We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our Aviemore mid week break at Dalfaber Country Club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Aviemore mid week break at Dalfaber Country Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed for a 4 day midweek break at Dalfaber.We found the Alvie Lodge to be everything we needed , it was clean , well furnished to a high standard. It is surrounded in breath taking scenery . Lovely warm swimming pools, steam room and sauna . The country club has a well stocked bar . Restaurant food was average compared with its sister Aspect restaurant located at the macdonald resort. Reception checking staff were really helpful and were full of local knowledge for the first time tourist to Aviemore.
We will be back soon

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirriemuirtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    58
    42
    25
    19
See reviews for
95
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead , Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of eating at the Scottish Steak Club at Dalfaber while we stayed at the Macdonald Highland resort. My wife and I had roast of the day which was beef and it was a lovely, big portion with plenty roast potatoes and veg. Our boys had meals off the childrens menu which too was very good with the tomato soup being home made and not out of a tin. The service was excellent with Jo and Michael providing sterling service even though the restaurant and bar were very busy. There are probably many guests of Macdonalds who think the short journey out to Dalfaber is a nuisance but those are the people who are missing out on a true gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiboy_robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I almost didn't go to this resort based on some of the reviews I had read. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The 2 bed chalets are small (very little space in the bedrooms) and I agree that they are only suitable for 2 adults and 2 children but the refurbished units are nicely furnished and have everything you could need and ours was very clean. We looked at the 3 bed Topsider unit with a view to coming back with more people and it was lovely. The restaurant has a lovely fire in the centre and the food was good. There are 2 screens showing sport in the main bar which does tend to be full of children. The pool area is nice but us busy in the evenings and the gym is very basic. The games area is great with tennis, badminton, squash etc. Our unti (31) was the quietest I have ever stayed in and you are gauranteed a good night's sleep. The staff are wonderful, especially Johan who made us very welcome and was extremely helpful. Electric came to £30.70 for the week. I plan to go back again later in the year.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished unti
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our daughter chose Dalfaber as the venue for a family Christmas get-together and thirteen of us shared three very different properties. The largest property, recently refurbished, was superb and definitely 5*. My husband and I,plus the dog,were in chalet 30, which was a cosy property and, although not refurbished, was absolutely fine with a spectacular view of the mountains. Our daughter,husband and 3yr old were in an excellent refurbished property the first week,but occupied a patio property the second week as they needed to be upgraded in order to have visitors. Sadly this was a bit of a disaster as the previous tenants had left the lodge in a dreadful state and although the cleaning staff had done a very good job, the shower didn't work and various other things went wrong, all of which were attended to very quickly by staff. However, in no way could it be considered an upgrade and at a quoted extra cost of £400, negotiations are ongoing about this!
Sadly we never saw a flake of snow the whole week, only wild winds and horizontal rain, but it really didn't matter as we had a great Christmas. My husband swam in the poole every morning and all of us enjoyed an excellent pre-Christmas meal in the restaurant, where the waiters and bar staff were helpful and friendly.
This was our first visit to Dalfaber and hopefully not our last as the venue has a lot to offer, as does Aviemore itself, and the helpful residents meeting at the beginning of the week gave lots of information about what was going on in the area, so you could choose to be involved or just chill out on site. A new,and well-stocked, Costcutters supermarket had just opened nearby which saved trying to jam into Tesco with the Christmas rush!
Our experience obviously differs from some reviewers, but we found the place to be an excellent venue and the staff with whom we came into contact really keen to make sure that we were all enjoying our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished property. For a couple, chalet 30 has the best position on the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strachanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Had a short break here with my husband and 21 yr old son. Booked directly with macdonald resorts so that I could ensure we stayed in a refurbished apartment as I had reservations after reading some reviews. Got a lovely Cosy lodge nearby reception , pool and restaurant. The staff could not have been more polite and friendly. Food in restaurant was lovely too. Facilities are great and so much to do in surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicalynch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in Patio 6 for a week as part of a free week's holiday incentive through Macdonald Hotels.Although the accommodation was not a refurbished Patio it nevertheless was clean and was more than adequate for our needs.We did have a look at some of the refurbished properties on site and they look fantastic.
Aviemore is a great base for all sorts of activities - from walking, visiting the distlleries (recommend Glenfidich) and breweries (Caingorm brewery) to the great golf on offer at Spey Valley Championsip GC (recommend that you try and get Macdonald free golf vouchers off ebay).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Timeshare exchange was of same standard (5 star) relinquished by us. Had the most comfortable bedding. Patio apartment appears to have been recently refurbished. Fully equipped kitchen. Beautiful surroundings.

Unfortunately whilst sleeping someone entered our unit and took all belongings left in the kitchen (money, credit cards, cameras, etc) and also the hired car parked outside. Management and staff were extremely helpful even waiving overseas phone call charge made by the police from our unit. However it would have made a huge difference had transport to Aviemore train station been provided when we had to go to Inverness Airport on same day. The 20 minute walk in downpour rain was extremely tough on us considering our demoralised frame of mind. Also reception not manned between 10 pm and 8 am should be reconsidered. Also recommend more security is put in place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.5 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
12.2 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
9.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
6.8 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Property: Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing