We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
112
128
65
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
128
65
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery coach parties buffet style wedding venue fresh fruit business trip good nights sleep both nights enjoyable stay excellent breakfast town centre warm welcome john o groats roast berries andrew sweets
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 353 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Gate 1 tour. The "pickins are slim" (only 4 hotels in Wick) as you get up into the Highlands, but this hotel was well situated for our trip to the Orkney Islands the next day. Our room was clean but quite small and sparsely furnished. The bed was creaky and small (double bed?), and the room wasn't much wider...a desk and chair rounded out the furnishings...very little space to even open luggage! In the future, I plan to ask for "2 twin beds" to insure that we don't get "double" beds again. The ensuite bathroom was fine - shower had loads of hot water, and there were plenty of towels. The internet worked fine. The group ate 2 pre-selected dinners and 2 buffet breakfasts together in the dining room; they were served simply; the food was ample. Staff was helpful and friendly. This hotel definitely needs some updating...I was shocked to see that it was rated as 4-stars!!! It was fine for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't plan an extended vacation here!

Room tip: Ask for twin beds to insure that you do not get a "double (54") bed!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniMadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Hello MiniMadi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is appreciated,
We thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us, and are glad to hear you found our staff to be helpful. We are currently undergoing major renovations throughout the hotel which will take some time to be seen across the whole hotel, however we can assure you we are working hard on updating the hotel and will take on board your feedback regarding the rooms and furnishings.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future to see our new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

We were part of a tour group. We arrived in the early evening in time for a very good dinner. The bar area was very quiet later in the evening.
The room was small but comfortable - absolutely fine for an overnight.
The breakfast was good before we set off again on our travels.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Hello LightAleCavalier, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your kind words are brilliant to hear, and we hope that you might choose to return and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is lovely. Yes a bit out dated in area and the outside is nothing to look at. My hubby booked this one on line. I joked with as the outside looks like a care home. But don't let this put you off.
The food in the bar was amazing. All the staff were helpful and very friendly.
Fantastic breakfast and plenty of time to go. 6.30-9
Our room was on the front, looking out onto the river. Shame the river was so low. Birds were noisy in the morning.
It was a big room with an enormous bed (two singles) very comfy and clean. Nice big bath,with a shower, really hot water.
Would highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CaroleM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Hello CaroleM41, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback from your stay is greatly appreciated!
We are delighted to hear you were not let down by your pretenses of our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon in the future, and thank you again for your kind words about our staff and hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

This is a decent little hotel in the not so decent town of Wick. Does the job and nothing more... Clean and comfortable but in depserate, desperate need of renovation! Creaky floors and old decor and fixings from the 70s when this was likely built.

Would only recommend if you just need a no nonsense place to stay, which was luckily all we needed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joeigglypuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello Joe N,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you found your stay to be comfortable. We are actually in the process of carrying out various renovations and improvements throughout the hotel, so we will take on board your feedback about our floors and decor to improve this for future visitors. We hope to welcome you back soon in the future where you can hopefully enjoy our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Went here for dinner last night while we were visiting the area and wouldn't advise anyone to go there.Firstly my husband fancied the curry to be told there was no rice left ,that in itself I thought was awful can't imagine a hotel that can't boil up a portion of rice.we then decided we would both have chicken balmoral ,the chicken was so tough we couldn't even cut it, apparently it was a new batch in yesterday and the chef was going to take it up with their supplier.They had more complaints about it prior to us having it so why even serve it up to us.In all fairness after we complained they did not charge us but didn't help that we thought we were going for a nice meal while on holiday.Avoid

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Hello Ann S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please accept our sincere apologies that both you and your husband were disappointed with your experience and meal. Could I please ask you to email us to get further information on the matter so that we can learn from the experience and ensure that it is an isolated one. info@norsemanhotelwick.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews