We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing”
Review of Forss House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forss House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 December 2017

A charming, traditional, Scottish country house hotel, set in a lovely elevated position above the falls on Forss Water. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and well appointed with a real homely feel. The evening meal was superb, with every course beautifully prepared and presented. The bar is cosy and exceedingly well stocked with single malts, however the local Caithness gin is the real gem. The hospitality was superb, with the staff wonderfully friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainBork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

A gem of a hotel. A time capsule. Chintz and comfort. Beautifully kept and managed with care. Don't bother eating out the food is top class. The atmosphere was warm and homely with a timeless elegance that would have not looked out of place in an Agatha Christie movie - we loved our stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beforeyouaccuseme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I am a frequent Scotland traveller and recently stayed at Forss House Hotel for the first time. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during my 20 years travelling to Scotland. The room was quiet and big, the bathroom had a shower plus a bathtub. The dinner was excellent and service very friendly. Anne is a wonderful host and we regretted not to have been able to stay longer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We had 2 nights here in Oct. The room was large and bed was huge. Considering that the weather was not great the hotel was very cosy.
We could not fault the evening meals or the breakfasts. All food was locally sourced and best quality.
Staff were friendly and helpful with a very relaxed atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This was our second visit, as we had enjoyed the first so much.

We stayed 2 nights this time so we could explore the surroundings more.

As before we were in the River House, which we had liked - for those of a certain age and inclinations who could resist a room called Fast Eddie? - and were not disappointed.

Food in the restaurant was as good as previously, very well judged combinations of flavours, with well-balanced being the words which most sprang to mind. The wine list, while small, is well-chosen and well-priced.

The best bit was walking down the Forss Water, watching salmon jumping, to St Mary's Chapel, then sitting on the nearby rocks, looking out into the Pentland Firth and watching passing dolphins (at least 2 species), harbour porpoises and, best of all, an orca.

Cannot fault it in any way.

Room Tip: We liked the River House rooms, but have not stayed in the main building so cannot compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GreenLinnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

The Forss House Hotel is a delightful place to stay for a few nights and is a useful base for exploring the north coast of Scotland. It's also a good place to stay if you're travelling on the NC500 as it's about a comfortable day's drive from Inverness in one direction and Ullapool in the other.
You'll need your own transport as the hotel is located about 10 minute's drive west of Thurso and is situated down a long driveway off the highway. This also means that it's quiet and there is no traffic noise. The hotel itself is surrounded by pleasant gardens and is adjacent to the river (the Forss Water). This makes for pleasant wandering and (apparently) good salmon fishing.
The rooms themselves are quite large, very clean and are a typical old fashioned style. I would suggest that you request a room on the upper floors as the view from the lower ground floors is a bit limited and there also less privacy when there are people in the garden.
The staff were also very helpful and friendly.
As the hotel is some distance from Thurso (and I suspect the restaurant choices may not be extensive in that town), I suggest taking the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food in the restaurant was good and there was a reasonably extensive wine and spirits selection. Similarly, breakfast in the conservatory was also very good.
All in all, a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the upper floors due to limited views from the lower ground floors and reduced priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. We arrived early and once we found the lady that appears to run the place (Anne) we were given our key and directed to our fishing lodge. Sadly the roof had collapsed in the bathroom which meant our room was uninhabitable. Luckily there was room for us in the main house.
We found Anne and the other staff to be very friendly. Although very grand it has a relaxed feel. The food was excellent and the breakfast was the best smoked salmon and scrambled eggs I've ever had.
We enjoyed the local gin in the bar ( poured in large measures) and then went off in search for a bottle at the nearby distillery.
The only niggle we had was with wifi. We couldn't get any in our room. Perhaps a blessing?!
We would stay here again but would definitely ensure we're booked in the main house.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mainwaringtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
16.2 km away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
219 reviews
37.2 km away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
470 reviews
18.6 km away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
145 reviews
33.7 km away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
8.4 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forss House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forss House Hotel

Address: Forss, Thurso KW14 7XY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range: $197 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forss House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forss House is a delightful 1810 country home nestling in 20 acres of woodland, below a waterfall, on the gently meandering River Forss. A 14 bedroom family owned hotel Forss House is an elegant comfortable haven that puts you instantly at ease with a welcoming staff keen to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Forss House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forss Hotel Thurso
Forss House Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing