We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
386
153
33
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
153
33
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden wing main building upgraded to a suite lovely hotel huge bathroom separate building quiet location wedding venue would highly recommend this hotel old house kippers hotel is situated city centre business trip breakfast and dinner spacious room buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 582 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

2 nights with my husband at this hotel and it is just lovely.
On arrival we were upgraded to a large 'Garden Room' / suite, with door out onto a private patio. Very comfortable room with large bed, fridge, safe, ample lighting to choose soft or bright as required from various lamps around the room. Very spacious bathroom, with extra large shower unit and power shower. Selection of hot and cold drinks available in the room. Very quiet and extremely peaceful room and location.
We had Dinner both nights and the food was superb. I chose duck one night and it was easily one of the best meals I've had. Husband had lamb which was also delicious. And haggis meatballs in whisky sauce for starter...so good, he had it both nights.
Breakfast was really good too. So much choice and all delicious.
The staff were both discreet and attentive and very friendly.
Will certainly look to go book here again. And would thoroughly recommend it.

You must visit the tapestry room, which depicts the story of Esther.

Room tip: Garden rooms
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsTricia501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

In a nut shell this hotel delivers exactly what you would expect from a Best Western Plus hotel.

Checkin pleasant, was given a room upgrade.

Had stayed here for the first time over 4 years ago in a similar room and the decor, cleanliness, and comfort has not changed, excellent.

Evening meals were really good. I ate one of the two available main meal daily specials each night. All 3 were excellent, quality, and good value for money at £12.50.

Breakfast each morning was also good, ample choice and quality fayre.

My only negative comment is that the hotel has nothing to fill your leisure time other than dining or drinking. A small gym would be a nice addition.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank alanbP2830JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2017

Dear Alan

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

FANTASTIC Christmas night out at the Lochardil House Hotel on Friday. Delicious food, cosy, festive and fun atmosphere, lots of dancing and great service!! Thank you for looking after us so well Robert and staff!! Merry Christmas!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Autumn

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the night.

Kind regards and Merry Xmas

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

Had a really great time at the Lochardil " bring a party to a party". The quality of the food was excellent, always difficult when catering for large numbers at the same time but very impressed. The service was also excellent. A good choice of menu as well with a choice of 5 mains, not the usual " take it or leave it" function offering. Easily seen this is a well run operation. Definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Robbo662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your night.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Decided to have a wee break before the Christmas rush and booked The Best Western Plus on Wednesday for our Friday arrival. The Victorian Lochardil House was built in 1876 and is impressive. It has been extended and in 2006 the Garden Wing was build adjacent to the House. We were in the the Garden Wing and the room was huge with a lovely, comfortable bed, plenty wardrobe and cupboard space, desk for computer/work and a small table and 2 easy chairs. The ensuite was equally impressive with a large shower, lovely soft towels. We had the Festive menu in the restaurant on Friday evening. Husband loved his starter of haggis balls in whisky sauce followed by the seabass and christmas pudding. I wasn't so impressed with my pawn and apple salad followed by roast sirloin of beef (no yorkshire - who ever heard of roast beef without yorkshire pudding) which I thought was a bit tough and cheese and crackers, but I did eat it all! The service was excellent, our waitress was the best combination of professional attention, you just had to look in her direction and she was there asking if we needed anything. The garden is lovely and a good backdrop for wedding photos. Would definitely recomment a break at the Best Western Plus.

Room tip: The Garden Wing rooms are large.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LynnSS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews