We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
Spey Lodge from the outside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spey Lodge from the outside
Warm and inviting living room Spacious kitchen with breakfast bar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Spey Lodge from the outside
Warm and inviting living room
Spacious kitchen with breakfast bar
Enjoy home cooked meals on holiday
Dining area with forest views
Double bedroom
Double/twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Cinema area with Wii/Blu Ray player
Tranquil setting in the Cairngorms National Park
Rainbow over the Cairngorms National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Boxerdogm...
Polmont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We booked Spey Lodge for a family weekend and mountain biking weekend. The lodge is perfect for a family gathering and is set in beautiful woodlands. The grand children had a great time, both in the grounds and in the evening watching the enormous TV screen. The open plan arrangement works an absolute treat and lends itself to a truly sociable gathering. Would I recommend Spey Lodge, most definitely yes. Would I stay again, I've already booked for next year!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Thank you Boxerdogman for such a lovely review. It is really appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maysmum
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect family break away”
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Booked the lodge for 3 nights for 6 adults and a baby. Took a bit of finding as it was dark when we arrived - (apologies to the neighbour as we did drive into their garden by mistake). It was cold inside and even after we had worked the heating out it took a good few hours to warm up. Wasn't a huge problem though.
The kitchen is just amazingly equipped - everything you could possibly need is provided. The open planning means that even when cooking you don't feel isolated.
The bean bags were great for keeping the baby in one place and at night were used to sit on whilst playing board games and watching films via the projector.
The beds were extremely comfy and the duvets the best I've encountered away from home. Plenty of hot water for bathing/showering and the log burner was just the best.
The surrounding area is beautiful and we were lucky enough to have just enough snow for it be fun.
I would love to return and highly recommend the lodge . My full deposit was returned very quickly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Great to hear that you had a lovely trip Maysmum and thank you for the lovely review. We will of course welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTMum20
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect forest hideaway for family or friends.”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great property with relaxed atmosphere and secluded location. Perfect for activity based holiday as you're right in the forest next to tracks leading into the Rothiemurchus Estate. Large picture windows perfect for watching the wildlife, particularly the red squirrels. We'll be back.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Great to hear that you had a lovely trip MTMum20 and thank you for the lovely review. We will of course welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William B
2 reviews
“Great week”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our 3rd year at Spey lodge, and it's still as good as first time. We saw red squirrels right outside the windows and found some new walls we hadn't done before

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Hi William.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider Spey Lodge for a 4th time sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieGib
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect location for a family holiday”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The ages in our family group ranged from my parents, in their 80s, to my 1 year old grandson and Spey Lodge was the perfect place to stay for a real family holiday. The tranquil setting was ideal for my parents to sit and relax, whilst the close proximity to a range of outdoor activities was great for my younger, more energetic, daughters and their partners. As chief cook and bottle washer, I was grateful for the exceptionally well equipped kitchen and the very large, uniquely designed living space, which made it possible to cater for 8 adults easily whilst sharing banter with my parents in the sitting area and watching over my grandson in the den we made him with the beanbags in the cinema area. My only hesitation in recommending this property too highly is that it might be fully booked when we are able to visit again and none of us can think of a place we would prefer to stay together!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything as so wonderful, it is too hard to choose!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepingC...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a well designed property which maximises its location in the heart of a forest. We saw many birds and animals just watching from the living room and kitchen windows, including deer and hares.

Points to be aware of is that there are some steps up to the property and there is no sign at the turn off so we initially drove past the opening. You can't see the house from the road.

I was also surprised that the cost of the electricity we used was deducted from our deposit. I would normally expect that to be included in the rent. But these are minor issues. The property was spacious, clean and well appointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Late deposit return
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hen702
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant Lodge, in a brilliant setting.”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in the Speyside lodge between the 10th and 14th April, our party consisted of 7 adults, one child, one baby and two dogs.
The lodge is very comfortable, and well equipped, and even with such a large party it was big enough for all plus more. The setting is beautiful and quiet, set in the outskirts of a forest, and with no other houses in sight. From the door of the lodge there are some fantastic scenic walks through the forest.
Being only 1 1/12 miles from Aviemore, access to shops and other amenities is easy.
Would highly recommend to families, and people of all ages, but only if you want a quiet peaceful scenic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location, and the sheer size of the property.Fully equipped with everything you need.
Liked least: Height of the shower, (All males are over 6' 3")
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing