We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,400)
Filter reviews
1,400 results
Traveller rating
1,200
152
30
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
152
30
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature suite monkfish curry lazy sunday monsoon shower boy racers beautiful hotel classic room sky tv complimentary mini bar hotel restaurant executive room city centre fantastic stay comfy bed great shower an overnight stay luxury
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,400 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night in the Dakota Deluxe for a birthday treat. We arrived 2 hours early before check-in time at 3pm but luckily enough our room was ready. We had a great Classic King room on the 5th (top) floor with great views over the city.

The room itself was amazing, one of the best I’ve ever stayed in. Stylish interior, comfy super king size bed, great bathroom and shower, one of the better hairdryers I’ve used in a hotel, full sky package and tea & coffee making facilities.

All staff were very friendly and welcoming, great customer service.

We didn’t choose to eat in the hotel as we had plans elsewhere but had several cocktails in the bar which were amazing! Great atmosphere in the bar area as well with nice music.

The only let down for us was the noise from the boy racers parked outside the hotel who raced round the block from 9pm-3am! Considering we were on the top floor I thought the noise wouldn’t have been so bad but I couldn’t get to sleep until they left.

Apart from that I would definitely return to the hotel for drinks and to try out The Grill restaurant but probably wouldn’t stay again unless it was during the week when it might be a bit quieter outside.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Deluxe Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Clare G

Thank you for your review of Dakota.

It is lovely to read you stayed with us for a birthday treat and that we were able to accommodate you early, and I am delighted you thought the bedroom was amazing with stylish interior, a comfortable super king bed, great bathroom and shower, and full sky package. I do believe there were some cars outside the hotel on this evening, however the police were called and they were moved on. There are restrictions to cars in place around the hotels in the area during the night, and this is not a normal occurrence. Great food, attentive staff and stylish surroundings are our hallmarks and I do hope you return to try out the Grill.

Perhaps we will welcome you back to stay with us again, and please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@dakotaglasgow.co.uk to assist with any future booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel overall very nice , beautiful bathroom, staff very professional.
Breakfast was a disaster, the waitress dropped a slice of toast but never came back to replace it which left our table of 4 short. We asked for more tea and coffee which was delivered but the first pots were not taken away leaving no space for anything
The breakfast consisted of a dried up egg, 1 mushroom, 2 slices of very hard bacon, 1 tough sausage, and half a tomato
£13 was over the top and let a good hotel down badly
We won’t be back

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jimpT1704LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Deluxe Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jim P

Thank you for your review of Dakota.

I am delighted that you found the hotel very nice with a beautiful bathroom and very professional staff. I am disappointed to read you wouldn't come back due to the the problem you had at breakfast. We get many great comments on our excellent breakfasts freshly cooked to order, and our amazing continental selection and I am so sorry we did not seem to deliver on this occasion. Hopefully we can entice you back to visit us again, where we can make up for your disappointment and please check our website where we have some great breakfast inclusive rates.

Please contact us on reservations@dakotaglasgow.co.uk if you wish to make another booking when I hope we can have the pleasure of looking after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a girlie night away to see Micheal Bolton and chose to stay here as it looked incredible and reviews were excellent but neither did it justice. There are not enough words to describe how perfect EVERY part of our stay was, right down to the littlest details! We arrived extra early due to flights(9:30), and were offered our room early at no extra cost. Every member of staff were so welcoming,genuinely loved what they do and couldn't do enough for you, including the manager who was fabulous! The décor is stunning in every part of the hotel but also incredibly cosy and inviting. The food is to die for also. Already planning our next trip and will be staying much longer. Didn't want to leave.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Margie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Deluxe Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Margie B

Thank you for your five star review of Dakota.

How lovely to read you found every part of your stay perfect, even the little details. I am pleased we managed to get you into your room early, and that all the team were so welcoming. I'm glad you managed to experience the restaurant and enjoyed the food. Our hallmarks are attentive staff, great food, and stylish surroundings so it is good to know we are achieving what we set out to do and that you are already planning your next trip.

Hopefully we will welcome you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@dakotaglasgow.co.uk to assist with your next booking.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is simply one of the best if not THE best in Glasgow. A friendly welcome awaits at reception and the staff keep up the first class service for the entire time of your stay.
The rooms are luxurious with large and modern bathrooms. A full Sky tv package is very welcome giving a huge choice of free to view Sky movies channels as well as sports. The bar and dining area is very nice with a wide range of premium food and drink to choose from. Would highly recommend for both business and leisure stays.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Deluxe Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jonathan C

Thank you for your five star review of Dakota.

It is wonderful to read you think the hotel is one of the best in Glasgow, and that you had a very friendly welcome on check in, and first class service for the time of your stay. I am delighted you liked the bedrooms all offering large modern bathrooms with a Monsoon shower and a full Sky tv package, and that your experience in the bar and restaurant was enjoyable. Our hallmarks are great food, attentive staff and stylish surroundings so it is good to know we are achieving what we set out to do and that you would highly recommend us for both business and leisure.

Hopefully we will welcome you back soon, and please to contact us on reservations@dakotaglasgow.co.uk to assist with your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Food brilliant rooms brilliant

It is very dark if that’s not your thing bear that in mind

Staff very helpful and beds very comfy

No parking and no swimming pool spa probably only drawbacks it has on Blytheswood next door but it is much better run and organised for a night in Glasgow it can not be faulted

Will be going back to the Dakota !

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scottmJ3625UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DakotaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Deluxe Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scott M

Thank you for your five star review of Dakota.

It is good to read you think the bedrooms are brilliant with comfortable beds, the food is brilliant and the team very helpful. Space is always at a premium in a city centre so we do not have our own parking but can offer our guests a great discounted rate at a local car park only a few minutes walk away. We also have agreements in place to offer our guests complimentary use of The Gym just around the corner, and use of a local spa and swimming pool. Great food, attentive staff and stylish surroundings are our hallmarks so it is good to know we are achieving what we set out to do.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@dakotaglasgow.co.uk to assist with your future booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews