We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ”
Review of Khublai Khans

Khublai Khans
Ranked #266 of 2,633 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

I've never been to a restaurant that offers such a diverse menu, there definitely is something for everybody to enjoy. I have never ate so many unusual meats in one meal!!

The menu and the way you create your meal can be slightly confusing if it is your first time however there is always staff on hand to show you what to do.

If you're stuck for somewhere new to eat, then Khublai Khans would 100% be at the top of my recommendation list!

1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Hi Mark
Thanks very much for your glowing review, we are all delighted you enjoyed the concept of the restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 629 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2017

Birthday weekend in Glasgow with family. Spied this restaurant in the afternoon and decided to go there for dinner. So glad we did! Had not realised that this was a Mongolian restaurant and was delighted and surprised at the breadth of the menu. We had the buffet which is a starter and desert with a buffet main. You choose the ingredients at the buffet and the chef cooks it up for you there and then. Fabulous. The range of seafood and different meats was truly inspiring.
We are definitely going to go back next time we are in Glasgow. The staff were really friendly and helpful. All in all, a brilliant night

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khublai K, Manager at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Hey Diane,

Thanks for the review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at KK's! I will show this review to the rest of the staff :)

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Fabulous service with amazing food and great atmosphere. Bugs an optional extra but well worth it for amusement factor alone. Well worth a visit.

Thank sharonferg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Hi Sharon
Thanks very much for taking the time to post such a positive review, you've made our day!
We look forward to welcoming back to KKs soon.
Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

I ordered a bottle of wine and it came 15 minutes later, courses arrived 15-20 minutes later- and even the bill came over half an hour after requesting it. Staff were pleasant but definately the worse for being over-stretched. 2 servers on a saturday night and only 1 chef made everything take a very long time. The restaraunt was half empty and still very slow service. The tables and chairs are like cheap school canteen style. My friends were also unhappy that 6 beers came to £36. Won't be back. This is the first restuarant that I have been really disappointed in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Hi Fiona
Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience at the restaurant and giving us the opportunity to respond.
Firstly, I apologise for the slow service however, I have to point out that on EVERY Saturday evening there are at least six Front of House staff on duty and two Grill Chefs. Further, I'm sorry but no one waits for half an hour after asking for the bill. Surely, after ten minutes or so, one of your party would have made a further request?
The Service Charge is discretionary. It clearly states this on the menu and on the bill you receive.
Your friends' beers could not have cost £36. The most expensive beer we offer is Tiger, a premium lager imported from Singapore. We charge £5.25 a pint and whilst I would be the first to admit that it is expensive, we make exactly the same margin on Tiger as we do on all our other draught beers. The price we charge directly reflects the price we pay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write in and giving me the opportunity to respond.
Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

The food was superb and great value. We had a Groupon voucher that works out at £11 each so you cannot complain about the 3 course meal.
Great for trying out different meats as you chose what goes into your main course.
The service was slow but that was my only complaint.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khublai K, Owner at Khublai Khans, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Hi Fiona
Thanks very much for your positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal. Apologies for thew slow service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khublai Khans also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Khublai Khans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing