We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Sealgair(Carrbridge)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Carrbridge)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
48
44
56
39
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
44
56
39
134
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 321 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Thirty of us booked lunch for 2pm on Saturday 8th October 2016. When we arrived at 1.45pm we were told they'd only expected us for drinks, but took our orders anyway.
Six meals were provided at 2.40pm. The rest arrived about 3'10pm. The staff were rude. I ordered fish and chips with mushy peas and tartar sauce. There was no tartar sauce and after requesting this several times I was informed they were out of it!!
There was one piece of fish with the inside of the batter not cooked. The cost was £12.50! A rip off. Other meals left a lot to be desired too. Some folk asked for dessert, but were told the Chef had gone off as he needed a rest and nothing else was available.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmondp133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This review is for the restaurant only. The bar and waiting staff were really friendly and helpful. We ordered food from both the menu and the specials board, and it was served hot and tasty, albeit it was a bit of a long wait - in fact it meant more time for another round of draught beers. I would eat there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank hillcrestlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the property at 3:30 pm and there was no one there and two other couples waiting. We went and ate next door (lovely) and then returned at approx 5:30. We had to pay first (mistake) and then we were given the keys. We went to the rooms and they were very poorly decorated with terrible bathrooms. Filthy tiles and mould in the shower. It was very poor in cleanliness and facilities. It was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for.
The breakfast was good, but that was the only good bit of the stay.
The staff were very non engaging really and seemed at best apathetic.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

The outside of MacKenzie’s Highland Inn looks smart, eye catching and inviting. Unfortunately, we’d booked three nights here. We walked in, expecting good things having seen the outside, and were greeted with a demand for the cost of the stay upfront, which amounted to £200. There was no receipt provided. There was no offer to show us the rooms first, and it was a rather unfriendly and intimidating start.
We did not get shown to our room, just pointed in the general direction and handed a key.
Over the duration of our stay, we found the following issues:
Staff unfriendly, rude, not welcoming, and unpleasant in general.
Heating was adjustable in the rooms, but the rest of the hotel was freezing, particularly in the mornings.
Room door had had its lock broken at some point, and was badly repaired.
Dull, dismal lightning, poor standard of decoration, lighting in wrong place.
Carpet filthy, particularly around skirting boards.
Toilet seat not fitted properly, wall badly scraped behind toilet.
Black shower curtain
No lock on bathroom door
Towel rails/holders bent, broken or hanging crooked.
Shower drain discoloured, dirty.
Light fixture and shower fan grill covered in dust
Mirror not hung properly on top of dresser
Pictures in the room are horrible
Wardrobe doors don’t shut properly
Wifi doesn’t work in rooms, despite being told they have a new router. Wifi works fine in the bar.
No semi skimmed milk in restaurant or rooms
Full Scottish Clan Breakfast inedible (greasy, overly salty, rubbery egg) but porridge and stuffed croissant excellent
Do it yourself toast, but the toaster doesn’t work properly
Breakfast tables not laid, not obvious where to sit
Doors constantly banging with no consideration that sound carries.
Prices of drink – expensive

Really, the only good things about this place were the porridge and the stuffed croissant, which we chose to have on our last morning there. Wish we’d had that every day! Our rooms were tidied the three days we were there (despite it being the weekend), with fresh towels being provided. Felt sorry for the waitress/cleaner/general dogsbody, who seemed to do everything with no help.
I also wish we hadn’t come to this hotel (haha) in the first place. Gordon Ramsay would have a field day in here!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelleroberts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

When we checked in at the bar the welcome was fantastic, the barman could not have been nicer.

The room was very basic, small in size but had everything we needed. The bathroom was very poor, not so clean and the shampoo etc was in a sachet. Hot water tap did not work and it had an awful smell when turned on.

We did not eat in the evening in the hotel (see review for Winking Owl) we did have breakfast......

Firstly the door was wide open and the room was freezing cold. We were not shown to a table and then rather abruptly told we had sat at the wrong table....

During this time there was a cleaner/ waitress cleaning the floor in the bar, the smell of bleach was overpowering and really put me off of my breakfast. As for the food, haggis was good, the rest was overlooked and pretty bland

For £70 the hotel was very very average, I would return to the bar but not return to stay overnight.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews