We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
36
72
51
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
72
51
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an older hotel half portion sunday carvery deep fried food small bath replenished regularly buffet breakfast nice surroundings the sticky toffee pudding dining room friendly hotel no elevator sash windows last minute booking single room old fashioned night stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 202 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2018

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Despite being old, the hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel on both days and the food was certainly of a decent standard.

Although it is located in the centre of town, Thurso is so small that there is not really much to do around the hotel.

Important to note is that the rooms do not have a safe.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LinSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hello LinSouthAfrica, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciated your feedback.
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We liked this old hotel a lot. It seemed like a weekend stop from 1940. Very clean room private bath room,new tv, everything was in good repair. All of the staff was very friendly and quickly attended to all that we asked for. Bring your own washcloth. The food and service in the dining room and in the bar were fine. No elevator. If you are mobility impaired in any way this hotel is not for you. A newsstand (no food/beverage sold) and Chinese take are the only business nearby.

Room Tip: it is all very quiet
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jel72018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Jel72018, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are glad you found your stay with us to be enjoyable, and that our staff were helpful, thank you for your kind comments.
We are currently undergoing some major renovations and improvements throughout the hotel, so we will take on board your feedback regarding providing wash cloths within the rooms, as well as the possibility of having an elevator installed. However we do currently have disabled access to our bar areas and function rooms, as well as a disabled toilet in the reception area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Once through the revolving doors and you are in a comfortable atmosphere of dark wood, thick carpets, big armchairs and a fire burning at one end of the reception lounge. Quick and friendly reception and it is up to the first floor where there is another sitting room with more comfy chairs and an ancient looking set of Encyclopedia Britannica on the bookshelves. It also has that wallpaper that looks like books but they can be forgiven for that.. The room itself is also comfortable, if a bit bare looking, but the other real selling point is a proper tub in the bathroom.
The morning buffet has a fine selection for a massive Scottish breakfast, including haggis and black pudding of course. Coffee is brought to the table.
There is a bar, but most people are in there for meals and it is not really a place to sit and while away the evening over a beer or whisky.
On the last visit to Thurso, some years ago, this was a tired old place. It has had quite a makeover since then.

Room Tip: Not much view out of the back rooms, but probably more quiet
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are glad to hear that you found your stay with us to be comfortable, and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
We have recently and are continually carrying out some renovations and improvements throughout the hotel so we are very pleased to hear you have noticed this and will take on board your feedback regarding the bedroom and bar atmosphere to continue to improve the hotels features.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Stayed here on business . Rooms are a bit dated but on the whole decent value for money . Staff are very friendly and very helpful . Breakfast is very good buffet style . On street parking . Kind of old style hotel . lounge and bar area very friendly .

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank reloader22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hello Reloader22, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you found your stay with us to be enjoyable.
We are currently carrying out major renovations and improvements throughout the hotel which is a lengthy process unfortunately so it will take some time for these to be seen around the entire hotel, but we hope to welcome you back again in the future and you will hopefully be able to see our completed updated renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Over priced accomodation with poor hygeen standards if your going to stay in this place check your bed first as i did then ask for a discount for shareing with the previous occupent.No heating in the room i stayed in and the warm water took forever.poor toilet facility's.confusing room numbering poor directions and signage.

Bar ?
Well after a hard day's work all you want to relax is a nice pint.....my advice go to the local pub. Lager is flat,staff are very uninterested and it's a lotto if you can get served that is when the bar staff arnt on there phones or day dreaming.on a positive note the beer is not a bad pint if and when you get served it.

Food?
Overpriced but is of a decent standard.point to not check the prices first and don't get stung as i did.£15 for a Sunday lunch with very limited portions of meat.

Parking
Hit and miss I had to park my company vehicle a 10min walk away.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank martinwC660BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews