We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, cozy and warm and friendly staff”
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #48 of 282 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to Indian Ocean in Inverness, tempted by an unrivaled range of authentic & imaginative traditional indian foods. Our food is cooked to the highest standards only using the best quality & freshest ingredients. Our approach to healthy cooking is that we try to minimize additives in our dishes. We never forget that without our customers, many of whom have become friends, none of this success would be possible. So enjoy your meal & have a memorable experience.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

We wanted to try out at this restaurant, though there were some negative reviews about this restaurant on the google, which turned out to be wrong.We were warmly welcomed and were allowed to choose our table.The owner and the staff were friendly and courteous. and the menu had plenty of veg/non veg items.The food was good and tasty and the rates around here are more or less, the same in all the nearby indian restaurants

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devanand s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Hello devanandsubbaraj
Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to review your meal. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so thoroughly and that we could make your visit comfortable. We hope you choose to dine with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 438 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

My partner and myself have been going to Indian Ocean for many years now. The owner is almost always working at the front of house and always greets us both with a very warm welcome. The staff are always lovely and professional, even at busy times. The food is always hot, fresh and always tastes great. The price for 2 starters, 2 main meals with 2 side and 2 drinks is fantastic costing around £35 (if I remember correctly.) which is under priced compared to other reasturants "the same as this" around the area.

If you are wanting a good authentic Indian meal with great staff and for a great price within a very short walking distance of 2 car parks, then this is the place for you. Will not go anywhere else.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Callum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Hello Callum
Thank you for taking the time to review us, and for being such a loyal customer over the years. We are delighted that we can always give you a great dining experience, and that you enjoy the service while sitting in. We hope you continue being a loyal customer for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

We thought the best Indian meal we had ever had was in Mother India in Glasgow but this was beaten by the meal we had on Friday evening during our first visit to Indian Ocean in Inverness. Friendly staff, original menu and beautiful food, we'll definitely be returning!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Hello Olivia
Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that you had your best Indian ever! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and I hope we can keep our top spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Phoned for home delivery. Two standard curries plus two standard rice. £29.30 !!!!
Is that not expensive for two curries? Although food was good the price was, in my opinion, ridiculous. Will not be returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Hello Brian
Thank you for choosing to order your meal from us, and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the price. We choose only use high quality ingredients cooked by expert chefs, and also have a small charge for home delivery. We do try to ensure our prices match that of our local competitors without compromising on quality, so we do hope that you will choose to dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2018

Was working in Inverness during the week. Had popadums chutney etc. Veg pakora and chicken tikka Karahi Bhuna. Plain paratha
Really nice food. Served fresh and hot
Lovely manager and really friendly welcome
Will definitely return
Thanks

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank fastskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Manager at Indian Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Hello Fastskier
Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to leave a review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal, and that you were made to feel welcome. Thank you again for your custom and we really look forward to having you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing