t even say mouthfuls), bread on the table would have helped stave off the hunger. Main course was similar, tasty but needed something to help it look like a main meal. We had such high hopes for a special lunch but sadly left still in need of food. We would have gladly paid more for a proper meal and will skip this lovely venue in the future for an establishment that wants to feed their guests

1  Thank Bonviver252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Trez252,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent visit, these reviews (positive or negative) are vital in the development of our guest offering.
Without knowing the specific dishes you had that afternoon it is difficult to ascertain the exact issue. This is not a complaint we often receive however it is obviously taken very seriously by all involved as we will look to ensure it remains an isolated one.

Do hope you will consider joining us in the future as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited as part of a large group. We had to sit at two separate tables therefore it was difficult to talk to others in the group. As we booked as a large group, the £30 set menu was offered. The starters of haggis or soup were good. There was one vegetarian choice as a main course which was a tarte tatin. However it consisted of sloppy caramelised with a few pieces of orange and pomegranate - strange combination. I struggled to eat it as it was quite sweet and there was nothing to accompany it. The banoffee cheesecake dessert looked better than it tasted. Most of us couldn’t finish it as it had a strange texture almost as if it had curdled. The waiting staff did not ask if everything was okay when clearing the table despite seeing so much food left on the plates. Extremely disappointed with the experience and will not return. Don’t understand why this place gets such ‘glowing’ reviews. Not impressed!

Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothy G, General Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Alicia M,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent visit, these reviews (positive or negative) are vital in the development of our guest offering.
I am sorry the group had to be split over two tables, unfortunately our private dining room was already reserved at the time of your booking and the maximum group size one one table we can accommodate in the main restaurant 16. This was confirmed with the group organiser at the time of booking.
It is disappointing that certain dishes on the evening were not to your liking, these are generally well liked dishes however that doesn't detract from the seriousness of your complaint. Your comments have been raised with our kitchen team and should you have any future issues please feel free to bring it to the attention of your server as we will always try to rectify the issue at the time.

Do hope you will consider joining us again in the future...

Kind regards,

Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Lovely setting. Friendly staff.
Slightly slow service but that really was only fault and me with my critical hat.
Mushroom soup - Nice whole mushrooms along with blended mushrooms in soup.
Roast of The Day - Nice beef. Yorkshire Pudding - Far too big.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothy G, Manager at Bothy Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi Alastair M,

Thanks so much for you review. We feel it's always good to be critical, it helps us learn from any mistakes we've made that we wouldn't know about if people weren't so critical. I've passed on your note about the Yorkshire Pud's to the kitchen and I've been told the reason they are that big is because people always used to ask for extra and we'd run out pretty fast, but we're now working on a happy medium, as they are quite large.

Kind regards,

The Bothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bothy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bothy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing