We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Holiday Inn, but very good Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn, but very good Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just a Holiday Inn. but isn't it a beauty to know in advance what to expect? :)

though there were some things that made this Holiday Inn a very good Holiday Inn:
1) Staff was incredibly helpful, polite and courteous, always greeting you with a smile
2) Complimentary breakfast: much better than expected for a freebie
3) Very reasonable price: even on New Year night the cost of the room was very affordable
4) Extra electric heater in your room so you can make it as warm as you like.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback which I have relayed back to the staff, it always pleases us when our guests not only enjoy their stay but share this with ourselves and others. we hope that you will come back and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    363
    137
    33
    7
See reviews for
182
295
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

As usual a reasonable night only one problem TV reception very poor need to be sorted.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldcountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just had a two day break at the Express by Holiday Inn at Stoneyfield near Inverness.
First, the complaint.
On checking in and producing the printed form inviting us to take advantage of "Complimentary Wi-Fi during your stay" we were told that the Hotel were not doing this as they were changing providers and were maybe not going to continue the offer. As it was on the Hotel wbsite a few hours before we checked in, I found this strange. I tried to connect my laptop in the room and found that there was indeed a Wi-Fi connection available and I simply needed a vouched code for access. I duly returned to reception and after a little gentle persuation given a code by the duty manager. (which unfortunately expired on the second evening). My complaint is:- Why was I told that the provider was changing and the offer was not available, when it clearly was. Sorry guys, but if you advertise "complimentary Wi-Fi" when booking, you really shouldn't use excuses for not providing it.
OK that's that out of the way. The Hotel was fairly close to a sizeable retail park with a couple of fast food outlets and a big Tesco,so you won't starve. Quite a few other shops to browse as well.
A bus stop, where you can get a cheap trip into Inverness city is situated in the retail park, with very regular buses,so you can have a night out without worrying about driving, or taking taxis if you're on a tight budget.
The Hotel has a huge car park and a decent restaurant next door . The Snow Goose has a good menu and reasonable prices.
The rooms are modern and clean, with a good sized en-suite shower room. Unlike a lot of reasonably priced ( I hate the phrase "Budget") hotels, the room heating worked and was controlable by the guest. The bed was adequet but not as comfy as we had experienced in other Holiday Inns. The public areas were clean and modern, with little damage to fittings etc. The Great Room, with small bar and TV's was well furnished and again, spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served here from 06.30 til 10.00am, and was of very good quality. There was plenty of choice for all tastes, the tables were kept cleared and cleaned (the duty manager was
also helping when the restaurant was busy) The staff were polite and helpfull, as was Weronika, the young lady who looked after our room. It was nice to see a mixture of staff ages, as guests from teenagers to OAP's can feel comfortable asking for help. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again, nor to recommend it for anyone who wants to visit Inverness, but doesn't want to shell out a fortune for some of the overpriced city places. Top marks Express by Holiday Inn, Inverness, thanks for a nice break (don't forget the Wi-Fi though)

Room Tip: We always try to get a room where we can see the car, but it's not required here. We were at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick.ferries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Inverness, I am extremely sorry about the confusion to do with your internet voucher and am glad that this was sorted out to your satisfaction. The offer that you are speaking about is free wi-fi for the first night stay only as provided. Again accept my apologise for the misunderstanding. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and thank you for your detailed description of what we offer and how comfortable the staff made your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a great hotel. Room and bathroom were lovely. Bed was comfortable and choice of pillows. Breakfast in morning was wonderful. lots of variety of hot and cold food. Staff were very pleasant. Nice outlook out our window over the water.Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Coming from New Zealand, on our first trip to Scotland, we came to Inverness with no knowledge of the city. This hotel isn't central, however having a rental vehicle, it was easy to access the city from the hotel. We enjoyed our stay, with helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast was also welcomed and more than adequate. Would stay there again if we ever made it back to Inverness.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and we really hope that when you visit the highlands again you will stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We arrived early, before check in time, having travelled overnight adn asked if we could check in. We were told we could if our room was ready, but sadly it wasn't so we went away and had a nap in the car until we could check in. The weather by then was atrocious with sleat and a gale force wind, but we were given a warm welcome. After a shower, we fought our way across the car park to the inviting-looking pub for dinner, only to find a note on the door to say they had had to close due to the weather conditions (we found out later that the roof was leaking). Back at the hotel we asked where we could eat and were told that we could have a take-away delivered to eat in the lounge. Several menus were handed to us & we ordered a very nice Chinese meal. Other guests ordered Indian food or Pizzas. It was just a pity that the hotel hadn't put a notice on the inside of their door to warn us that the pub was closed and save us the very wet and chilly walk.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Complimentary hot & cold breakfast was included in the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Happy New Year to you and thank you for letting us know about the good and the bad points of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and sadly the staff within the hotel on the evening of the Snow Goose shutting its doors were not informed themselves to do with this until later in the evening, we certainly would have informed our guests if we know about the problem but would like to apologise for the Inconvenience cause
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Business took me to Inverness and the Holiday Inn Express. Although not my first choice for a budget hotel brand, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, although the bathroom layout6 is a little quirky. The price includes an adequate hot and cold buffet breakfast which set me up for the day. Location by the retail park and Snowgoose pub was perfect, with a meal and the cinema filling my otherwise lonely evening. The staff were friendly and helpful - I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.8 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.9 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing