We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just right for what we wanted....”
other travellers have booked this property
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Living/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
59 reviews
The Shelter Stone Cottage
Living/dining room
Aviemore Sunrise
Kitchen
Car Parking area
Cottage front garden
double bedroom
Santa is having a wee break at The Shelter Stone Cottage!!
Santa's friend the Snowman is spending a break with him after Christmas
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
adrianafa...
England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just right for what we wanted....”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

two bedroomed self catering ideally located in walking distance to everything - perfect for family with two children - really enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, everything on same floor.
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
thank you so much...you are also what we in the trade call "ideal customers"!! you are most welcome at any time and I much appreciate how nicely you left the cottage....like so many of my guests over the years who arrive as strangers and leave as friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia F
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location for a Ski Weekend”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is modern and cosy, which is great in the middle of a Scottish winter. The cottage itself is located on the main street of Aviemore and is easy to find with lots of off road parking. The owner was really flexible with our arrival time, as she lives nearby, which was fantastic as we had a late start from Aberdeen.

Furthermore, upon arrival the owner was quick to mention that we shouldn't feel any need to rush to leave on our departure day. Unfortunately, due to the weather not being on our side, we couldn't ski on the Cairngorm ski resort and went to the Lecht on our first day and on our depature day, Glenshee. Because Glenshee is a little further away, we decided to leave early and this was no issue for the owner. The front door is self-locking so we left the keys in the cottage and were on our way.

We used the oven on the first night and this was easy to operate. Also, there is a Tesco nearby which is really convenient for grabbing what we needed. The best thing was that there was enough hot water for all 4 of us after a day on the slopes. The cottage had towels provided which was a bonus for the price that we got for it!

During our weekend, we visited the Winking Owl to watch the Calcutta Cup and also found Ski-ing Doo, which is a great little snow sport enthusiast hidey-hole. Unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to visit much else but I'm sure I'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and abundant hot water
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
I'm glad you all had such a good time in Aviemore and look forward to a return visit! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudz-St
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good value accommodation”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Owner friendly and welcoming, bothy small but warm and comfortable, had everything we needed. Great for small family group.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2013
so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for leaving everything so neat and tidy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leona van...
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
I am so glad that you had a lovely stay in The Shelter Stone Cottage and I look forward to seeing you again...regards Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janny V
Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
So glad you had a lovely stay in Aviemore
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing