We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
51
45
58
41
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
45
58
41
156
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 351 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This review is for the restaurant only. The bar and waiting staff were really friendly and helpful. We ordered food from both the menu and the specials board, and it was served hot and tasty, albeit it was a bit of a long wait - in fact it meant more time for another round of draught beers. I would eat there again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hillcrestlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the property at 3:30 pm and there was no one there and two other couples waiting. We went and ate next door (lovely) and then returned at approx 5:30. We had to pay first (mistake) and then we were given the keys. We went to the rooms and they were very poorly decorated with terrible bathrooms. Filthy tiles and mould in the shower. It was very poor in cleanliness and facilities. It was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for.
The breakfast was good, but that was the only good bit of the stay.
The staff were very non engaging really and seemed at best apathetic.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

The outside of MacKenzie’s Highland Inn looks smart, eye catching and inviting. Unfortunately, we’d booked three nights here. We walked in, expecting good things having seen the outside, and were greeted with a demand for the cost of the stay upfront, which amounted to £200. There was no receipt provided. There was no offer to show us the rooms first, and it was a rather unfriendly and intimidating start.
We did not get shown to our room, just pointed in the general direction and handed a key.
Over the duration of our stay, we found the following issues:
Staff unfriendly, rude, not welcoming, and unpleasant in general.
Heating was adjustable in the rooms, but the rest of the hotel was freezing, particularly in the mornings.
Room door had had its lock broken at some point, and was badly repaired.
Dull, dismal lightning, poor standard of decoration, lighting in wrong place.
Carpet filthy, particularly around skirting boards.
Toilet seat not fitted properly, wall badly scraped behind toilet.
Black shower curtain
No lock on bathroom door
Towel rails/holders bent, broken or hanging crooked.
Shower drain discoloured, dirty.
Light fixture and shower fan grill covered in dust
Mirror not hung properly on top of dresser
Pictures in the room are horrible
Wardrobe doors don’t shut properly
Wifi doesn’t work in rooms, despite being told they have a new router. Wifi works fine in the bar.
No semi skimmed milk in restaurant or rooms
Full Scottish Clan Breakfast inedible (greasy, overly salty, rubbery egg) but porridge and stuffed croissant excellent
Do it yourself toast, but the toaster doesn’t work properly
Breakfast tables not laid, not obvious where to sit
Doors constantly banging with no consideration that sound carries.
Prices of drink – expensive

Really, the only good things about this place were the porridge and the stuffed croissant, which we chose to have on our last morning there. Wish we’d had that every day! Our rooms were tidied the three days we were there (despite it being the weekend), with fresh towels being provided. Felt sorry for the waitress/cleaner/general dogsbody, who seemed to do everything with no help.
I also wish we hadn’t come to this hotel (haha) in the first place. Gordon Ramsay would have a field day in here!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelleroberts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

When we checked in at the bar the welcome was fantastic, the barman could not have been nicer.

The room was very basic, small in size but had everything we needed. The bathroom was very poor, not so clean and the shampoo etc was in a sachet. Hot water tap did not work and it had an awful smell when turned on.

We did not eat in the evening in the hotel (see review for Winking Owl) we did have breakfast......

Firstly the door was wide open and the room was freezing cold. We were not shown to a table and then rather abruptly told we had sat at the wrong table....

During this time there was a cleaner/ waitress cleaning the floor in the bar, the smell of bleach was overpowering and really put me off of my breakfast. As for the food, haggis was good, the rest was overlooked and pretty bland

For £70 the hotel was very very average, I would return to the bar but not return to stay overnight.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GibbyGibsonJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

We planned on booking this for our wedding reception and everything was going great until we tried the food. The kids meals were fine except for a bit of lumpy mash, but the steak pie with red wine and mushrooms was vile. Soggy barley below the pastry made it look less than appetising, but the veg looked good. Sadly, a live caterpillar/grub also thought so and had invaded my plate. The kitchen apologised and changed it but the whole thing made my stomach churn and put me off the rest of the course. My partner picked at his and pushed it about and said he was disappointed in the small amount of meat he had. Sadly, this was our first and last visit to the inn and I was pure raging when I left. Didn't even get a discount for the horrible food despite kitchen being fully aware of the live bug being in it, and how important it was that they made an impression on us. They made an impression alright, one that means we won't be having our reception there.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews