We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cairngorm Lodge Youth Hostel(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$188
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$202
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$54
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Badaguish Wigwam & Campsite(Aviemore)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
48
45
56
40
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
45
56
40
137
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 326 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2016

Was looking forward to our stay. Looks great from outside and person in the bar was very friendly. Once in the room it is very worn and could do with a lick of paint. And it was very dusty. The bathroom needed a deep clean and even a lick of paint. The bed I could feel every spring and did not sleep well. In the morning we needed to leave early so missed out on breakfast which is served from 8am. We went down stairs at 7am expecting to see them setting up but nobody was around and when I rang the phone number on the wall there was no answer. So unsure where to put the key we left it hanging in the door marked staff only hoping they would find it as we could not hang about due to needing to get to the ferry port.

Room Tip: I would give it a miss
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Went on a 3night stay with my partner on our holiday October break. On arrival hotel was closed to 4 o'clock so don't make your way any earlier!!! Got checked in and we got a ground floor room 6!!!!. As soon as you opened the door you could smell the dampness. The room was all painted in a dark red and blue but only up so far so they didn't have to do any cutting in and lines all round door frames and mirrors. Bathroom full of dampness,sink hanging off wall,shower held together with gaffer tape and held on with one screw.later. put towels down in shower and toilet floor before having a shower. Plus think some off the staff have to learn some maners!!!. It's safe to say we won't be going back to the mckenzie..........

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
Thank gordonsxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Thirty of us booked lunch for 2pm on Saturday 8th October 2016. When we arrived at 1.45pm we were told they'd only expected us for drinks, but took our orders anyway.
Six meals were provided at 2.40pm. The rest arrived about 3'10pm. The staff were rude. I ordered fish and chips with mushy peas and tartar sauce. There was no tartar sauce and after requesting this several times I was informed they were out of it!!
There was one piece of fish with the inside of the batter not cooked. The cost was £12.50! A rip off. Other meals left a lot to be desired too. Some folk asked for dessert, but were told the Chef had gone off as he needed a rest and nothing else was available.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmondp133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

This review is for the restaurant only. The bar and waiting staff were really friendly and helpful. We ordered food from both the menu and the specials board, and it was served hot and tasty, albeit it was a bit of a long wait - in fact it meant more time for another round of draught beers. I would eat there again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank hillcrestlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the property at 3:30 pm and there was no one there and two other couples waiting. We went and ate next door (lovely) and then returned at approx 5:30. We had to pay first (mistake) and then we were given the keys. We went to the rooms and they were very poorly decorated with terrible bathrooms. Filthy tiles and mould in the shower. It was very poor in cleanliness and facilities. It was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for.
The breakfast was good, but that was the only good bit of the stay.
The staff were very non engaging really and seemed at best apathetic.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PaulyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews