We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One evening meal”
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #49 of 281 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to Indian Ocean in Inverness, tempted by an unrivaled range of authentic & imaginative traditional indian foods. Our food is cooked to the highest standards only using the best quality & freshest ingredients. Our approach to healthy cooking is that we try to minimize additives in our dishes. We never forget that without our customers, many of whom have become friends, none of this success would be possible. So enjoy your meal & have a memorable experience.
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Chosen by chance from the hotel local guide. Very enjoyable Scottish style Indian!
Extensive menu.
Attentive staff but not over the top;
Most of my fellow diners seemed to be enjoying themselves also.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello Craig

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that other diners did also. We hope that next time you are in the area you will join us again for another enjoyable meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 428 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2018

We decided to avoid the potential Friday night rush by dining early so the place was quiet as we'd hoped. The Staff were friendly and welcoming and we were seated straight away. I had the Lamb Bhuna and my husband had the Special Tandoori Chicken with cashews. He said it was the best Indian meal he's had in a long time. Starters, mains and a bottle of wine for £40 was good value in our opinion and we would certainly dine here again when visiting Inverness which we do a few times a year.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agnesmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello Agnes

Thank you for reviewing your meal with us. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your visit, and that you left satisfied. We pride ourselves on great quality food, at a good price. We look forward to having you dine with us again on your return visit to Inverness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

Food was delicious. Staff friendly. Can’t fault it. Recommend. That’s all I want to say but apparently I have to write more to satisfy trip advisor. Hope this is now enough for me to be able to submit.

Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello Chris

Thank you so much for reviewing your meal, and we are delighted you could sum up your visit so simply. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

I’ve tried various Indian restaurants in Inverness and flavour wise, this was quite good in comparison.
Prawn puri starter was tasty but the Puri was undercooked and stodgy.
I tried the Indian Ocean special which was supposed to be medium hot but was actually very sweet and not medium, which actually suited my particular taste. Pilau rice was a bit stodgy and like the puri, the peshwari naan was also undercooked. So overall good flavours, let down by poor cooking of the ‘breads’.

1  Thank Duncrieviedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello Duncrieviedude

Thank you for visiting our establishment and taking the time to review your meal.
We are delighted to hear that the flavours of our food compare well to others in Inverness, and we are sorry that the meal didn't live up to standards in other areas.We hope that you will visit again so we can delight your tastebuds with flavour again and hopefully we will have improved in the "breads" area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed my birthday curry here with a party of friends, the staff were helpful and the food was very tasty, surprised on a Friday night how quiet it was?!!
An excellent menu our table of meat eaters, vegetarians and vegans were all catered for and with doggy bags I loved all dishes the following day!
Give it a go, it may be closest to the bus/rail station rather than the city centre streets but you’ll get good food and service!

1  Thank DougalWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hello DougalWestWales
Thank you so much for reviewing your birthday meal with us. We are delighted we could add to your special day, and that your meal lived up to expectations. We pride ourselves on being able to cater for all, and I'm so glad we were able to do so for you.
We look forward to having you return soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing