We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
262
63
24
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
63
24
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmon fishingwine lista pre dinner drinkmalt whiskiesscallopswonderful hoteldining roomreception areagreat characterlovely groundsfirst classlambdinner menulovely ladyboth nightsold friendsroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 353 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

A gem of a hotel. A time capsule. Chintz and comfort. Beautifully kept and managed with care. Don't bother eating out the food is top class. The atmosphere was warm and homely with a timeless elegance that would have not looked out of place in an Agatha Christie movie - we loved our stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beforeyouaccuseme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

I am a frequent Scotland traveller and recently stayed at Forss House Hotel for the first time. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during my 20 years travelling to Scotland. The room was quiet and big, the bathroom had a shower plus a bathtub. The dinner was excellent and service very friendly. Anne is a wonderful host and we regretted not to have been able to stay longer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We had 2 nights here in Oct. The room was large and bed was huge. Considering that the weather was not great the hotel was very cosy.
We could not fault the evening meals or the breakfasts. All food was locally sourced and best quality.
Staff were friendly and helpful with a very relaxed atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2017

This was our second visit, as we had enjoyed the first so much.

We stayed 2 nights this time so we could explore the surroundings more.

As before we were in the River House, which we had liked - for those of a certain age and inclinations who could resist a room called Fast Eddie? - and were not disappointed.

Food in the restaurant was as good as previously, very well judged combinations of flavours, with well-balanced being the words which most sprang to mind. The wine list, while small, is well-chosen and well-priced.

The best bit was walking down the Forss Water, watching salmon jumping, to St Mary's Chapel, then sitting on the nearby rocks, looking out into the Pentland Firth and watching passing dolphins (at least 2 species), harbour porpoises and, best of all, an orca.

Cannot fault it in any way.

Room Tip: We liked the River House rooms, but have not stayed in the main building so cannot compare.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GreenLinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

The Forss House Hotel is a delightful place to stay for a few nights and is a useful base for exploring the north coast of Scotland. It's also a good place to stay if you're travelling on the NC500 as it's about a comfortable day's drive from Inverness in one direction and Ullapool in the other.
You'll need your own transport as the hotel is located about 10 minute's drive west of Thurso and is situated down a long driveway off the highway. This also means that it's quiet and there is no traffic noise. The hotel itself is surrounded by pleasant gardens and is adjacent to the river (the Forss Water). This makes for pleasant wandering and (apparently) good salmon fishing.
The rooms themselves are quite large, very clean and are a typical old fashioned style. I would suggest that you request a room on the upper floors as the view from the lower ground floors is a bit limited and there also less privacy when there are people in the garden.
The staff were also very helpful and friendly.
As the hotel is some distance from Thurso (and I suspect the restaurant choices may not be extensive in that town), I suggest taking the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food in the restaurant was good and there was a reasonably extensive wine and spirits selection. Similarly, breakfast in the conservatory was also very good.
All in all, a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the upper floors due to limited views from the lower ground floors and reduced privacy with people in the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews