We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We upgraded to a Royal package for a one night stopover prior to getting the London train out early in the morning. Lovely corner room at the front, not too noisy despite overlooking the main street. Very friendly and helpful receptionist with a friendly welcome despite being busy when we arrived. The fruit bowl which comes as part of the Royal package is worth the upgrade price on its own - my partner was still eating the contents two days later!
The only drawback is the Ash restaurant (as many other reviewers have noted). Our food was fine (especially the wonderful cheeseboard) but some (not all - the girl with the red hair was lovely!) of the staff were abrupt and unhelpful. When we came to order a bottle of wine, the first three we chose were not available and the waiter brought something totally different, I suspect hoping we wouldn't notice! Eventually we settled on one which was fine, but not what we would ideally have wanted to go with our main courses. Apparently the wine list is being changed, so why bother with the printed list and instead produce a typed list which does actually reflect what is available? No-one bothered to explain what we could have as part of our all-inclusive package so it was more by luck than judgement that we didn't go over our allowance.
Breakfast was hit and miss - again the food was fine but the staff were surly, especially when asked for juice which was still being poured out of cardboard cartons 20 minutes after service was meant to start! Again no-one bothered to explain what was available and it's a shame you have to fetch absolutely everything yourself - even sugar for coffee!
Apart from those moans, the hotel is lovely and perfect if you are visiting the city or catching a train. Watch out for deals - there are frequently some great ones available.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Royal package if you can - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rupert_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    649
    365
    153
    131
See reviews for
236
833
140
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Me and my hubbie stayed for the weekend and it was the best value deal we have had! For £89 we had 2 nights in a gorgeous room, brilliant food and cockails in the ASH restaurant and lovely staff and service. I emailed the hotel the wee before to see if we could upgrade for my hubbies birthday and they gave us a beautiful suite with a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath!
Can't fault this hotel, it was just lovely and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellym13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the 4 poster suite with jacuzzi bath as a special treat following your notification that your husband had a birthday. We are sure that your return visit in the not too distant future will also be memorable and that you may experience another of our individually furnished rooms .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south cumbria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Another super weekend at Inverness. Excellent value very comfortable beds. fantastic choice at breakfast. As the dining room is being renovated meals are in the Ash Restaurant so it was a bit crowded on Sunday morning but fine Mon. Tues.Wed. Staff very helpful and it must be hard work for them having to set everything out in a smaller space. We dined in the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and beautifully presented. Full marks for effort. If anyone doesn't like it here they must be very hard to please. ( Wonder what conditions they have at home ???) lovely clean bedding and towels and all the staff are pleasant and do all they can to help. Top marks to JANICE a really lovely lady. Thanks. Hope to visit again soon.Plenty of hot water and good supply of refreshments assorted tea,coffee,biscuits,bottles of water etc. in the room also shampoo,shower lotion etc. topped up every day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Many thanks for your feedback following a rather busy weekend here in Inverness where the Hotel was fully occupied as many guests took advantage of the special deals we had on offer. Once again our housekeepers pride themselves on excellent high standards as you have noticed and that the genereous buffet breakfast is plentiful and well received every morning ! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have just returned from a long weekend staying at The Royal Highland Hotel in Inverness. A stunning hotel in the heart of Inverness. Clean, warm and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast.Although right next to the Train Station we did not hear any train noise. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking Academy Sreet. Heard a bit of noise on the Friday and Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thewandererreturns97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your positive comments following a your recent stay at Royal Highland Hotel. Despite being an Historical Railway Hotel of over 150 years, we dont suffer to much noise as the trains mainly run in daytime. Our housekeeping department are working hard behind the scenes to maintain the high standard of comfort & cleanliness as you noticed and a nice warm clean bed is always awaiting the next arrival ! We hope you will have another chance to pay us a visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The only positive about this place is it's central location. On the second night of our 3 night stay I got eaten alive by bed -bugs - we got moved to another room but no apologies were made, however when we returned to our room that evening someone had left a plate of fruit with a "compliments" sticker on it and a bottle of red wine.
Buffet breakfast is awful, hot food is barely luke-warm, pastries rock-hard and cutlery and crockery filthy - dread to think what the kitchen is like ! So, we obviously we didn't eat dinner in the hotel.
My advice is do not stay here - none of the staff seem to care so it seemed a pointless exercise pointing out the many glaringly obvious problems, faults, and health hazards; the management we complained to said they were aware of them all ?
Vote with your feet - don't stay or eat !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We are sorry that despite speaking to us in person and being dealt with promptly and courteously that you felt the need to further your negative comments following your recent stay. We have also written to you with a further apology as well as a suitable refund for the night in question and that despite your feeling "eaten alive" this has been investigated by the relevant Professional Company and that no further evidence has been found to substantiate this. May we thank you for bringing this to our attention as any accommodation provider will be aware that this may be innocently introduced by the many guests and travellers and prompt action is paramount which in this case with your observations we have avoided any infestation as preventative action was taken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

arrived friday 17th .given room on third floor smelt of cig smoke . asked for change of room .put on 2nd floor which is non smoking floor.room ok wi fi a bit dodgy .went for breakfast sat and sunday no cups , shortage of plates ,staff and no manageress. only saw manageress once over weekend when there was a fight on sunday morning and she spoke to the police. low and behold monday morning when restautant is quiet their she is supervising.only one helpful waiter who was a thin guy with curly hair. the main retaurant is being done up but that is no excuse for lack of staff and plates

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
It was unfortunate that at the time of arrival you were given a room that a guest had been smoking in however a room move was made to ensure your stay was not further marred.
On Sunday we were fully occupied and unfortunately there may have been a short gap whilst the crockery was replaced and we apologise for this delay. As the Restaurant Manager was off duty.the Duty Manager has to deal with all aspects of the Hotel and on that morning was in fact dealing with several other departments. The front office reservation system was not operating and many of the tasks were being dealt with manually behind the scenes as well as assisting with the Reception Desk. It was unfortunate that an incident in the Reception resulted in yet another task as CCTV footage was being copied for the Police and that guests safety was paramount which meant staff absent due to the requirement to assist with such. On Monday the Duty Manager was more evident due to being somewhat quieter and also present in Reception area for front of house duties and perhaps seen more clearly . We hope you may have an opportunity to return in spring/summer and see the Grand Wallace Ballroom following a major 3 month refurbishment being carried out by Historical restoration specialists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hotel has an excellent location in city centre and the rooms were nice and clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was run by badly trained staff and a rude manager.
Would recommend anyone staying at this hotel to eat out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed our clean accommodation and our central location , however Im sure your Restauant experience did not quite meet your expectation. We have passed the comments to the Restaurant Manager and will use for staff development as we will soon approach our busier period. We hope you may return at a later date and that your overall experience will be a positive one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.6 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
5.4 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing