We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing rental house in fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Squirrels

Front Drive early spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Drive early spring
Hall & Stairway Hall at Christmas time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front Drive early spring
Hall & Stairway
Hall at Christmas time
Lounge with 8KW log fire
Lounge
Kitchen with Aga range
Kitchen with 10 seater table
Bathroom downstairs walk in shower
Bathroom downstairs
Rear living room downstairs
Rear living room downstairs
Downstairs king size bedroom
Upstairs king size bedroom with cot & single bed
Upstairs kingsize bedroom with cot and single bed
Bunk bedroom (adult size)
Upstairs bathroom with bath & shower
Upstairs bathroom with bath & shower unit
Upstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs twin bedroom
Top landing with Yamaha keyboard
Games room with football table
Games room with pool table
Rear garden early spring
Rear enclosed garden with  8 seater picnic table
Picnic table 8 seater
Red Squirrel in back garden
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Inga A
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing rental house in fantastic location”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We've just returned from our weekend stay at 'The Squirrels' and we were thoroughly impressed by the experience. The initial process of booking was very efficient, as was all the information provided to us by Ian before our arrival.

We were meeting up with family and needed a large place, which 'The Squirrels' certainly provided, with 5 bedrooms, a large dining kitchen, living room and extra 'snug' area with sofa and TV, allowing the adults and kids their own space. The pool and football tables were also greatly enjoyed! The decor is to a very high standard throughout, and the house provided all the comforts of home.

The location is great as it is so close to all the amenities of Aviemore as well as being right in the midst of the beautiful countryside. We enjoyed spotting the wildlife in the garden-particularly the squirrels having their snack!

We'll certainly make a booking again in the future.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ECMGlasgo...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family accomodation”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We visited The Squirrels as an extended family group of 10 people spanning 3 generations. The accommodation worked very well for us because the two sitting rooms plus the dining area in the kitchen meant that we could spread ourselves out without hiding in bedrooms and not feel we were living on top of one another. The house is very comfortable, well maintained and well equipped and there was plenty of space for us to park our 3 cars (there was enough space for more than 3 cars but at least one car would then have been blocked in). We didn't use the games room much because of the ages of the children but it would be excellent for other families.
Red squirrels were regular visitors to the garden during our stay, as were a variety of birds and there was plenty of other wildlife to be seem at various locations in the area.
We had a great holiday at The Squirrels and would recommend it as somewhere to stay to explore all that the Aviemore area has to offer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhona H
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Home”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable week in this spacious and comfortable holiday home celebrating a Diamond Wedding Anniversary. It was the perfect place for a three generation family holiday. Our hosts had left a thoughtful gift for the happy couple which was a much appreciated gesture. I hope we have occasion to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
globemast...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable and clean stay- very enjoyable!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had to rent a place for up to 8 of us to stay and The Squirrels was just perfect for our needs. A week long outdoor activities break in the Scottish Highlands- just what we needed.


On arrival we had all the neccessary details for obtaining entry and once inside this very well decorated, vast house opened up before us. We all got settled into the room ( I had the master bedroom which was huge- very very happy)

Spacious kitchen with large dining table, lounge with Sky tv and an additional TV room that can double as an extra bed if needed. Wi-Fi available too which was a bonus.

Lovely garden with garden furniture to eat out if the weather permits?

Great facilites for bathing and washing clothes and a fantastic location very close to Aviemore (walkable) and Cairn Gorm (short drive 10 mins)

We had an amazing week and would recommend this rental to anyone with a family or large group of friends - very clean, spacious and ideal!

Would return in the future for sure

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and facilities
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$430
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing